We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill

The Grill
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Domfront
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Came across here when trying to find somewhere serving food before 7pm in the Domfront area for three very hungry children.

We found great friendly service for families, a wide range of choice, an indoor BBQ, lovely outside seating area and a good value children's menu. Our drinks were kept topped up, and staff were understanding of our hungry, fractious children after a very long journey. Not 'gourmet' - but this wan't wasn't we were looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nemoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    18
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit of a hidden surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Couple of surprises with this restaurant: first, from front door (which is set back from main road so easy to miss) you would never guess how large this restaurant is, nor that it has a beautiful garden and outside seating at the back. The prices are reasonable, with the meat dishes cooked on the indoor barbeque (i.e. their speciality) particularly delicious. Highlights on the food side were a wonderful Entrecote steak for 2 my partner and I shared (not cheap, but as is came with salad, baked potato and chips was still good value), and the sea bass with fennel, which despite original reaction of horror from 15 year old that it came with head still attached, proved to be one of the best dishes she enjoyed on holiday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamAmRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Poor Logis de France”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Driven past this place many times so took a plunge. Meat cooked "aux feu du bois" by an a young chef was quite nice, loads of chips which had been standing for some while, served with a token salad leaf. Ordered a carafe of rose,which turned out to be red and had to be sent back. We had to wait some while to be served and the french customers appeared to get preference ( quite a common thing in France).
A basic standard of food with poor service and not what you would expect of a Logis de France restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YeOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is always our favorite place to eat when we visit our place in france, we bring all our friends here too. The steaks and lamb skewers, which are grilled on a wood fire are a taste sensation. I love the tasty home cooked chips which are always my first choice. The set menu is good value, with interesting specials which reflect the local cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mammaandgramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always my first choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have been visiting Domfront for the past 10 years and each time i go The Grill is number 1 on my list of places to eat! They do a great steak and the grilled salmon is delicious. There is an open kitchen with large open fire/grill. This gives it a cosy feeling and is lovely in the winter months. There is also a larger conservatory area that looks out onto the gardens that is a pleasant area to eat in the summer. For those who have a large appetite or just LOVE steak, defiantly try the Cote d'boeuf! This is a large sharing platter of steak, chips or jacket potato salad. I can not wait to return in 5 days time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing