We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location...and a pool with the best view in the world!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Paloume

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloume
Brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful location...and a pool with the best view in the world!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at La Paloume for a week in September. The location is stunning as other reviewers have said. Our gite (which is the only one which isnt actually on the web site) overlooked the main courtyard of the farm. It was light, nicely decorated and well furnished (the knives in the kitchen were actually sharp which in our experience is a rarity in rented cottages!) and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. We did see one of the other gites which was also very nice but had less day light (which Im sure is a blessing in the height of summer!).

The pool is incredible!! It is in a field above the cottages and has uniterrupted views of the hills and mountains all the way around and is not overlooked by anyone. The parasols look as if they come from another era and have been repaired in a DIY manner but with views like that who cares and it all adds to the charm! The pool was immaculately clean and didnt seem very chlorinated. To top it all it is covered at night which means the water was a gorgeous temperature.

La Paloume is also a great base for walks whether you want to walk an hour or all day. Mount Capel is a good walk which takes you past the chateaux up the road and gives you great views up the valley. There is a well marked ridge walk to Arles which partly goes via the GR10 - this is a good days walk.

We only met Jane and Felix briefly as they were away most of the week we were there but their sons were there to help if we needed anything. They were very attentive - our washing was brought in when it rained while we were away and provided us with delicious home grown veggies. Unfortunately we didnt get to sample Jane's food which everyone else seems to rave about.

La Paloume is quite remote - about a 15 min drive to the nearest town, but that is part of its charm and is exactly what we were looking for. At night the silence is deafening - its marvellous!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Craig_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at La Paloume, Jayne, Felix and George their son made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We called them, booked and turned up the same day without any problems ! It is a peaceful beautiful spot, we intended to tour the area every day but a couple of days we did not want to leave so used the pool, which has the best view of any pool I have ever been too, walked and relaxed, which believe me I struggle to do !!

Our Gite was spotless with everything we needed and I hope this doesnt sound too sad but they have british TV which is a massive plus for when we finally sat down at 10pm and my daughter was in bed. I have spent many holdiays tuning into the BBC world service only :( The bread service and fresh duck eggs very fabulous and a great outdoor area.

The area is stunning with the most beautiful villages inland and on the coast, Jayne and Felix recommended places to go and what time to arrive there which is very important, you have to switch to the French timetable of doing things ! And if Jayne offers to cook you a meal, certanly take her up on the offer, it is fabulous, although the cherry and dark chocolate dessert cooked by George must also get some credit !

I would certainly recommend this place and it is much more than a base to explore the area !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Myself and my partner just spent 5 relaxing days at la paloume. It is the perfect retreat for getting away from it all, being up a mountain road above the towns below in the valley.

The accommodation was rustic and charming, with everything you needed. We felt so cosy and at home, especially with visits from the dogs and cat and a wood burner in our front room. Jane made us feel very welcome and had lots of great advice for our visit.

The location is great for trips into Spain and walks in the mountains. We also drove to the French Med coast which was a nice little trip. Do expect to do a bit of driving, sometimes on not great roads. This wasnt an issue for us at all, but to some it may be.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggyholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have stayed at La Paloume over several seasons and each occasion has been educational and interesting. Jane and Felix are wonderful hosts, very welcoming and Jane is a superb cook - almost all ingredients are locally sourced and organic. The accommodation at La Paloume is superb, very comfortable, in beautifully restored outbuildings within the environs, offering superb views of the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: All accommodation is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We are two couples who spend a extraordinary relaxing holiday in Mas Le Paloumé, where Jane, the landlady, made us feel instantly at home. La Bergerie, one out of three cottages on the premises, was a delightful converted stone barn with magnificent views of the Pyrenees and a lovely pool for our sole use. A house with everything you need and nothing you don't need, as another reviewer already said. La Bergerie is very private despite being near the main house and the other cottages. Once a week, Jane and her son George, an accomplished cook, prepare a communal meal which is served in the main house. A three course meal with an extensive choice of dishes (also vegetarian) made of local produce and including local wines is served at a very reasonable price. It's also an opportunity to meet the other guests in a relaxed atmosphere.
All in all, a very positive experience and we totally disagree with some of the lesser reviews. We'll be back some day!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millefailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

Our first holiday with our five-month old daughter was perfect here. We were slightly nervous travelling with a young baby and the hosts made us feel instantly relaxed. The home-cooked meals were magnificent: three courses with wine for an extremely reasonable 25 euros a piece. The setting is magnificent: up in the mountains with splendid views from the impeccable shared swimming pool but only an hour or so's drive from either the Spanish or French coast if you were to want to combine the mountains with some beach action. Jane and Felix were full of suggestions about where to eat and where to visit. We didn't mind in the slightest paying a euro a piece for croissants to be delivered directly to our door every morning. We were also occasionally surprised by the addition of some eggs fresh from the farm or perhaps a book we had been discussing the day before also appearing in the bread basket - no charge made. The farm's a wonderful place with an inimitable charm and we intend to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coggeshall, essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Having just read a review of LePaloume I just had to put my own opinion on record. In June this year my husband, daughter and son-in-law visited Jane and Felix at LePaloume for i think about the 9th time! The first time my husband and I visited, my daughter was about 6 years old. We had always said that we would never go back to the same place twice. Well, 16 years later, we are still visiting approximately every other year, and the more we visit the more we just love LePaloume and in particular the wonderful people who run it. We even chose Lepaloume for our honeymoon - how is that for a recommendation!

I would thoroughly recommend Lepaloume to anyone who wants to "get away from it all", and have a thoroughly relaxing holiday. The farm itself is beautifully located, and a very short drive from other villages and towns. The mountains are just wonderful, and the area is fantastic if you enjoy walking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essexzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans hotels
3.7 mi away
Domaine de Falgos
Domaine de Falgos
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Paloume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloume

Property: La Paloume
Address: Mediterranean Pyrenees, 66260 Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Laurent-de-Cerdans
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing