We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, average overpriced food”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Boskinac

Boskinac
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Novalja
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service, average overpriced food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for 5 and went there for dinner. Our order was a series of various dishes as presented on the menu (5 course meal) together with some wine. The food was ok, but nothing special. Given that the menu was some 65€ per person I expecte more. The portions were extremely small and they did not bother to present each course as it came. Wine was left some 5 meters away from the table and they never came to refill the glasses. The staff was polite, but had to be reminded of orders and were extremely slow (15 minutes for a new bottle of wine or some salt). The only good thing I can say is that the ambient is nice, though the experience was spoiled by the aforementioned issues.

For more than a 100€ per person this is a place best avoided.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Luka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    36
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and tasty food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We came here in June, so it was very peaceful. The only other table was a big group of Croatian yacht men, of which one spontaneously played the piano in the reception room after dinner. The food was outstanding, with a platter of local cheeses and honeys to share and original mains and desserts made with fresh local produce. I had a vegetarian main to vary from eating fish each day, it was dragon fruit risotto with parmesan, cooked perfectly and very tasty. The chef knows what he is doing, and the staff is quiet and friendly.

Their homemade wine was also nicer than any other wine we had in the area, and it made me forget what we had for dessert...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNayalis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really great location, gorgeous place , but food does let it down and it is really overpriced. Great wine though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Pretentious, but tasteless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

You have to give Boskinac a credit for nice ambiance and professional looking waiting staff. They have high class aspirations and offer tasting menu and choice of house wines. If only they employed a chef as well. Choice of fish was poor and prices were over the top, even compared to the best Croatian restaurants. Lamb (Pag speciality) tasted like the one you buy in the supermarket. Avoid deserts at all costs, they are unpalatable. There was a party of 4, all had different desert choices, and not a single one was good. As with the previous reviewer, staff refused to serve tap water, forcing you to buy overpriced bottled water instead. There is a choice of local wines, if you have to, go for the youngest Gegich you can get. Avoid other house wines, Pag is not a winemaking island for a reason. There were only 2 tables occupied for lunch when we were there (July) - nuff said. Extremely expensive for what it is - under average, bland food.

Recommendation: If you are trying to impress a girlfriend with no taste buds and money is no objection, go there. Otherwise, cafes in Novalja will do.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank FoodEliminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local food? Dont think so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great surroundings. What i liked the most-it was really quiet. Spicy and salty air, hills..olive trees and grapevines. Romantic terrace, stars, candles & stuff :)) But food was average, not so breath-taking as the scenery. Better liked the wine :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boskinac also viewed

Novalja, Island of Pag
Novalja, Island of Pag
 
Novalja, Island of Pag
Novalja, Island of Pag
 

Been to Boskinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing