We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Pont du Gard but more attention to detail required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Begude Saint Pierre
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location for Pont du Gard but more attention to detail required”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

La Bégude Saint-Pierre is a pleasantly modern uncluttered hotel in what looked like an old manor house, and it has only been open a few months. On arrival, the member of staff at reception was very friendly. On the other hand it was a surprise that the only information in our room was a price list for the mini bar, there was nothing about the hotel's services, times, phone numbers etc.

In the morning, the fire alarm went off whilst we were getting ready to go down. Having left our room hurriedly, I was surprised that no one was around to tell us what was happening; the two staff in reception were working normally, and the guests in the dining room were having their breakfast apparently untroubled by the alarm. We had to ask to find out that it was a false alarm. At the buffet breakfast, it was only at the end that we saw someone having a cooked breakfast. No one told us, nor was there a menu; you had to find this out for oneself. The breakfast buffet table was too small for all the items placed on it, with nowhere to put down plates or to put the glass covers when serving oneself. In short a nice hotel, but more attention to information and detail is needed.

Finally, the Pont du Gard is a pleasant 20-25 minute walk away along a quiet lane, and through olive groves, without the need to use the huge public car park. Again though, we found out this for ourselves as there seemed to be no information about this in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andygryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    64
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
102
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at La Begude Saint Pierre after a nearby hotel had made a mistake with our booking and referred us to La Begude. We were met by a super friendly member of staff (and as it turns out, ALL staff were incredibly kind and accommodating). We were shown the facilities and left to settle into our clean, comfortable and modernly decorated room complete with a tasteful set of L'Occitane toiletries products.

The pool was very relaxing and the restaurant served a delicious set menu (we dined twice during our 3 night stay). The menu was incredibly good value and at a standard you would expect of a top restaurant, together with Amuse Buche between courses. Not to be missed and certainly can't be matched by other restaurants nearby. We made the mistake of dining at the restaurant under Pont du Gard (which is a quick stroll away from the hotel!). The view was gorgeous but the food and service was mediocre.

There was slight traffic noise whilst by the pool given the location of the hotel on the road but you hardly notice it and you certainly couldn't hear it in the room or whilst having dinner.

We have travelled through Provence on a cycling trip and this was definitely a favourite spot. Stay here before everyone catches on and prices increase- they could definitely get away with charging a lot more!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rissasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Wow!! stay here if you possibly can!! it's as close to perfect a hotel as we've ever found!
It's a converted something very old...lots of bare stone, polished wood and neutral colours - high quality everything (l'occitane en provence in the bathroooms), fluffy towels, lovely gardens and courtyards and a great pool. But the best bit is probably the restaurant - sublime!! We ate outside on the terrace and for under 40 euros each, had about 6 courses of beautifully prepared works of art!! The staff were lovely - friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Avoid room 22 if you're in anyway claustrophobic. It opens onto an enclosed courtyard that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleightstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwrode, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and tried to get contact with the staff during 15 minutes. Although they had steen us they refused to serve us. We left very unsatisfied. Hotel,under construction. Garden not maintained. Not a great place: naar a route nationale.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Teckel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPierre30, Propriétaire at La Begude Saint Pierre, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Teckel1962,

It is surprising in this day and age, that we feel obliged to respond to criticism from people that have not been our guest and, in retrospect, hopefully never will be.

It is even more worrying that Tripadvisor allows anyone to comment without having been a client.

And it is distressing to see the tenacity with which some people allow themselves to critique a place without having visited. This is disrespectful of our team that has worked hard to open our doors only three weeks ago.

This comment is so surprising that we are convinced the hotel was probably not re-opened yet when this person came.


Dear reader and potential client, if you wish to have a thoughtful and considered opinion on our beautiful hotel and its pleasant staff, please disregard completely the above observations from this uninformed surreal pseudo client and look at the comments on other sites where we are published.

Thanking you in advance for your attention to this response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vers-Pont-du-Gard
1.9 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Castellas
3.6 mi away
La Belle Vie
La Belle Vie
#1 of 1 in Saint-Hilaire-d'Ozilhan
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
6.2 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 12 in Uzes
296 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Le Gardon
Hotel Le Gardon
#2 of 2 in Collias
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Begude Saint Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Begude Saint Pierre

Property: La Begude Saint Pierre
Address: D981 | 295, Chemin des Begudes, 30210 Vers-Pont-du-Gard, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Vers-Pont-du-Gard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers-Pont-du-Gard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Begude Saint Pierre 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your La Begude Saint Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Begude Saint Pierre France/Gard - Vers-Pont-Du-Gard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing