We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere to eat”
Review of Hotel Du Manoir

Hotel Du Manoir
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Du Manoir
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tourlaville
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nowhere to eat”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Had booked this hotel for the night before catching the ferry. We arrived around 7 pm. We had been driving all day and we were tired and hungry. While the room was really nice, well equipped, clean and comfortable, we were very disappointed to find that the on-site restaurant was closed and although we walked around Tourlaville for almost 2 hours we couldn't find anywhere to eat. We left early the following morning, we didn't have breakfast as we needed something more substantial than what was available. We went to Auchan shopping centre and found a nice cafe where we had lovely omelettes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pride&prejudice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed overnight before catching ferry back to Poole following morning. Very comfortable room and excellent bathroom, shower & breakfast. Mme Charrayre was very helpful and posted on my phone charger and UK converter plug which I stupidly left behind (bet I'm not the first or last :-)
If you need an Hotel in Cherbourg I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllezLesGalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed here before getting the ferry the next day as we wanted somewhere safe to park. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and with our own front door we weren't disturbed by noise etc. It's on a we weren't main road but no noise from traffic either.
The room was warm and very elegant, and we really got a good night sleep. Everything was very clean and well cared for. As well as a huge bed there was a wardrobe, a stand for the suitcase, a table and 2 chairs, dressing table, and the bathroom had a large shower and double sink. There also was a fridge (very useful as we had a our baby with us), and the cot was prepared for us before we arrived.
Breakfast was basic and simple, but it was still very enjoyable, with good quality ingredients. They provided breads, jams, cereal, and pastrys, eta and coffee.
Overall, a very pleasent experience and will happily stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed one night before catching the ferry back to Poole. The hotel was very clean with modern rooms and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was more than adequate for our needs. We were given a great tip on where to find some last minute shopping and fuel for the car and it was so close to the Cherbourg ferry terminal that we had plenty of time to take a quick trip around the town. The restaurant next door was open the evening we were there and we had a great last meal in France to end our holiday. Would definitely recommend this to friends travelling to Cherbourg.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EandGBudleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelverton
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

welcoming with clean,modern rooms,standard breakfast.be warned the adjoining restaurant run by someone else is liable to be closed at short notice so check to see it is going to be open.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We are often looking for a hotel in a ferry port, either just after arriving or just before leaving. This hotel ticks all the boxes. It is about a five minute drive from Cherbourg ferry terminal, has plenty of free parking and is right on the main road network but without any traffic noise. What more could you want? A restaurant would be good and they have a perfectly adequate one on the premises. Add to that newly decorated and clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff and you have the ideal place for a stopover

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Cork
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I was put in this hotel with 3 colleagues from where I work as we were going to be in France for 3 weeks working at the Sanmina-SCI company around the corner from the hotel.

We were very happy while staying here. It was only refurbished about 4-5 months before we stayed there. The rooms were completely up to date, luxury furniture & bathrooms.

We had dinner a few times in the restaurant which was always really enjoyable.
The only thing that I did not like about this hotel was the breakfast that was being offered. You could only have tea, coffee, or pasteries. There was no hot food at all or even cold meats which many countries do serve.
Also, the owners & staff did not speak ANY english at all. We spent the three weeks trying to communicate by waving our arms about for different things.

There was a very large Carrefour supermarket down the road (about 4-5 mins walk) which had everything you could want especially if you were from another country.

Cherbourg itself was a very quiet place. Hardly any nightlife at all so if you are a mad partygoer, forget about Cherbourg!

Really enjoyed my working holiday here & would love to go back for the food, drinks & friends we made in the company we were working in.

  • Liked — The gorgeous rooms.
  • Disliked — The staff had no english & the poor breakfast choice.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Totalamnesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlaville
1.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
427 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
325 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
213 reviews
2.0 mi away
Logis La Regence
Logis La Regence
#8 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
233 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
B&B Hotel Cherbourg
#3 of 4 in La Glacerie
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Manoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Manoir

Property: Hotel Du Manoir
Address: 655 avenue des Prairies | Domaine du Manoir, 50110 Tourlaville, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville > Tourlaville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tourlaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Manoir 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Du Manoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Manoir Cherbourg-Octeville/Tourlaville, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing