We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The welcome we received when we arrived could not be described as effusive, indeed, we thought that we might be disturbing the staff by arriving at all. The hotel is rather down-at heel and clearly in need of a face lift. The room was small but adequate for a single night stay. The bathroom was, however, a disappointment. Small French hotels do tend to have rather scruffy bathrooms but this was particularly ordinary, it would certainly not have passed muster in the UK. We dined in the restaurant at the hotel and the food was excellent; well prepared and presented. The dining room was full and this is a good sign on a mid week evening. Breakfast was very much from the packet and not very inspiring. All in all this was a disappointing stay, apart from dinner there was nothing to commend the Cheval Blanc. We would probably choose to stay elsewhere when breaking our journey from the south.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
27
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine is a very quiet town with a quaint square at the top of the hill and a fantastic creperie if you are able to get seated amongst the friendly locals. The "Chenin Blanc" itself however is quite the opposite, The hotel is quite spartan, with reasonably comfortable beds, small tv (limited channels), and clean but small bathrooms.
However, the demeanor of the hotel staff was terrible. We were scowled at for taking a lolly from the jar placed invitingly on the check-in desk, and later reprimanded for walking down the uncarpeted stairs too loudly in sandals
Worth a stay if you have no other options bust best avoided otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paganini_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine hotels

Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not our best experience with a 2-cheminees Logis de France. Old fashioned but totally lacking in charm. Unfriendly staff. Very, very outdated room, in desperate need of renovation. Noisy. Dinner in the restaurant (rated 2 'cocottes', which normally stands for decent, local cuisine) was below standards as well. On the good side, they do offer secure parking.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mg-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our family had 4 rooms (11persons) for the night when visiting a wedding of our friends (of 36 years) Grandaughter.
The hotel was ideally situated for our purpose. The rooms although a bit old fashioned were clean & the beds clean & comfortable.
Petit dejeuner was good.
Overall the hotel offered good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelallaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford/chinon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We arrived at 1.30p.m for lunch - the restaurant had 20 tables, one was occupied. The 'host'
told us to sit where we wanted. We took a corner table, laid for three ( who wants to sit in the middle of an empty restaurant?). He shook his finger at us and said ' un , deux' ( one, two) pointed at the table and said 'un, deux, trois ! non..

We left
I don't think we missed a treat.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank beaumont37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Sainte Maure
Les Hauts de Sainte Maure
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Figuier
Le Figuier
#2 of 7 in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
31 reviews
23.9 mi away
Les Perce-Neige
Les Perce-Neige
#2 of 4 in Vernou-sur-Brenne
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aquarelle
Aquarelle
#4 of 7 in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
11 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau de Brou
Chateau de Brou
#1 of 1 in Noyant-de-Touraine
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Chambres des Coteaux
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc

Property: Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc
Address: 55 avenue du General de Gaulle, 37800, Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hostellerie du Cheval Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing