We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it easy in little El Salvador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Cobanos Village Lodge
Reviewed April 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Los Cobanos for four nights and had an awesome experience. The service is top-notch - the first night they delivered dinner to our room while we sat on the balcony and watched the sunset. The food is the best in the region, fresh everytime you order with plenty to chose from. The compound is pristine with staff cleaning and sweeping everyday. We were the only guests for three of our four nights and we felt like royaly, the staff was always there to help with directions, call a cab, recommend beaches and take care of us. The village is nice to see by day, by night we we felt safer in the coumpound,
Heads-up for travelers:
1. If you're looking for a place that you can get by without Spanish - this isn't it - we found only one other english speaker in town. We had no trouble with our limited Spanish.
2. lots of stray dogs on the beach and the beach is dirty in spots.
3. There are bats in the roof but it's not a big deal - we laugh about it now.
4. Great for couples that like out of the way, non-big resort type hideaways.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank awhipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 60 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2007

I stayed at Los Cobanos on two separate trips to El Salvador, in 2005 and 2006, and both visits were fantastic. The rooms are comfortable & clean, there is a beautiful view of the ocean, sitting area inside and on the balcony, and fantastic architecture and decorating utilizing local materials. They have all kinds of ocean toys like kayaks and snorkel gear available for use as well. All of the aforementioned are great, but it is really the people at Los Cobanos that make the experience epic. They pretty much do whatever they can to ensure your visit is comfortable: from fixing traditional cuisine to facilitating snorkelling, surfing, or kayaking. It is super family friendly and if the ocean is overwhelming for the little ones, there is a comfortable pool (which we used daily)! It was the last relaxing vacation I've been on and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Footastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

If you're one that's decided to travel to El Salvador, go see what wonderful salvadoran families and charming rural coastal communities are really like. Los Cobanos Village Lodge is a little "oasis" nestled in the middle of one of these communities; it provides a cozy coastal get-away but yet still offers the flavor of salvadoran life. I've stayed here many times and enjoy my stay everytime. When living in San Salvador the lodge was my favorite weekend destination; great service, very comfortable accomodations, beautiful views from the room's balcony, friendly people. It always felt like a relaxing "home-away-from-home" rather than a busy resort. Everytime I had friends from the states visit, we'd make sure to spend time here as well and they still talk about what a great get-away it was. As well, many friends flew to El Salvador last summer for our wedding, and Village Lodge is the hotelito I chose for them to stay at; they loved it and have wonderful memories. During that weekend my dad and brothers hired a local fisherman from Los Cobanos to go dorado fishing; not only did they have a successful fishing trip, they were lucky enough to swim with the big sea turtles and still talk about when they're going back. This little lodge is wonderful and I highly recommend it if you're looking to see the real El Salvador and the beauty of the communities it has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sirenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

O.K. regarding Los Cobanos Village Lodge, here is the deal:

We got there early morning, around 7:30-8:00 a.m. nice 45 minutes trip from the capital city San Salvador, there wasn’t much traffic, nice road. We were excited because we had made arrangement with the manager and a boat was waiting for us for a diving trip. We were a party of four and the guy from the boat was friendly and very handy, in matter of minutes they had everything all set.

There we were, in the middle of the Pacific Ocean -2.50 miles from the coast to be exact, and guess what?? We are looking for humpback whales!!!!!!! And guess what?? We found them!!!!!!!!!!! Or I think they found us!!!!!! A mother and her calf, the most amazing adventure of all, and it happened in Los Cobanos Village Lodge’s back yard. We were lucky to be accepted by them and we could swim for a while with them. I don’t think we will ever find the words to describe this moment. Sorry folks! We were to busy to manage a camera, no photos to prove the event.

After the most memorial time of our lives, we visited two diving sites: “La rajadura” and “Acuario”, visibility: 6 feet, were we disappoint it? Well, not really, there were beautiful fish and the sites were very interesting. After a “hard” morning of diving –we were back at 2:30 pm- It was very reassuring to finally be back at the lodge, very comfy, friendly staff, cozy rooms. It was nice to just hang at the pool and get some sun.

Should we recommend “Los Cobanos Village Lodge”? Absolutely, we are going back, there is so much to explore!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatrixKido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

The place has a very nice and relax atmospher. It is extremly well managed by it owners. Rooms are very well desing, excelent ventilation, and shini clean.

The architecture is very well tought using local material, like wood, palm, but with well finished surfaces. The place has some times, great sideshore winds that make a for a good winsdurfing and kitesurf side, If there si no wind you can catch some nice longboard rides in regular days, and nice waves on big days.

I am a regular client, they make you feel at home.

Cheers

Aldo Miranda

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Windaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I stayed at Los Cobanos Lodge for 4 wonderful days. The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. They cooked delicious meals and arranged for someone to come to the lodge and cook pupusas for us on a night they weren't normally available--we were extremely grateful. One young woman who worked there walked with us to town to show us where we could buy a few things we needed. She showed us a crazy shortcut over a harrowing bridge, but I loved every second of it. They really made us feel very comfortable. Even though they spoke English, they helped us speak Spanish and were very patient--that was especially appreciated.

I was ecstatic that our room had a balcony overlooking the beach and t. It was a prime spot for sunrise and watching the fishermen head out for early-morning trips. It was beautiful.

I must confess--we spent A LOT of time in the pool. More than I ever imagined we would. It was so relaxing and comfortable there that we had a hard time leaving the lodge.

We did venture out for a long walk on the beach a few days. Close to the lodge, there are a number of small restaurants and small houses lining the beach. But when we went out further past a rocky area of the shoreline, we found the beach to be completely desserted and lined with large, unoccupied vacation homes.

I would definitely go back to Los Cobanos.

Stayed: July 2006
Thank Lindsay_in_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I have stayed at Los Cobanos on various occasions (personal visits and while hosting groups of tourists). The hotel is very charming and is situated in a quaint town of local fisherman, which gives you the experience of seeing the real El Salvador while enjoy the conveniences of a nice hotel. The food at the hotel was very good and the service was attentive. I have visited on several occasions and have always been pleased. One of the local beaches, just a short walk away, is absolutely picturesque and you often end up having the beach all to yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hydro_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acajutla
22.6 mi away
HOTEL JUAYUA
HOTEL JUAYUA
#1 of 2 in Juayua
35 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Las Cabanas de Apaneca
0.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Salinitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Palapa Cabins
Palapa Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sonsonate
21 reviews
19.2 mi away
Capricho Beach House
Capricho Beach House
#2 of 2 in Barra de Santiago
17 reviews
22.6 mi away
Santa Leticia
Santa Leticia
#1 of 3 in Apaneca
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cobanos Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cobanos Village Lodge

Address: Playa Los Cobanos | Comunidad Punta Remedios, Acajutla 2302, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Acajutla
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Acajutla
Price Range: $56 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Cobanos Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Cobanos village lodge is located within a fishing community, it is oriented for responsible travelers wanting to get involve with our local culture. We are in front of the only volcanic nature coral reefs in the Central American Pacific coast. Wreck diving, volcanic reef diving, kayaking and fishing are among the activities recommended. In December and January humpback whale watching is possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Los Cobanos Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cobanos Village Hotel Acajutla
Los Cobanos Village Lodge El Salvador/Acajutla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing