We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treat yourselves”

Auberge du Grand Gousier
Reserve with
Auberge du Grand Gousier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Domfront
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A deux pas du château, Domfront abrite la façade lumineuse de la belle auberge gourmande de Marie-Laure Gillot et Ludovic Juste. Les traditions culinaires normandes sont mises à l'honneur sur la terrasse ensoleilllée ou dans la salle à manger. Une cuisine copieuse et raffinée.
Domfront, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treat yourselves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a friendly restaurant, with a sweet trolley to die for ! The staff are very welcoming and the service is excellent. We sometimes go at lunchtime (a good idea to reserve in advance if possible) when there is a 'menu du jour' at a very reasonable price. Will be going there again soon to celebrate a friend's birthday, as they like the restaurant so much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    61
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve in Domfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Bravo to this little restaurant for making an effort at something special for New Year's Eve - other establishments visited when planning a reservation did not want to know, which is a real shame, not the fault of this little restaurant, but no plaudits for what is evidently a very smug and unenterprising town council!
Not a reflection on the food, but the overall appearance of the restaurant is a bit sad and out of date. On an evening with a set menu, the empty desserts display cabinet was in everybody's way and should have been moved . There were too many chipped plates and I personally do not care for napkins that are not of crispy starched cotton!
The featured menu was pleasant, generally well cooked but lacking a real celebratory element. Excellent foie gras, nicely cooked fish but a really acrid herb crust which spoiled it somewhat, a rather small but well cooked medallion of chevreuil, but such a poor and insipid selection of "nouvelle cuisine style" unadorned vegetables!
Overall not a bad meal, but not the best I have had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyking8652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hidden jem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

a great evening,We been here several times and the young couple aim to please, there nothing that too much effect for them, the service and food is first class and seems to improve every time we go. had my birthday there and when they found out they even produced a cream cake with a candle Wonderfull.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davehannan271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So glad we didn't miss it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Auberge du Grand Gousier was on our list of must-dos during our stay in Lonlay L'Abbaye 10 minutes drive away. Fortunately we sought it out early on in our trip having stopped first at the tourist office to be told it was open every day but then to find for ourselves it was closed for vacances!

Luckily it opened again before we were due to leave so we went back on the first day while they were cleaning to book for Sunday lunch. That we called in was lucky because both rooms were completely booked but they showed us an available option, a sort of addendum in the rear room.

However there was no need for concern. When we arrived the place was heaving with French groups but we were recognised, welcomed and seated quickly and the drinks soon followed.

I chose the Euro 40 menu and my wife the Euro 30 - both four courses. And the difference - mine was seafood and her's, meat. Apart from that the excellent and plentiful selection of cheeses & desserts were the same. Either way, both were beautifully presented and fabulous quality food, served perfectly by staff who know their craft.

In all, the best couple of hours of our holiday. The one disappointment - we only had the opportunity for one meal there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No frites here just great French Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were a party of 7 with 3 teenage girls, we all agreed this was one of the best meals we have had in a long time and excellent value, in particular the children's menu for 10euros was brilliant but beware if you have fussy children there are no frites on the menu, just great traditional french food. There are three set menus 22euros, 30 euros and 40euro plus the children's. No translation on the menu but the staff are more than happy to help out and that is part of the fun. The steaks were described as close to perfection and everyone else had a really great meal. There is a traditional sweet trolly with some of the best desserts I have seen for a long time and the cheese board was excellent. Our friends have a house not far from Domfront and this was their first visit but from our experience it certainly wont be their last. The staff were friendly and attentive just to the right level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Grand Gousier also viewed

 
Domfront, Orne
Domfront, Orne
 
Bagnoles-de-l'orne, Orne
 

Been to Auberge du Grand Gousier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing