We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PROBABLY THE BEST CHAMBRE d'HOTE IN FRANCE”
Review of Belle Vallee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Vallee
Ranked #1 of 3 Domfront B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“PROBABLY THE BEST CHAMBRE d'HOTE IN FRANCE”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Obviously I am a complete fan of this small hotel. We have just had our third stay and it was still fabulous. The setting is idyllic, the house charming and Victoria & Richard are perfect hosts. We will return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderIoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Delightful way to end a stay in France. Beautiful house in a lovely location. Very warm welcome and one of the best rooms we have stayed in - spacious, quiet and comfortable with views over the courtyard.
The evening meal provided was excellent and very reasonably priced with aperitif and wine included.
We felt very well looked after and would certainly hope to return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandjohn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Domfront and by luck we came across the Belle Vallee.
What a lovely surprise, the Chambre d'Hote is clean, tidy, comfortable, peaceful and welcoming, what more could you ask for.

Victoria and Richard are the perfect hosts and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We can't help but start relaxing from the moment we arrive at Belle Vallee. This was our fourth visit and proved to be just as enjoyable and restful as previously. Belle Valle is situated just outside Domfront in a peaceful, picturesque setting, a lovely place to escape. It is tastefully furnished in keeping with the style of the house.
From the tea and cakes on arrival, to breakfast on departure, we thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. We were in "Magnolia" on the top floor with views to the front of the house and to the side down the valley. The en suite bathroom is large, as is the room. The towels felt soft and luxurious and there were complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast is good with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, jams and fresh baked bread and croissants.
Eggs from their own hens are available also.
We took advantage of the delicious four course dinner with wine, which added to the relaxed ambience.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSW979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a wonderful B & B just outside Domfront. You can walk into town in abut 25-30minutes - although the owners kindly dropped us in for dinner and we walked back. You will feel like you are tasting a little bit of heaven staying here. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable, and the setting is beautiful. We came away after just two days feeling very rested and very lucky to have found this place.

Wherever you are staying in Northern france take a detour and stay here....

Room Tip: We stayed in the juniper room....lovely views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Gorgeous setting just outside Domfront but away from the main road. We were welcomed with tea and scones. The guest house is Immaculately clean and comfortable. We had the Juniper room on the first floor, which was spacious with huge double windows overlooking the peaceful garden. Nothing was too much trouble. We were able to stay an extra night (in spite of the fact that Victoria and her mum were trying to redecorate the dining room) - and this was for our convenience as we were the only guests - the hotel effectively being closed for the week. The place has a really warm and inviting feel about it and would be fantastic for a complete 'get away from it all' holiday. Without this place I don't know what we would have done as the area is not well endowed with good quality flexible accommodation. We did not stay for dinner as we wanted to explore Domfront but breakfasts were plentiful and delicious.

Room Tip: The Juniper room has a lovely view over the garden but choose a different room for a shower as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

many thanks to richard & victoria, ( and mum ) for a wonderfull stay at this excellent B&B, in peacefull surroundings . Good food,good company, great house.
Alan & Janet northants. oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Domfront
2.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Domfront
66 reviews
8.2 mi away
Le Manoir du Lys
Le Manoir du Lys
#1 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
638 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel du Beryl
Hotel du Beryl
#2 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Bagnoles Hotel
Bagnoles Hotel
#4 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
142 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nouvel Hotel Bagnoles
Nouvel Hotel Bagnoles
#12 of 17 in Bagnoles-de-l'orne
38 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Flers Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vallee

Property: Belle Vallee
Address: Route D21, 61700 Domfront, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Domfront
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Domfront
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Vallee is a 19th Century Maison d'Maitre set in 18 acres of private grounds. The rooms are all large, ensuite with unique bathrooms and with views over the gardens and valley. The house has a large lounge with open fire and paneled dining room. The gardens are beautifully presented and an ideal place to relax. Set only 5 minutes from the medieval town of Domfront. Classified as 4 epis. Dinner available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Belle Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vallee Domfront, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing