We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous”

Kaloyanova Fortress
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaloyanova Fortress
Ranked #11 of 27 Arbanasi B&B and Inns
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ridiculous”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you want a good night's sleep don't stay here. Spent three nights here. The mega sound system reverberates through the whole building well into the morning. There is no escaping it, there is no chance of sleep.
On the plus side, the staff are polite.

Room Tip: None of the rooms could escape the pounding sound system!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent location, you must have a car. Excellent value for money, good food, barbecue, the place where you can see and enjoy the sunrise and the sunset. Good place for a base - close to Veliko Tarnovo city and district. On the top of the hill so nice panorama! Close to some other attractions - monasteries and natures. Good location also for team-building! Excelent food, drinks, music. Its developing, so it will be even good. We would say its almost like a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorrrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our 4th stay in the area but our first experience in this hotel. On previous visits, we had seen this hotel but expected it to be far more expensive than it is. The castle theme of the exterior is carried on throughout the hotel and there's a huge ballroom which I suspect is a brilliant wedding or party venue.

We stayed in a de-luxe room which is very large and has a steam bath. However, the bath was in the corner of the bedroom, giving the user no privacy and the bathroom had just a toilet and basin - strange! We stayed in early June when it was getting quite warm and the very noisy air-con couldn't cope, actually making the room even hotter. Although the room had loads of storage, there were only a couple of clothes hangers. Other things that were lacking were spare pillows (only 1 per person on the bed) and the single chair in the room meant that we couldn't use the room to sit and relax, having to go downstairs to the communal space to read or chat. The rooms are all at the back of the hotel but that means there is no road noise. There are great natural views from all rooms across the wildflower meadows to the rear but this was a rather spoilt by the messy car park which appeared to be being used as a "dump" for waste materials from the construction. It felt like they'd been a bit too eager to open the hotel before the outside areas were completed and also that they had not thought enough about customer's expectations of facilities in the bedrooms. However, all my niggles can be easily solved so we're hoping for that by the time we return, which we definitely will.

Now the good bits - most of the staff were brilliant and really friendly. Even those who were not fluent in English got by with their cheerfulness and willingness to give excellent service. The restaurant was superb with a good choice of breakfast included in the price. You also get a free bottle of house wine with an evening meal if you're staying in the hotel and their menu was extensive and food well-cooked so we dined there every evening on the lovely terrace. There's a children's play area (which was being added to at the time of our stay) which is great for small children who can play whilst parents enjoy the free entertainment that's provided several times a week. The views close to the hotel are spectacular and there are plenty of places for a stroll nearby. The hotel is outside Arbanasi which we consider a bonus and it's also close to Veliko Tarnovo and the main routes to Sofia and the Black Sea coast.

The hotel is complete but external works are still ongoing so we're expecting it to be even better next time we stay, which we are planning for later in the year.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are better value unless you need a huge bedroom or a steam bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is an original hotel for this part of the country. The faux medieval theme is present everywhere in the building. A great diningroom-ballroom is the pinacle of the experience. They organise themed weekends so inquire if you don't fancy price charming and princesse garb.The rooms are a bit spartan but clean (theme induced?). Very close to Veliko Tarnovo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pageg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
1,246 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The hotel is great, you feel like you're in a museum, the design is extraordinary, the breakfast was delicious. The prices are comparable to a normal hotel in Veliko Tarnovo, but this hotel is something different. It worth every penny (or stotinka)...the only negative thing is the fact that the hotel is situated outside the town, but in the front of the hotel is a breathtaking view to Veliko Tarnovo.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arbanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel Sevastokrator
Park Hotel Sevastokrator
#2 of 27 in Arbanasi
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arbanassi Palace
Arbanassi Palace
#4 of 7 in Arbanasi
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Izvora
Hotel Izvora
#6 of 7 in Arbanasi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Complex Arbanashki Han
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boliarska Kashta
Hotel Boliarska Kashta
#5 of 7 in Arbanasi
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Winepalace
Winepalace
#1 of 7 in Arbanasi
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaloyanova Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaloyanova Fortress

Property: Kaloyanova Fortress
Address: Arbanasi 5029, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Arbanasi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Arbanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kaloyanova Fortress 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kaloyanova Fortress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing