We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to visit, again and again”
Review of Belle Vallee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Vallee
Ranked #1 of 3 Domfront B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We returned to Belle Vallee again, as Richard and Victoria make us feel so welcome. On the first night we had a wonderful meal cooked by Victoria, then sat in the comfortable sitting room to relax after a long days travelling for coffee.
We stayed in the gite this time, it was well equipped and very comfortable. My parents stayed in the main house, which meant they could come and have dinner with us, but gave us our own space.
Our three year old had hours of fun running around the gardens, feeding the chickens and watching the nearby farmers cows.
If you are staying a couple of nights one thing you must not miss is a visit to the nearby "Duck Restaurant".

Room Tip: I have to say if I were staying in the main house, I do love "Rose", a light room on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

When we left the parc with the kids we had to find afor one night, a place to stay, Valery booked us a double room at this place Belle Valle, we didn't expect anything, but a place to sleep,,
When we arrived, the first thing we all said was "wow", what a beautiful house and garden, and it was so nice when the owner turned out to be from England,
The room was so tastefully designed, and the breakfast was perfect!!!
We were so sorry we had to leave so soon,

Highly highly reccomended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We began our visit by getting lost trying to find Belle Vallee but after asking directions and making a phone call to Richard, the owner, he came into town so we could follow him back. What a lovely surprise as we drove down the lane and glimpsed the house. The photos almost due it justice. The buildings are beautifully maintained, the gardens are superb and only the friendliness of the charming owners surpass the surroundings. Richard and Victoria attended to our every need and then some. They are a young English couple who are the perfect hosts. We stayed in the Forget Me Not room which had a sweet blue and white decor. Breakfast was lovely with fresh croissants and homemade jams and a perfectly poached egg from their chickens. We hated to leave. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kkgorham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thanks you Richard and Victoria for being great hosts - I have never been offered more tea in my life (which I love)!! Great place to relax, and take in the French countryside.
We had a great time, and if we are in the area will stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose, which was perfect for a couple holiday. If you are after a TV - go else where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellygiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had to try somewhere with a faultless rating..and we were not dissapointed,

As mentioned previously by other visitors they had a platter ready for us when we arrived late from the ferry,very friendly and genuine people ,frequent offers of drinks and help. great 4 course meals with aperetiffs, we are vegetarian and no problems at all here unlike the rest of france.
great time talking to the other visitors in the garden...toads,donkeys,swifts and bats.... great great...

we stayed a superb week moseying around the area and visiting friends.
our car developed a problem and richard offered us a lift back from the dealer at fleurs if the car wasnt repaired easily....outstanding....>>>!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited in August 2012 for a friend's wedding in the area. Great house, great breakfast, Richard and Victoria couldn't have done more for us - would definitely recommend. Would be great to go back when the weather is better to explore the gardens some more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The place was faultess. Giant beds, large rooms and the perfect hosts. Tea and cake upon arrival was a perfect start. The help and reccomendations we received from Victoria and Richard to get around just made our stay. The breakfast was second to none. Only shame is the wedding that we were attending stopped us from trying the evening meal. We have travelled Normandy quite a bit and this place is by far the best we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjb04lch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belle Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Vallee

Address: Route D21, 61700 Domfront, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Domfront
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Domfront
Price Range: $80 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Vallee is a 19th Century Maison d'Maitre set in 18 acres of private grounds. The rooms are all large, ensuite with unique bathrooms and with views over the gardens and valley. The house has a large lounge with open fire and paneled dining room. The gardens are beautifully presented and an ideal place to relax. Set only 5 minutes from the medieval town of Domfront. Classified as 4 epis. Dinner available by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Belle Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Vallee Domfront, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing