We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we didn't miss it.”

Auberge du Grand Gousier
Reserve with
Auberge du Grand Gousier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Domfront
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A deux pas du château, Domfront abrite la façade lumineuse de la belle auberge gourmande de Marie-Laure Gillot et Ludovic Juste. Les traditions culinaires normandes sont mises à l'honneur sur la terrasse ensoleilllée ou dans la salle à manger. Une cuisine copieuse et raffinée.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So glad we didn't miss it.”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Auberge du Grand Gousier was on our list of must-dos during our stay in Lonlay L'Abbaye 10 minutes drive away. Fortunately we sought it out early on in our trip having stopped first at the tourist office to be told it was open every day but then to find for ourselves it was closed for vacances!

Luckily it opened again before we were due to leave so we went back on the first day while they were cleaning to book for Sunday lunch. That we called in was lucky because both rooms were completely booked but they showed us an available option, a sort of addendum in the rear room.

However there was no need for concern. When we arrived the place was heaving with French groups but we were recognised, welcomed and seated quickly and the drinks soon followed.

I chose the Euro 40 menu and my wife the Euro 30 - both four courses. And the difference - mine was seafood and her's, meat. Apart from that the excellent and plentiful selection of cheeses & desserts were the same. Either way, both were beautifully presented and fabulous quality food, served perfectly by staff who know their craft.

In all, the best couple of hours of our holiday. The one disappointment - we only had the opportunity for one meal there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mart126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    64
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No frites here just great French Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were a party of 7 with 3 teenage girls, we all agreed this was one of the best meals we have had in a long time and excellent value, in particular the children's menu for 10euros was brilliant but beware if you have fussy children there are no frites on the menu, just great traditional french food. There are three set menus 22euros, 30 euros and 40euro plus the children's. No translation on the menu but the staff are more than happy to help out and that is part of the fun. The steaks were described as close to perfection and everyone else had a really great meal. There is a traditional sweet trolly with some of the best desserts I have seen for a long time and the cheese board was excellent. Our friends have a house not far from Domfront and this was their first visit but from our experience it certainly wont be their last. The staff were friendly and attentive just to the right level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely experience :)”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend asked me to marry him and so we wanted to celebrate with a very French meal. Our French was very limited & the lovely lady helped us the best she could in broken English what the menu had to offer. We did very well with our starters & dessert....our only let down was the pork sausage that was offal....but certainly not the lady's fault as the language barrier was a little hard....we did have a good giggle about it afterwards! We would def go back....but with a bit more French under our belts :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Romerotaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal I've had”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The kids meal were excellent value and very nice! Best steak I've had and the pudding was wonderful! Waiter was lovely! Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milllls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Still excellent food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Thought I would give an update, as restaurants do change. This one hasn't, its still brilliant. We ate twice here on this trip, a lunch and dinner. The lunch was the menu de Jour at Euros 15 and consisted of a tasty fish starter, a lamb main (delicious but a touch undercooked for our taste) and what we wanted from the desert trolley. I can't believe someone complained that this trolley had too many choices "over the top"' why would one complain there are too many choices? That trolley is wonderful with about 10 choices including 2 ice cream ones, all homemade...loved ours. For dinner we chose the Euro 30 option which was delicious and included, if you have room, an extra cheese course. Love this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Grand Gousier also viewed

 
Domfront, Orne
Domfront, Orne
 

Been to Auberge du Grand Gousier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing