We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing sunsets!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 15 Sipalay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A little inaccessible and with nothing much at the location (main town's a boat and tricycle ride away). But it was that seclusion it had that made it so appealing to me. If you enjoy partying and having great places to go to within walking distance. Then this is not the place for you.

I love secluded areas. It gives me the space to think and ponder over my own thoughts in peace. So this is the place.

The beach the resort is one is a tanned beach. With not so much a stone/rock in the sand. Lovely for walking barefoot along the coastline.

Amazing place owned by a lovely couple Karl and Cathy. As there were not many rooms. Even the staff can remember which room I belong to and could charge my meals to the room without me having to say anything. Personalized? Definitely.

Love the quirky/whimsical design of the whole resort as it made it stand out from the norm. Vibrant colours made the place such a riot of fun. Room was comfortable (I stayed in Rockedelic) and switches were hidden in all sort of funny places. Interesting! Simple layout in the room (do not expect TV or radio) but comfortable all the same.

Meals were at the reception/bar/dining area and for the 2 nights I stayed. It was the place I chilled out and watch the amazing sunsets. Meals choices were quite varied. From Western to local to Asian.

Did not manage to go diving/snorkeling as I was busy exploring the seaside town and what it has to offer. But I do understand that on the stretch of Sugar Beach where the resort is located. It is the only one that offers diving trips.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starzdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 152 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Rooms are very nice, great hosts, fantastic food (for both carnivores and vegetarians). We dived at a shallow wreck around 30 min boat ride away. Wreck is shallow enough also for snorkeling.
Group dinner organised for Christmas and show for New Year.

We hired a tricycle to see something of the countryside nearby - 4 adults and 2 kids plus tricycle driver and we still managed to get up some hills!

We found it by chance online, didn't know it was a top pick in the LP.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Takatuka is in an idealic location at Sugar Beach, far enough from the town of Sipalay but still accessable. The theme rooms are amazing, quirky, interesting and built, designed and decorated with the passion of the owners Cathy and Karl, who are amazing people themselves.
The whole resort is adventure on the run, from dining, games area, garden grounds and the dive operation which is run by a lovely couple Veronica and Ronny, who run a punctual, professional and fun operation. Diving the local sites in crystal clear water is amazing with healthy reefs, shallow wrecks, troughs, walls and the old Copper Mine Peirs, all with heaps of fish life, nudibranches, critters and soft and hard corals. This Resort and area caters well for divers and non divers , as a couple l dive but my partner doesn't .Sipalay township is a 30 minute stroll along a beautiful beach stopping along the way playing and talking to the locals. For a change of pace a motorbike side car ride inland with a tour thrown in is a must. The area is surrounded with networks of mangrove lined rivers leading to the sea, a cruise along them at sunset not to be missed. The menu was so extensive with Western and Philippino choices that during our 9 night stay we didn't have the same meal twice. Cathy and Karl are very much hands on in operating and overseeing that any needs and requests were met. The staff were like family, fun, helpful and friendly.
This is our third trip to the Philippines but our first stay at Takatuka and in the Sipalay area and we'll be back here again. The only thing to think about is which room theme next time mmmmmm.
Thank you so much Cathy, Karl, Veronica, Ronny,Tatjana and all the Staff for an unbelievable experience with you all.

Room Tip: Think of a fantasy , a childhood dream and a theme room well suit your needs .
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-Rowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent 12 days (Jan 2013) in Takatuka. It was definitely one of the best diving holidays ever.
The entire Takatuka team does a big effort to make guests feel very comfortable.
Service is not only a word to them. It is their lived philosophy. The resort is like an original piece of art work which is worth to be discovered. All accommodations are individual and unique. The owners Kalle and Cathy have put a lot of good ideas to design each of the comfortable rooms in its own way. The place is very well kept and clean. Food is excellent and offers a variety of local and international dishes. It was very relaxed diving together with Veronica and Ronny. They dive in small groups and take care about the individual diving skills and wishes of the divers. The number of sites counts up to almost 40. It is very likely that you dive each site only once. And even then you will not have seen all of the marvelous spots. Sugar Beach is one of the nicest beaches I have ever been to. It is quiet and tidy and allows you to relax.
Thanks to all of you at Takatuka for these beautiful and relaxing holidays!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajam_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it, it was our favourite resort of the 3 week holiday in fact. Fantastic location on a quiet beach, great choice of deeeeelicious food and the quirky rooms are an added bonus. Spotlessly clean, brilliant staff, great dive centre.........its got it all.
Thanks Cathy, Calle, Tatiana et al for a great stay. Keep up the great work :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Two years ago my family (Filipina wife and three young children) visited Takatuka for several days. I have spent most of the past 20 years of my life in hotels around the world. One blurs into the other after a while. NOT Takatuka. Unique. Extraordinary. Not super luxury, but who cares? Wonderful days and enduring memories.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Only drawback is the difficult location. But worth the effort.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have been to Takatuka twice and I will have to say..it's probably the most awesome place to stay at in Sipalay. Great food, great music, lots of fun stuff to look at , the rooms were squeaky clean and the owners and staff really made you feel welcome! I took my girlfriend there on our anniversary and they chilled a bottle of champagne for us..no corkage fee, no hassle. I cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally enjoyable and will overload your senses but I found the 'bongo bongo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bacoleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipalay
10.0 mi away
Nabulao Beach Resort
Nabulao Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Hinoba-an
61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Jamont Hotel
Jamont Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sipalay
33 reviews
5.2 mi away
Artistic Diving Resort
Artistic Diving Resort
#2 of 5 in Sipalay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Easy Diving and Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Sealey's Inn
Sealey's Inn
#8 of 13 in Sipalay
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort

Address: Langub - Sugar Beach, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Sipalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sipalay
Price Range: $30 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorfull Beach Resort reviving Pipi Longstocking's escapades to Takatuka Island. Very cozy rooms with unusual, crazy decoration directly on beautiful Sugar Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Takatuka Beach and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing