We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in central Cluny with good restaurant”
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne - CLOSED

Hotel de Bourgogne
Price range: $29 - $51
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in central Cluny with good restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good well balanced menu in restaurant and reasonably priced. Rooms pleasant and very clean. Benefit is that you are almost in the centre of the ancient Abbey with protected parking and all the sights within walking distance.

Helpful?
Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A reliable, charming restaurant with a friendly team”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I live nearby during the summer and always look forward to at least one meal here, generally more. Value for money is good, the dining room decorr traditional in the nicest way (although the grim curtains need to be replaced and have for many years), the owners attentive, and the staff generally very helpful. Traditional dishes are favoured and pulled off with predictable success. A good place to meet up with friends, it would do even better under the pressure of greater competition. (Cluny is a nororious, puzzling desert for fine dining.) The hotel is equally reliable, having often recommended it to friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always good food and service”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Every time we visit the region we eat at least once at the Hotel Bourgogne. It is always excellent. The atmosphere is pleasant. The food is delicious and the service very friendly. The location in the main square in Cluny is also good. when you emerge it is nice to take a short walk around the town centre before getting in the car again. well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining at affordable prices in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Don't need to be hotel guests to eat here but hotel is also excellent.(note restaurant not always open Tuesday/Wednesday so check when reserving). Staff so attentive, cooking beautiful and whole ambiance relaxed, tasteful and special. Thoroughly recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank family9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Above all else, say hello to Miss Chipie, the hotel cat!”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

On a cool, rainy Friday in April my wife and I visited the old Abbey at Cluny -- now much more accessible to tourists than in the past -- and literally in the shadow of the Abbey found the Hotel de Bourgogne. The hotel itself seems a charming place, with a pleasant courtyard (not open on the day we visited, because of the weather); our lunch that day was terrific. As it was the off-season we had the dining room pretty much to ourselves, although I'll bet that in July and August it will be very busy -- it deserves to be. The atmosphere was on the formal side in terms of decor, but the welcome and service were very cordial. The menu features game and regional specialties, along with a good wine list; particularly memorable was the panna cotta dessert, avec les fruits rouges. My main dish of duck was superb.

We had our coffee and mignardises in the lounge, which is the personal fiefdom of Miss Chipie, a multicolored feline tyrant who was willing to share her personal planet with us; when we paid her our tributes, she opened one eye, and seemed to say we could stay for as long as we like. (She has her own line of souvenir postcards at the front desk.) That lounge also features a very large and detailed model of the Abbey as it probably appeared at the height of its wealth and influence.

We would definitely return to the restaurant, assuming Miss Chipie will have us back, and we hope to stay at the hotel on some future visit --

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de Bourgogne also viewed

Cluny, Saone-et-Loire
 
Cluny, Saone-et-Loire
Cluny, Saone-et-Loire
 
Cluny, Saone-et-Loire
Cluny, Saone-et-Loire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing