We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sulu Sunset Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sipalay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sulu Sunset Beach Resort
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Jogi and the girls are great hosts and very welcoming. The food is really good. We must have put on weight because whilst we were lounging around on the hammock it snapped and we crashed to the floor. Jogi, upon seeing this immediately ran over (he didn't even laugh!) and asked if we were ok. Not too bad, especially as he bought us beers in the evening. Next day he had fixed the hammock expertly. The cottages are nice, as is the bar/restaurant. Simple in design with a garden running throughout the resort. Wifi is very slow but if you're coming here it's probably best to just relax and forget about the outside world for a bit. Just beware of the pesky mosquitoes, you can request for some mosquito killer from the bar. Very relaxing, nice beach. Need a boat ride to get to it, which adds to the adventure (call them up when you arrive in Sipalay). There are just a couple of other resorts down the beach and that's pretty much it in terms of civilization. Beautiful sunsets, as the name suggests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillRichens88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    17
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
43
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sulu Sunset Beach was the best place to relax, with cool music, delicious foods, very friendly staffs. The German owner Sir Yogi was very accomodating. the trip was worth it. nice cottages,clean organize and complete, two thumbs up for the place and the people their :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosephCarloOre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

...Best beachfront, seaview cottages ever. I love the gardens, love Yogi and Jane and the girls, love the eggnogs, love the food, love the free wifi, love the refill water...
...Best value for money resort in Sugar beach!
...Pizzas are great too!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sole2soultravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Sulu Sunset for four nights in august 2012. We stayed in the cheaper cottage at 550p per night. Lovely little cottage with mosquito nets and a fan and clean bathroom. We were the only guests and the four girls working there (the owner and the manager wasn't there, probably cause its low season) were so friendly and lovely!! They are very laid back and professional, and Gigi serves some good food!! Really recommend the place, though the actual beach has a lot of stuff on it that the sea washes up.. Warmly recommend Sulu Sunset to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmaja22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Beautiful beach front, friendly staff and a very relaxing atmosphere! Amazing place to be in when you are in Negros Island. The cottages were exactly what I was looking for. Simple, clean and complete. The food was surprisingly good and affordable. The staff was very helpful and the owner was very friendly. I'm definitely coming back and will stay a little bit longer.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront rooms! They have a perfect view and comes with a wide balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToniEpns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the most affordable cottage with fan, 2 beds and private bathroom for only P550. It was comfortable enough. The food is delicious and the staff are very nice and helpful. They also have an extensive bar list and lots of recreational activities like badminton rackets, pool table, volleyballs and snorkeling material. Good wi-fi signal also. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city or a change of pace in Philippine beaches, come to Sugar Beach and stay here where it is the least crowded and the most serene. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get the beach front cottages for a spacious balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An2Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My girlfreind and I went to Sipalay to get away from the sometimes crowded Boracay, for some bonding time and to relax.
Sulusunset is the perfect place to be. Its at the End of the Sugar Beach so you will not get disturbed by the boats serving the other hotels. The different Bungalows are nice, specious and well maintained. Staff as well as the Owner are very helpful and service oriented without giving you the feeling its just a job for them. The restaurant at Sulusunset serves for me the best food along the beach. Thank you all for a very relaxing stay and we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good. The Beachfront ones are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipalay
10.4 mi away
Nabulao Beach Resort
Nabulao Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Hinoba-an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jamont Hotel
Jamont Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sipalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
72.4 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Easy Diving and Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort
4.2 mi away
Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sulu Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sulu Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Sulu Sunset Beach Resort
Address: Sugar Beach, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Sipalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Sipalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sulu Sunset Beach Hotel Sipalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing