We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs New Management”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sipalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sulu Sunset Beach Resort
Campbell River
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs New Management”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very disappointed with our stay in early February. After our arrival, it took 2 1/2 hours for our dinner to be served - staff didn't seem to care. As soon as we commented that our children were starving - we were shunned by the staff and owner for the duration of our stay (3 days), it was disgraceful.

The owners spends his time sketching out at the end of the bar with his friend San Miguel overlooking everything you do - it is a weird vibe. We were the only non-Germans as far as I could tell - the Germans all seem to be treated far better than we were. I won't even get into the termite infestion in our room.

Owner needs to hire a manager who know how to run a resort because the location is pretty good, just needs a compete change in attitude. We spent most of our time hanging out next door at the Big Bamboo - WAY better service and food!

For the life of me I can not understand the positive posts about this place. We have travelled in many countries and throughout the Philippines and have never been treated so poorly. There are way better options at Sugar Beach and at Punta Ballo Beach as well.

Avoid this resort as long as the current management is in place, go to Big Bamboo or Bermuda Beach Resort instead, and enjoy Sugar Beach as it is a true hidden gem.

Room Tip: Make sure you inspect your room before you check in - look for the black termite nests in the ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrMarty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
43
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very remote and quiet. Sugar beach is paradise. No bars or shops just a few low rise resorts along the beach, which are hidden behind the palm trees.

Sulu Sunset is a great place to stay and really chill out if you don't mind that clean bedspreads and towels are not readily on offer. Rooms are cleaned every three days unless you make a nuisance of yourself and ask for it to be done more often. One clean towel was provided but getting a replacement was hard work. These grass rooved huts have shower rooms but I shared mine with a very large gecco which really freaked me out - yes call me a wimp. Kevin the Komodo Dragon wouldn't leave, no matter how hard I brushed him up the wall. Just hissed at me.

The bar plays the correct sort of trance music during the day graduating to 60's classics at night. The staff are helpful and efficient and the pizza oven in the gardens produces excellent pizzas.

Because we stayed three nights, we got a free boat from Sipalay to Sugar Beach. Bear in mind that your return trip will cost you 300 pesos.

Check your bar bills thoroughly. Mistakes are easily made.

Too much nature for me - I was glad to move on.

Room Tip: Stay here if you really want to get close to nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowellerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is the real Robinson Crusoe feeling. Yogi is a man who does everything to make you feel at home. He has a great eye for details what is visible in the design of the bungalows. The food at the resort is excellent and reasonably priced.

Thank you for the hospitality Jogi.

Linda and Chris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Yogi & his staff of beautiful smiley girls will have you taken care of with Filipino hospitality & German efficiency. Yogi himself is a nice guy who genuinely wants you to have a good time at Sugar Beach. The 900p rooms are spacious & comfortable with a refreshing warm shower. Surrounding the cottages are beautifully tended gardens that accentuate the natural beauty of the location. Personally, I ate every meal during my three days @ the Sulu restaurant because the food was affordable, delicious & served in generous portions. Regardless if you're a family, couple, group of friends, budget conscious or solo traveler Yogi has a room that will fit your needs but I advise you book in advance. The only suggestion that I would make is that the linens & towels be replaced as they're showing their age. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return to Sulu Sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WylieKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Jogi and the girls are great hosts and very welcoming. The food is really good. We must have put on weight because whilst we were lounging around on the hammock it snapped and we crashed to the floor. Jogi, upon seeing this immediately ran over (he didn't even laugh!) and asked if we were ok. Not too bad, especially as he bought us beers in the evening. Next day he had fixed the hammock expertly. The cottages are nice, as is the bar/restaurant. Simple in design with a garden running throughout the resort. Wifi is very slow but if you're coming here it's probably best to just relax and forget about the outside world for a bit. Just beware of the pesky mosquitoes, you can request for some mosquito killer from the bar. Very relaxing, nice beach. Need a boat ride to get to it, which adds to the adventure (call them up when you arrive in Sipalay). There are just a couple of other resorts down the beach and that's pretty much it in terms of civilization. Beautiful sunsets, as the name suggests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillRichens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sulu Sunset Beach was the best place to relax, with cool music, delicious foods, very friendly staffs. The German owner Sir Yogi was very accomodating. the trip was worth it. nice cottages,clean organize and complete, two thumbs up for the place and the people their :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephCarloOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

...Best beachfront, seaview cottages ever. I love the gardens, love Yogi and Jane and the girls, love the eggnogs, love the food, love the free wifi, love the refill water...
...Best value for money resort in Sugar beach!
...Pizzas are great too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sole2soultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipalay
2.5 mi away
Jamont Hotel
Jamont Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sipalay
33 reviews
10.4 mi away
Nabulao Beach Resort
Nabulao Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Hinoba-an
59 reviews
5.5 mi away
Artistic Diving Resort
Artistic Diving Resort
#2 of 5 in Sipalay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Easy Diving and Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort
4.2 mi away
Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sulu Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sulu Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sulu Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Sipalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sipalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sulu Sunset Beach Hotel Sipalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing