We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
30
10
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
30
10
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews child care year old daughter other hotels play area die afternoon kid season lesson teacher children summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2016

We have only arrived at the hotel today but I wanted to write this review now in case anyone was currently looking to book with a toddler around the 1-2 years' old mark.

On the positive side, the facilities overall are nice although a little dated in parts. The staff seem very friendly and any requests we have had so far the staff have dealt with very efficiently. The location is very nice with lovely scenery.

We are received a very nice welcome to the hotel. I think with some changes this hotel could be amazing.

However at the moment there are several 'red flags' for me for the toddler age group, I will be addressing these to the hotel management and will feed back on here as to how they are dealt with:

- Eating

The eating is very inflexible and will not work for families with children in this age group. Lunch must be eaten between 12 and 1pm, which as most people with a baby know is the prime 'napping' window for toddlers. This rigid time means we will be unable to eat lunch or, most likely, will have to do so on 'shifts' which isn't going to be very nice for us. Again, the dinner slot is very strict, 6pm to 8pm. Which once more is the prime 'sleeping' time for toddlers to be put to bed. Thus, you have two choices, eat early with a screaming tired baby at the table, or rush to put them to bed, then go and eat your food within 30 minutes before having to vacate the table at 8pm!

Then there is the food itself. The children's meal consisted of a fried egg, roasted potatoes, deep fried chips and creamed spinach (the former were drowned in oil, the latter was drowned in salt). In other words, completely inappropriate food for toddlers that most parents would never offer except as treat food. It would be so simple to fix, have fresh steamed veggies and mashed potato and rice with some lean meats and fishes, plus chopped fruit salads. It would probably cost them less! Such a shame.

- Safety

The hotel is simply not baby proof. There are several main corridors with wide open doors leading to swimming pools, it would take my son less than 5 seconds to run away from me and jump into a pool (which is what he has spent the last 4 hours trying to do). In the room we are in, there is a baby sink and the tap in it allows boiling hot water to come out thus a child should not be allowed to use it. There are sharp glass coffee tables and raised steps everywhere. The creche is split between two areas and the baby area has steep steps up into it. There is no baby stair gate at the bottom so a child can climb up and fall back down the stairs which would cause a nasty injury.

Heat

- There is no air confitioning in the hotel and the temperature now is very hot. The rooms are sweltering even with the windows open and as parents reading this know, babies should sleep in cooler rooms. I am not so concerned about my son as he is 18 months but I would be very concerned about overheating if I had a young baby here.

Room facilities

- Again just could be better. This might be just an 'English' thing but for the costs of a stay here, I would expect the basics like tea and coffee in the room. Also thinking things through like how do I bath a baby without a non slip bath mat? What about a few cheap bath toys in the rooms, so easy to do and would make such a difference?

I will update my review again at the end of the stay, and will hopefully have something more positive to report.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
176Chris176, Front Office Manager at Ginas Baby & Kinderhotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

We would add something, that you stayed alone with your two kids. And you don`t want to leave your kids in our childcare, because your child did not speaks englisch or german. For babies we offer you a wide range on hipp products (glasses) that are included in the price. Our lunch times are:
Breakfast from 7.30 to 10:00
Lunch: from 12:00 to 13:00
Afternoon: Cake Buffet: 14:30 to 17:00
Dinner: 18:00 to 20:00
If you need something special for your baby that is not on our extra child buffet, please ask at our stuff. You find everything that is included in our price on our website. All sorts of coffees and Tees are included in the price, so we will not offer that also in every room. We are not a 5 Star Hotel. The room facilities are also on our website. Please write also what you had paid for your holiday. If you need a rubber nap for the shower, please you have to tell us.

Kind regards, Ginas Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for just 2 nights during a foggy week in February. This is absolutely the most kid-friendly place we have ever stayed, well worth the extra $$$ you pay, even if you don't use the childcare services. Rooms are spacious (we had a penthouse suite with more than enough space for 2 adults and 2 kids). They even had a bed rail so our toddler could sleep safely, as well as a changing area and potty seat. Each family gets a designated table in the dining room, which is set and ready for you at each meal, complete with high chair, bib, and kid sized cutlery. Food for adults was 3 or 4 courses and delicious. Our kids liked the ice cream after each meal, as well as the cake buffet in the afternoon. The indoor pool and soft play area gave us plenty to do! We really hope to visit again, maybe in the warmer weather so we can enjoy some beautiful mountain views. This hotel is best suited for babies up to about age 8 or 9, older kids might struggle to find enough to do, but it is paradise for the young ones.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank williamssss2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

What can I say! So few reviews - Amazing staff, food, location, accommodation and facilities! We stayed here in August 2015. We are a family of 1 and 3 year olds.

I'll expand our experience.

We were picked up by Christian, on time form the train station in Villach. Our luggage taken straight to the room after a late arrival. Order the house red wine, which was to die for after a long trip from Corfu.

We woke in the morning to a view of the mountains and lake which was spectacular! The captains suite is amazing, very comfy beds and pillows (the Austrian way) living area fridge in all rooms - the staff couldn't help enough ones to mention, Stephanie and waitress. But all were amazing!

The food is spectacular real gourmet treats from Austria, Pago fruit juice - there was no expense spared! Breakfast amazing fresh produce, local golden yolk eggs, hams cheeses and bread, coffee lovely!

Free bike hire and childcare, the girls are shy but went to the child care without problems, animal petting days, fishing days and treasure hunts round the hotel again the staff amazing!

The location a 10 minute cycle away from fresh water lake Faaker See, which Gina's provides bikes and passes to access.

Facilities - in and out of the hotel you won't be lost for things to do this place is Heaven for Children and if they are Happy I'm happy (one indoor pool, 2 outdoor pools, out door play area for all ages, in door soft play area, Moonbike track, bike use, animals, Deer in the distance. It has everything!

For adults the above applies but the kids were so happy making it easy to enjoy the extremely good beer and wine that Austria produces, as well as spa facilities and all round feeling of being relaxed and enjoying the good life.

I highly recommend, only negative is that it takes a while to get here from the UK but that is not fault of Gina's

5*+

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank TheSewells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We returned to Ginas after our first very good stay there in 2008 after trying some other kinderhotels in Austria.The hotel is run effeciently and the whole package is good value for money for a young family. It had been upgraded since 2008 and looked impressive, the food and variety of cuisine had improved also.The booking was also felxible to accomodate our flights but the communication associated with the ski events were not clear.Our booking crossed over the events schedule and we were left disappointed regarding kids' ski school and assoicated schedule.
When we inquired, obliviously, about any partial remaining schedule it was met by the owner with complete contempt.It was pointed out that we had missed all the scheduling reg. kids' ski school in the welcome pack(?) and therefore nothing could be done, this was further defended by a openly agressive attitude which escalated into a very heated argument over a truly genuine mistake.

We made our own plans regarding the ski schedule and then reported the owners' overly agressive attitude to the Gina's franchise

I wouldn't take anything away in this review from the standard of accomodation, quality of food and freindliness of waiting staff, but if you do decide to stay make sure you are aware of the "rules" before you inquire about anything outwith their standard procedures, this will upset the owners

I have only written this review now as it has came around to book the ski trip for next Feb. We are returning to the area as it is so beautiful and great for family skiing- but not to Gina's until it changes ownership.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Accommodation is spacious and comfortable for a family of 5 (6 next year). Slept like logs.
Food (and the different meals every day) are a joy and we looked forward to all meals just as much as the skiing.
Kids entertainment outside of skiing was fine although this year they had moved the film times to 20:30 CET which after a hard day skiing and swim was too late for the little ones. The year before the films were on at 6:30 which was when dinner had started (at 6:00) so we all thought they could move the time of the films in their cinema to 19:00.
Ski school with Norbert and the instructors was first class yet again.
Location close to airport and mountains is fantastic - no long journeys anywhere.

Room tip: Rooms are large enough so no need to book 2 rooms for a family of 5/6. Captain's suite is the pick.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews