We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
88
87
31
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
88
87
31
14
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 224 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2017

We were here for a wedding and I adored this place! The only reason it is not 5 stars was the bar (which no one seemed to be at ever). Otherwise, it is an old abby and is on truly beautiful grounds. Worth a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shannon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

My recommendation to anyone travelling through France - book a room at a hotel "Relais" - these are old postal way stations where the mail would be sorted or handed off to a new coach and horses (not sure but I think this is where the English word "relay" comes from).
Many of these places have excellent restaurants and especially in the South they are located off the beaten path in idyllic settings. Perfect for a relaxing overnight. The place I am in tonight has a gourmet restaurant and they turned the old stables into a lounge bar. I am lounging there right now with a glass of pastis!

Room tip: Ask for a room with garden view
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EuroYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Bégude S, Assistant General Manager at La Begude Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Mr 'Euroyankee',

Thank you so much for this amazing review of La Bégude Saint Pierre. You know what, we absolutely agree with you: a glass of pastis is one of the best way to enjoy it !

We look forward to welcoming you back in Provence !

Best regards,

Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Maybe you have read my previous reviews of Bégude? We have stayed three times and each time was truly magical, especially the food. It's changed. I assume new management has come in - if you are reading this Mr Manager - you are ruining the palace - stop and go back to how it used to be. This place won't last another 2 years as it is currently (in my opinion).

The management have made some small but significant changes and the place has gone downhill significantly but first some praise:

Benjamin is a lovely chap and an excellent waiter with a great attitude and hard working. Credit to him. Nice blonde waitress covering dinner and breakfast with him - very nice too.

Seemed to be only two staff working? Why?

We got a phone call on the morning of our stay to say that our usual suite (biggest in the hotel I believe) was flooded so we had been moved to a smaller, cheaper room - no problem, nice saving for me and everyone happy. Didn't expect to get a bottle of wine and drinks for the children gratis to make up for this, so that was a great start to our usual stay. Thank you.

However, several changes need to be made.

Who decided to charge €5 for fresh orange juice at breakfast? Seriously, you have people paying €300-€800 a night plus food and you think it's a good idea to charge an additional €5 for fresh juice. Madness - sheer stupidity. Shame on whoever implemented that idea. That will cost you thousands in lost revenue.

The kids meals used to be mini versions of the adult meals - served with real flair and style. We spoke at home about the meals at this place all year but sadly they have now decided to serve the plain old chicken or fish with rice or veg. It's nicely cooked but very plain and no effort is really made, now it's just like other 'normal' restaurants.

Dessert for the kids used to be fantastic affair - now it's just a boule of ice cream. We asked about why this had changed and were told we could order something 'special' if we liked (we did)but why did we have to ask?

Our meals were good, the chef is talented but the quality and presentation was 20% off previous levels.

Butter used to be in a nice white porcelain dish, now its wrapped in foil and plonked in a bowl with 6 others. Fine in a regular restaurant, not when you are trying to win a Michelin star sadly.

There used to be a lovely big fresh bread basket offered throughout the meal, very hard to refuse for piggies like me - now we had to ask for bread and it came on a little basket with a small selection of breads pre selected. Cost cutting - very simple.

At breakfast, all our mugs were dirty so we had to swap them for clean ones. Only half on the tables were clean. Coffee was warm, not hot. Chairs dirty.

Smokers - seriously - why do people think it's to acceptable to sit next to a family with young kids and light up? This is not a criticism of Begude specifically but several smokers at dinner and breakfast and although they were well away from us (I would have asked them to move as my son has asthma if they were next to us) I noticed two couples shaking their heads at their fellow guests inconsideration.

Much better to politely ask smokers to smoke away from the dining area out of consideration for other diners. It's 2017. I don't want cancer and trust me, you will not sit next to my children and smoke unless you fancy a dip in the pool fully clothed :)

What a shame.

Please - if you do one thing, remove the pathetic, greedy and short sighted charge for fresh juice.

We won't be back.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank JPSand76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Bégude S, Assistant General manager at La Begude Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Dear Mr Sand (and Mrs Ludlam),

We have read your comments this morning in detail. Our guests’ reviews are always really important to us, as our main goal is to make our guests enjoy their stay, and we are always on the lookout for ways to improve.

As a result, it is our policy to offer compensation when we have technical issues in the allocation of rooms, and we were delighted to see that you appreciated the bottle of wine (value 34 €), the drinks (value 10 €), and extra bed (value 30 €) for free.
We were however surprised to find that you are under the impression we price our rooms at EUR 300-800 per night as our prices never exceed 450,00 EUR for our largest room (60 m²) at the highest season. As a matter of fact, you paid 254,00 EUR for a family room (40 m²), which is just below the status of a Suite. As you may or may not understand, the price of the rooms is meant to cover the rent, maintenance, repair, and cleaning of the building and external amenities but not the service.
We pride ourselves on what we believe to be the best value for money in our class of hotel in our region.

Equally, we reserve the right to charge for extra services as a means to inform our clients that freshly pressed orange juice is not the norm for our reasonably priced breakfast (we however have fresh local juices included in the price of pear, apple, and apricot). In addition, we try to limit, what is a labour intensive and wasteful service, to those who clearly appreciate it.

Regarding the restaurant, we take seriously the comments you made about the dirty mugs and tables, and warm coffee. We apologize profoundly for this error.
Equally, we are very sorry that you had to request the bread for your meal. It is our policy to serve the bread at the beginning of the meal and as much as our guests want! We have spoken to our restaurant staff, have shown them
your comments and taken the time to reinforce procedures and training.

We do believe some of your comments may have to do with the expectation you had set for our restaurant. Sadly, we have recognized over the years that, in the main, the demand of our guests no longer is a Michelin starred restaurant (and consequent price), but rather a desire to dine in a regular gastronomic restaurant with nice service, great location, ambiance and at a reasonable price. That is exactly what we are trying to provide. You may have noticed the menu you had Thursday evening as
your half board is only 39,00 EUR per adult, and this price is hardly the price of a Michelin starred restaurant, nor is it meant to be.

One third of your comment is about the smoking policy at our property. As it is written in every confirmation email, our establishment is smoking free. But we cannot forbid our guests to smoke outside. Even in 2017, we have a lot of guests that would not frequent our establishment if smoking outside were not possible. We are however sensitive to your comments and we do intervene politely and respectfully when asked by customers.

It is a shame that we need to communicate using this forum as you could have let us know your grievances during your stay or even during your check-out. I am the one who did the check out with your wife Friday morning and unfortunately none of these issues were reported, even after extensive questioning.
As you have been so liberal in your review, we would like to take the opportunity to reciprocate some advice: the words you chose to describe what you think is our policy:  pathetic, greedy, madness, sheer stupidity and short sighted, could easily be interpreted by some as disrespectful or down right impolite.

We suggest that refraining from this sort of language would increase the credibility and acceptability of your review.

Best regards,

Charlotte G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

This place has completely turned itself around. We have visited in both winter and summer, and on warm summers evening the place truly comes into its own, sitting on the terrace eating the very best of delicate dishes, friendly service and fine wines. Happy to return to this over and over again. We only

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Bégude S, Directrice Adjointe at La Begude Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Dear Toddy098,

It is a real pleasure to read your comment about your recent stay with us. I am glad you liked the restaurant and the hotel, located at a small walk from the Pont du Gard.

We look forward to welcoming you back at La Bégude Saint Pierre.

Sincerely,

Charlotte G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

We booked this hotel on faith based on some of the reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised on the quality of the rooms and furnishings. The hotel is in country and very peaceful. The pool is great with lots of lounge chairs and shade. Shade is important in August! We are in love and will return

Room tip: Our room was on second fllor facing a street but we had no noise.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoyceI881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPierre30, Directrice Adjointe at La Begude Saint Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear Joyce,

The entire team of La Bégude Saint Pierre is delighted to discover your comment about your recent stay with us ! And we all agree with you: shade was so important at this beginning of this month ! Hopfully we also have the pool to keep you fresh :-)

We look forward to welcoming you back in our gorgeous region of Provence !

Best regards,

Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews