We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Montrobert

Front of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the cottage
From the road Rear of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Front of the cottage
From the road
Rear of the house
Pretty flower garden
View from the kitchen
View from the master bedroom
Looking down the lane on a winters day
The kitchen
Kitchen
The klitchen
The Lounge
The Lounge
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Master bedroom
Master bedroom
The Double bedroom
The Twin bedroom
Mont St Michel (50km)
Dinan (70km)
St Malo(90km)
St malo beach
Chidrens play park near St Hillaire (30km)
Festyland at Caen
Memorial at Caen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Domfront, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Andrewand...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed September 3, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Montrobert. The cottage was well equipped and in a good location. We visited lots of places in Normandy and Brittany, including Le Mont St Michel, Domfront and Fougères. We enjoyed walking into Mantilly to buy baguettes from the Boulangerie. The
locals very friendly-especially if you tried to speak French!
The owner, Greg, was very helpful, answering our queries at the time of booking, contacting us just before our stay to give us some helpful information and checking that everything was ok once we had arrived at the cottage.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2018
Thank you for your positive review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Montrobert. Thanks for leaving the house in such good order and we hope that you will be coming to stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTC81
2 reviews
“Peaceful, characterful slice of France”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Montrobert. The house was v comfortable, spacious and well stocked kitchen. The children enjoyed having farm animals on their doorstep and loved going for local walks (mainly to go for blackberries). The communication with Greg was great from the start and during our stay we were able to contact him easily. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2018
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and for your positive review of Montrobert. Thank you for leaving the house in good order! We hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
1 review
“Lovely, peaceful holiday.”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A pleasant, rural location which we used as a base for a wide variety of day trips in Normandy and Brittany. The cottage itself is comfortable and very spacious. We walked into the village to the local boulangerie a couple of times (about 10 minutes) and also in the opposite direction for blackberrying. Good communication from Greg. All in all, exactly as we had hoped.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you David for positive review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Montrobert and thank you for leaving the house in such good order. I hope you will be coming to stay with us again in the future.
Thanks
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdon2017
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant relaxing break”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We booked this holiday to relax and cycle. The roads were fantastic for getting out on our bikes. Lots of places to visit within a radius of 10-20 miles. The village is a 15 minute walk away and has a small supermarket and bar for eating and drinking. The small shops provided every thing we needed. Passe a couple of miles away was also a favourite for eating and relaxing. The cottage was quiet with a wood burner to take the chill off on cool nights, outside space for eating on balmy evenings and sunny afternoons. The washing machine was a big plus for keeping our cycling clothes fresh and the dishwasher a holiday must. Very clean, well kept accommodation. We would definitely go again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for your positive review and for leaving the house in such good order. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be coming to stay at Montrobert again in the future.
Many thanks
Greg Crook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulew77
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Christmas in Normandy”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A friend has recently bought a house in Normandy, so we decided to visit for Christmas and they recommended Greg's house in Montrobert. We stayed for 5 days over Christmas and the log fire made our stay really cosy. We were concerned it might be cold but the house well heated throughout. The house is also very spacious and we had everything we needed. We had a comfortable stay and we will be sure to return when we go back to Normandy. Thank you Greg for all your help.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thank you for your positive review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Many thanks
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattygrov...
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top knotch”
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely house tucked away in the Normandy country side. Greg was very accommodating, arranging extra bedding for guests and was a pleasure to deal with and speak to through out our stay. Kitchen had everything we needed and the rest of the house was spacious and well kept. Great value for money.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Many thanks for your positive review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your time in Mantilly. Hope that you will come to stay with us again.
Thanks
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil2366
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Home”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

At home,this is how we felt when entering into a spacious kitchen /dining room. The kitchen is well equipped including a washing machine and dish washer. The rest of the home is lovely, the bedrooms are a good size especially the main bedroom,they all have comfy beds. Very clean and welcoming home. The garden is lovely and gets the sun all day, ideal when having a BBQ. The location for us was ideal to explore Normandy and nearby Brittany. There is plenty of useful tourist information supplied to help plan your day. Will most certainly be returning.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Montrobert. Many thanks for your review. It is nice to know that people are enjoying the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thanks
Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing