We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in / ski out luxury”
Review of Schlosshotel Fiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlosshotel Fiss
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Fiss
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ski in / ski out luxury”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our second stay at this hotel was as great as the first. The Schlosshotel is located directly on the slope which is accessed by an elevator from the ski shop. The hotel runs a half board concept with an afternoon "Jause" from 13:30-17 which includes cold soft drinks and even has "real" food - not just afternoon cakes.
We booked a suite in the new part of the hotel with a view to the slopes - well worth the extra cost.
In the restaurant we were warmly welcomed by restaurant manager Hr. File, who on request was kind to seat us at the same table as last year, away from too many small babies - thus ensuring a quiet breakfast/dinner for us with our two 9 + 13 year olds. Our waiter Maik ensured that the many courses of each dinner were served without too much delay, understanding that our children would not last a prolonged meal. Sascha the wine expert gave great advice on wine with a good sense of humor.

The water world felt colder this year than last year. We had the definite impression that they had turned down the temperature of the water both indoors and outdoors as well as the general temperature in the relax areas. But it was still great.

Room Tip: Suites in the new parts are nice and warm. If you like to sleep cold get a suite in the older part o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    29
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
145
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Alpenresort Sclosshotel Fiss is an outstanding property that should be rated 5 stars. My child (10 year old boy) and I visited here not once - but twice during summer 2012! We loved it so much the first time that we had to return. Here is why we find this hotel so exceptional:

1) Location and physical attributes of this hotel are outstanding. We had a gorgeous room (turm suite) and very part of this hotel is well maintained and cared for.

2) Staff. All the staff treated us with outstanding customer service. Herr Kogl greets one by name every single time and goes out of his way to assist in making the stay even better. Thomas lends his knowledge of wine, food, and travel and personally greets each and every guest and is so friendly. The ladies at the reception desk: Nathalie, Iris, and others (please forgive me for not remembering all the names) always had a smile and much helpful information. In the bar, Dominic makes the best Mojitos as do the other bartenders (Carlo and one other gentleman). The Hausmeisters assisted with luggage and car and were friendly and efficient. The SPA is outstanding. Experienced the most delightful massage (2x) from Horst - he really fixed my back. Exercise class was fantastic and learned some great strategies for strengthening my lower back. The food/dining was superb. I can not begin to describe the outstanding meals we had at Schlosshotel Fiss. Breakfast buffets were abundant with several items made to order - the selection is outstanding! Dinner buffets, as well as, the regular courses were exquisite. I teach Culinary Arts and must say that the quality and quanity here are exceptional. I did not ever want to stop eating! The array of foods and condiments was not to be believed. The dessert buffets on Friday evenings are exquisite. The cream of pumpkin soup was a soup I could eat every single day! Every single staff member in the dining room made sure that the meal was thoroughly enjoyable (Sandra, Sascha, and others). Children also had an amazing buffet, so that they did not have to sit and wait for hours with their parents (they could eat and then go enjoy a movie in the cinema or the youth room - truly well planned).
Carmen in reservations has always been helpful and patient with my many questions. When needing my vehicle Hendrik took good care of the vehicle and our luggage.

I know I have forgotten some staff names and for that I am truly sorry - as I wanted to recognize each and every person that made our two trips here amazing. Thank you. You provided us with not only a beautiful location, exquisite food, amazing service - but we also felt as if we were coming "home". I have stayed at 5 star resorts all over the world and very rarely have I experienced that level of service. Vielen Dank. We will be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing, but we loved our tower suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Perferct very personal service. Very nice food with excellent local Austrian wines. The Sauna area is very nicely laid out and the swimming pool inside and outside, as well as the kids swimming pool are great after a long walk in the mountains. Lots of attractions for kids up the mountains accessible with the ski lifts. The best way to start a holiday after a year of hard working.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at a different hotel one year ago, and saw the Schlosshotel which is right on the slope. When asked for a tour, they obliged with a smile - we subsequently booked it for this years vacation.
The hotel has the best location right on the slope - you put on your boots at the in-house ski-rental, get into and elevator - a voilà, 2 seconds later you are standing on the slope ready to go.
The ski area is 204 km's, with many pistes of over 4-5 km's and one which is 10 km's. All pistes are connected, so you can easily ski from one end across the next town to the other end of the area. Top altitude is approx 2840 m. above sea level...
The hotel has a wonderfull wellness area, with the largest pool's, and jacouzi's - both inside and outside, as well as a kid's area with huge swim rings and a large waterslide.
They have a kids computer and games room and also an in-house cinema (with movies in German - no original language movies)
The food is beyond excellent - all meals are practically included as they have a "Nachmittagsjause" - an afternoon snack from 13:30-17 which is both hot snacks as well as unlimited cakes, coffee and tea.
Most rooms have majestic views. The suites in the old part of the hotel (Tower Suite, Bellevue Suite) do get somewhat cold in certain wind directions though. But they will give you an extra heater to solve this.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep cold, choose rooms in the old part of the hotel, if not get rooms in the Ostflü...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We were meant to stay at this Hotel from January 27 to February 6 2011 and I experienced a serious health issue after arriving in London on December 28 and had to return to Australia. I notified the the hotel of my situation on my return to Australia on January 5 2011 and the hotel requested payment of 70% of the total amount after I had signed an authorization form which clearly stated that an amount equivalent to 3 days be charged if I cancel my stay outside of 21 days prior to the commencement of our check in date. The conduct of the Hotel was deceptive, unconscionable and commensurate with a 2 Star Hotel and not a 4 star Hotel. I would be very careful dealing with this hotel and do not pay by credit card.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pieter_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schlosshotel-fiss, Leiter Front Office at Schlosshotel Fiss, responded to this review, March 26, 2011
It is true that the guest had signed a authorization-form which stated an amount equivalent to 3 days be charged. Due to the actual authorization form the cancellation free would have been 70 % of the total agreed price in that case. We have been sorry for that mistake and of course we had charged less than a 3-day’s amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bosch en Duin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We spend many times at this hotel for wintersport. We saw it change from a rather quiet small hotel to the dynamic place it is nowadays. In some ways it lost its charm but on the other hand the many amenities added are certainly making up for it.
For those who love a more quiet atmosphere be sure to stay out of the holiday season with kids. If you have a family with kids it offers quite a lot.
For skiers nothing beats a ski in - ski out facility with an elevator and a ski shop within a reach of 30 yards. Inside parking and the rooms are clean, well equipped and okay from a price angle.
Food is a separate chapter. Nothing to complain about. Buffets are more than abundant and dishes are great. Coming back from skiiing quite a buffet awaits you. The one complaint one can make is probably one get spoiled and you do put on wait easily.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globetrotter1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olten, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We (two families, each with a teen) spent a week in the Schlosshotel for skiing and I have to say that this hotel is really very convenient for this purpose. Not only the ski area is very good (one of the largest in the Alps) but the hotel offers also the perfect ski in and ski out experience (An elevator from the ski room leads directly to the ski slopes!).
Apart from the good skiing possibilities the Schlosshotels offers nice accommodations. We had a „Suite Bergkristall“ (60 sqm) in the new building offering a comfortable bedroom, a small separate room for two children, a very spacious bathroom with three sinks (and a third TV) and a balcony. The only disadvantage of this splendid room was its location to a side road. Unfortunately there was some (not very heavy) traffic from 5 or 6 in the morning that may be annoying when being a light sleeper (as I am). For the next ski vacations we booked the same rome to the other side (to the ski slopes). I hope that the snow cats will not disturb one’s sound sleep!
As far as the food is concerned (you usually are on half board) a breakfast buffet with a very good selection is at your disposal, in the afternoon there is a so-called „Jause“ where cold and hot meals are provided and in the evening fine dining is offered. All the courses are served with the exception of salad and cheese (there is a salad and a cheese buffet every evening). Twice a week you can choose from a formidable buffet with appetizers and once a week they prepare a really fantastic buffet with desserts (and as to sweets I am really picky). And one thing comes as a surprise: the prices for beverages (including alcoholic ones) are not as high as one would expect of a hotel of this class (4 stars superior). Also we were quite astonished to learn that the dress code during dinner time is rather casual, men are only asked to wear long trousers. Unusual for a hotel of this class, and it showed, sometimes the atmosphere at dinner was not that dignified as it was supposed to be especially during gala dinner (once a week). Service in general was very good. Everyone (with maybe a sole exception) was friendly and eager to please.
Considering the infrastructure of the hotel it has to be judged as really good. They score well as far as children and teens are concerned, also fans of spa and fitness facilities are well served and with the new water world (from summer 2010) water rats shall be satisfied as well.
All in all, the Schlosshotel is very suitable for enthusiastic skiers looking for a first class hotel offering an up to date infrastructure and good food.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swisstraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiss
0.4 mi away
Hotel Toalstock
Hotel Toalstock
#2 of 13 in Fiss
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wellness-Residenz Schalber
0.6 mi away
Das Marent
Das Marent
#4 of 13 in Fiss
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fisserhof
Hotel Fisserhof
#9 of 13 in Fiss
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Laurentius Family Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Fiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Fiss

Property: Schlosshotel Fiss
Address: Laurschweg 28, Fiss 6533, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Fiss
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fiss
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fiss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schlosshotel Fiss 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ready for the Schlosshotel experience? At the 5-star Schlosshotel Fiss, inspiration begins at a sun-drenched 1,436m altitude. High above the rooftops of Fiss, in one of the Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis holiday region's prime positions, hotelier family Domenig purvey inimitable elegance, tranquillity and wellbeing. 135 individually styled rooms and suites offer ample space for privacy and seclusion. The hotel caters specifically to the requirements of sophisticated families, couples and spa devotees with authentic, top-level slow food philosophy and a relaxing and family-friendly 5,000sqm of wellness facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Schlosshotel Fiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenresort Schlosshotel Fiss Hotel Fiss

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing