We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Libourne
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Faulty Towers”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The place as as stopover travelling to Spain was exellent, The hotel was very goog untill we came to get our evening meal. One member of staff Served @ the bar, took our order, prepared the meal, and served it to us. He was brilliant, however lot's of people had to wait for there food & drinks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    203
    60
    9
    1
See reviews for
49
154
29
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed here for three days prior to attending a wedding in the local area. It was a good place to stay, convenient and good for parking and service.
However, we did have a problem with them not cleaning our room on one day, so we asked if they could do something about it. After a long conversation and a promise they would send someone in 10 minutes, nothing was done. So we complained again. She then said that the cleaner had gone home and there was nothing she could do. So we asked for clean towels and if there was any compensation (it's always nice to sleep in a bed that has been made, and you don't expect doing it yourself when on holiday), so was offered a free breakfast the following morning. We accepted that in the end as it was getting a bit long winded!
Anyway, apart from that, the service was good, the choice of wine was great too and a visit to St. Emillion (know world wide for its wine and over 800 vineyards!) was fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bazza1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We received a friendly welcome by the very courteous staff by the reception. She catered to our needs (we wanted a quiet room), ordered a taxi for us to go to St-Emilion (a 20 euro ride), recommended a decent restaurant for dinner nearby. Our room was spacious, which we liked as we were travelling with our toddler and our dog. The bathtub was huge, which we liked, and the room came with a water boiler, but did not have a fridge. The only thing we didn't like was the very expensive breakfast (14 euros! and they forgot to deliver the cereal and the yoghourt that we had ordered). Another thing was the distance from the station--a bit too far if you want to walk, and not too close to central LIbourne. All in all a good hotel, but at 100 euros one should hope that it is.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlancaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The General Manager and her staff all spoke English and were so helpful in giving us directions to parks, restaurants and to St Emilion. The hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyBigBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed here because it was actually allocated to us by our friend who got married in a nearby village. Nothing was too much trouble; we ordered room service which was very quick. Our room was very nice - exception being the wardrobe was a little bit like a Fawlty Towers piece of furniture, the door almost falling off the runner (a slide door) with virtually no pressure applied to it! However the room was very clean with modern decor and although we had no real view from our window (car park!) there really was nothing to complain about. If I happened to be in the area again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Close to the river.
  • Disliked — The view of the car park!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

From the time I checked into the hotel to the time I checked out of the hotel all of my needs were provided for. French language difficulties were of no concern as almost all staff speak English fluently even if you try to converse in French.

The rooms are very comfortable. Every room is equipped with a shower, double bed, television and air conditioning are found in the room. Breakfast is not included but worth purchasing, as it is a substantial breakfast buffet with hot foods.

A very good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Everytrhing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WineAuctioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molib
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This hotel opened in April 2007, and one can tell. It sits in a quiet strech of the "quai" in Libourne, by the Dordogne river, a few blocks from downtown Libourne and only 10 km from Saint Emilion.

The room was functional, with excellent air conditioning, flat screen TV, bed with a firm and comfortable mattress, good bathroom with efficient shower and separate toilet, and free in-room cable internet (free cable available in the reception). There is a good buffet breakfast for 12 euros, and a convenient gated parking lot in the hotel's courtyard (7 euros/night). Daily newspapers and magazines abound in the lobby. Everything is new and very clean.

There is a nice restaurant overlooking the river just a few steps away (La Guingette), and a pretty good vietnamese 3 blocks away, also by the quai.

We observed there is some difficulty for drivers to find the hotel, because traffic in the quai is one-way, and one must make a loop to get there. They told us they have applied for new road signs, but meanwhile newcomers should carefully check the hotel's location in a map or contact them for details before going.

We found it a very practical alternative to the much older and expensive hotels in Saint Emilion.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank molib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libourne
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Libourne - Saint Emilion
2.8 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#7 of 8 in Libourne
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Tour du Vieux Port
La Tour du Vieux Port
#3 of 8 in Libourne
44 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
343 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion

Property: Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
Address: 3 quai Souchet, 33500 Libourne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Libourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Libourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star hotel with 81 airconditioned rooms located in the centre of Libourne, on the banks of the Dordogne. Mercure welcomes you throughout the year for your professional meetings and holiday visits. Close to the St Emilion, Pomerol and Fronsac wine areas, our wine bar will help you discover the great diversity of our rich wine making industry. 70 sqm meeting room for organising your meetings. Pay parking available, direct access to Bordeaux, 30 mins along the expressway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing