We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Edelweiss Gerlos
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gerlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week in Feb 2013 to ski for our first time in Gerlos. On our previous ski vacation in Austria the people were rude and the food bland so I was not expecting much this time. Edelweiss and Gerlos were the complete opposite!! The facilities and room were modern but retained the Austrian charm, the dinners were excellent ( we usually missed breakfast) and all of the staff very friendly and accommodating. I loved this charming family run hotel and wished I could have stayed longer. My husband found our room in the front a little noisy at night with loud passersby but I didn't notice and loved the view and balcony. Close to the ski bus to get to the lift in the morning and ski home. Fantastic place!!

Room Tip: Personal choice, I loved the front of the hotel with the balcony but my husband heard the folks on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 71 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a week at this nice hotel. The room was clean (typ D), practical and modern with a nice view of the village. Breakfast was great and dinner fantastic. The persons working in the restaurant/bar and reception were all very friendly. At the hotel they had a nice indoor pool and a sauna. The hotel is very childfriendly. If you are traveling without kids maybe you can feel it´s too many kids in the restaurant and poolarea.

Gerlos is a nice little village but the traffic passing through is horrible. Skiing in the Zillertall arena is very good. Mostly red pists and in all very typical Austrian. We took the skibus to the Iskogelbahn (1 km) but could ski all the way back to the hotel in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinN852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Edelweiss. We were a group of 2 adults and 2 late Teens and were all impressed with the efficiency and friendliness at the hotel. The staff were courteous and friendly and as an English speaker we had no problems as the staff were primarily Dutch and spoke excellent English.
The rooms were clean and sufficient and the food was fabulous. We opted for the half board option and were presented each evening with an excellent choice of meals.
There is a new pool / spa area which was a welcome sight at the end of a days skiing.
Gerlos itself is a small village built either side of a road leading up to the ski slopes. You will need a car or take the regular free ski bus from the hotel as the nearest gondola is approx. 1 km away. On return, snow permitting, you can ski right back to the hotel down a fairly gentle Red slope.
All in all I would heartily recommend the Edelweiss.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kieron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've just returned from a week at Hotel Edelweiss. The hotel is a mixture of traditional and modern and it works really well. It has a spacious foyer/lounge and a really lovely pool and spa area. It is like most Austrian hotels we have stayed in, very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The staff are fantastic - mostly dutch, as are the majority of guests. The food is also very good, and sometimes adventurous (in a good way). A lot of the guests seemed to be on return visits and I guess we will be back too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Likes: modern and still a local decoration ambiance, fresh flowers in the restaurant and main entrance. Nice lounge area at the lobby with free wifi. Spa with 2x Finn sauna, 1x steam bath and an indoor swimming pool. Spacious bedroom (Type B). Friendly staff at the restaurant and bar. Reasonable breakfast and serves good cappuccino. Ski bus stop 3min walk. Many restaurants and bars on the main street, all within walking distance.

Dislikes: information book in bedroom only in German, tiny bathroom (approx. 1,5x2m), booked a single room and only get towels and bedsheets/pillows for one, asked for two bathrobes at the reception- housekeeping took one away the next day and I got accused by steeling the bathrobe when I checked out, in addition they charge a fee of 5 euro for one bathrobe, not much but would be polite if they inform upfront and leave my bathrobes in my room, charged a meal on my bill for which i didn't consume. Receptionist is not professional and service friendly minded and holds up an impolite attitude during the check out as I refuse to pay for which I didn't use and consume.

For ambiance and comfort I would consider to stay again....hopefully there will be more improvement with the receptionist staff

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blossom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Spent 3 nights here earlier this month on a 3 man boys snowboarding trip. The rooms were fine, breakfast reasonable, but spa was great. So nice to be able to relax with no clothes on on the saunas, pool and roll in the snow!

In terms of a ski location, Gerlos is very Dutch, but gives access to tons of skiing; so good for a weekend, not so good for a whole week.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bheald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We booked the hotel Edelwiess through prontohotel.com the past summer, finding a discounted rate. The hotel is immersed in this beautiful valley is located Gerlos. We had a great experience and will return next summer for sure.
I forgot that the hotel accepts pets.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gerlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Traumhotel Alpina
Traumhotel Alpina
#6 of 14 in Gerlos
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Maria Theresia
Landhotel Maria Theresia
#11 of 14 in Gerlos
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gaspingerhof
Hotel Gaspingerhof
#9 of 14 in Gerlos
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wohlfuhlhotel Platzer
Wohlfuhlhotel Platzer
#3 of 14 in Gerlos
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kristall
Hotel Kristall
#5 of 14 in Gerlos
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Schoenruh
Schoenruh
#4 of 14 in Gerlos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss Gerlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss Gerlos

Address: Gerlos 135, Gerlos 6281, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Gerlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Gerlos
Price Range: $148 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss Gerlos 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Edelweiss is located in the centre of Gerlos, in the largest nature reserve of the Tyrolean Alps. Gerlos is situated on the border of Tyrol and the province of Salzburg. Free like a bird... That is just how you will feel! The mountains - the Zillertal- and Kitzbuhl Alps - have a very special appeal and will allow your body and spirit to unite and free themselves from everyday life. Our 4 star hotel offers 55 luxurious rooms, all with private facilities, a piano-bar, three saunas - Finnish, Bio sauna and Turkish bath - and a indoor swimming pool (12 m x 4). Our restaurant is considered one of the best in Gerlos and will certainly guarantee a pleasant stay! We are looking forward to your visit, we are confident that you will enjoy your stay at EDELWEISS! For further information or reservation please contact us at the numbers below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss Gerlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing