We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific little place”

Le Bistrot St Julien
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Domfront
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Set on a lovely little square - superb food with friendly helpful service and very reasonable. Great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bikehikeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“recommend midday visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Read the reviews on tripadvisor so thought I'd try the bistro for myself.Lovely family run restaurant serving excellent value for money meals. Starter, mains,dessert and coffee for 10.50 euros. I visited the bistro twice during my fortnight stay in the area - each time for lunch and both times the food was of a high standard and the restaurant was busy

Well worth a visit if in the Domfront area, located near the castle.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xtrolleydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We ate at Le Bistrot St Julien on a Friday evening in June.

The place is only small and does get busy. We didnt book, but got a table at 7pm. We saw quite a few people turned away later in the evening.

The food was very nice and good value for money.

The service can be slow, but if you are not in a rush then this is fine.

We will return on our next trip to Domfront.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Have been to this Bistro four times now and it is excellent in every way,the food is always delicious and the staff very helpful,allow plenty of time to eat your meal,you will not be rushed to make way for other customers.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GLEN4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best in Domfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Family run, always busy and delightfully consistent food. Plat de Jour at time of writing is Euro 10.5 including starter, main, dessert and coffee. I have a vacation house in Domfront and this is my place of choice. Only once disappointed because Plat de Jour included Andouille sausage which is a very acquired taste, otherwise always great. If Plat de Jour isn't for you on the day then the menu has some excellent choices all at good prices. Love the salads with cheese and ham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot St Julien also viewed

 
Domfront, Orne
Domfront, Orne
 

Been to Le Bistrot St Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing