We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artsitic Diving - just nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Artistic Diving Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sipalay
Silay City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Artsitic Diving - just nice”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My stay at this marvelous place was just sensational. The team is super nice. The owner are just very kind and very welcoming. the invited us to their house and their own mountain to enjoy the view and we very presented some rum and coke oder beer for free.

the food is excellent and the pool bar just stunning. The room is comfortable and clean. the douce is nice and the water is also warm. what else do you expect?

but for me the best thing are the 50 different dive spots near the beach. Some of them are just 2 to 3 minutes away from the beach and the coral life is just overwhelming. the life there is intact and you can not detect any damages. You can enjoy wreck diving on 3 different wrecks. you also can experience muck diving, wall diving and slope diving or reef diving. plenty of small stuff and also things such as octopus, sea snakes, many turtles and and and …

once or twice a week there is a volleyball match between locals (crew members) and guests. its always fun! i enjoyed my holidays there and will probably go there again!
just go there and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: i had the deluxe bungalow with sea view it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went to Sipalay because we heard the diving was supposed to be really good. If you are not a diver and you are not in the area - there is probably not really any reason to go to Sipalay. It is far from most things and does not really have any great attractions - other than a beautiful beach and the diving.
The diving was not as fantastic as we had hoped. We have had better diving other places in the Philippines - but it was ok. The visibility was not so good due to the heavy rain they had in Jan - but we still enjoyed.
Artistic resort is a funny, bit bizar place. The rooms have clearly been built as they went along and got more and more guests. So there is not really any clear logic to the resort and the way it is built. But that has its own charme. The colors of the rooms in as well as outside may also seem to be a bit strange - especially considering that you are in the Philippines. The room inside a pretty basic - but they work ok.
We stayed in one of the beach front rooms and since many rooms are higher up due the cliffs - I would definitely go for one of the "beach front" rooms. They are not really breach front - but rather beach / sea view - which is also great.

The people in the diving center are really nice. The staff in the resort and restaurant are overall nice and helpful - but sometimes slow. The food is not outstanding just ok.

So why should you go there? Because of the atmosphere. First of all - Angela who is running the place makes the whole difference. She is so nice and helpful - and will do everything she can to meet your wishes and requests. She does everything she can to make your stay even better. Both when you book via email and when you are there.
Secondly it is a small secluded place. The beach is lovely. And everything goes in a slow pace, very relaxing.
It is one of those places where when you arrive you might think "what is this and what am I doing here". But shortly after that - you fall in love. In the small things. The beach, the people, the relaxed and friendly atmosphere etc.
I guess the best recommendation I can give is - I would go back if I had the opportunity. I really liked the laid back way of living - with all the small strange things that the place had.

Room Tip: Go for one of the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Birkbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Artistic Diving Resort for a couple of nights in February. Although it was hard work getting there - we were on bikes, the ride was worth it. The room was quiet and clean, the beach is well kept and you can watch spectacular sunsets from the beach bar. The food was good and it was a treat to get nice Swiss bread! We aren't divers but we very much enjoyed a private snorkelling expedition and a boat trip to Sugar Beach organised for us by the resort. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly

Room Tip: Some of the rooms involve climbing a lot of steps so the nearer you are to the beach, the fewer stap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jg6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changwon, Gyeongsangnam-do, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Clean beach surrounded by coral reef was good for enjoy snorkeling and swimming.

Indeed, with diving in front of beach or after 5~10 minute boat riding, Variation of healthy coral reefs was fantastic with various underwater landscape include cave, valley, wall, sandy bottom and wreck ship of WWII.

As a underwater photographer, Sipalay, Punta Ballo Beach has worth to visit again. Not with typhoon like me.

Woo

Room Tip: Make friends with lovely Coconut craps around resort after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice place to stay. We stayed here for 1 night with the family from the Philippines.

Ideal place if you’re looking to relax in the sun on a white sandy beach. Or if snorkelling or scuba diving is your activity this is the place to stay.

This is a tranquil resort to spend the weekend, the location is picturesque and very peaceful.

The resort is also private and secure ideal for anyone looking for privacy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place: Artistic Diving is situated at the end of the Punta Ballo beach strip. It's accessible by road and isolated enough from the town. The resort itself is neslted on a sloping limestone cliff with rooms at different elevations. We got the AC sans TV which is ok for the price and it's fronting the beach. The beachfront is clean meaning less garbage, floating UFOs and stray doggy doodoos. They have tiki lamps during the night time illuminating the resort with its warm glow and plastic lounge chairs that will lull you into stupor.

The resort: the resort is well managed and up to European standards. You really can feel the difference with the quality of their amenities and service. They have a pool which you can use until the night and they have an excellent pool bar which provided us with drinks as we segue the night away in the warm pool waters. The nice thing was that if you're a guest, you can just have it charged to your room and pay it when you check-out. The restaurant is also wonderful. They have a good selection of Filipino and European dishes. We even had the silog breakfast at night! And their servings are bigger- so my Beef strip thai curry was more than adequate for two persons. Their drinks are relatively affordable considering the isolatedness of the place (eg. 1 bottle of Sprite = P35 ~$0.85).

The Staff: The Filipino staff were gracious, humble and very hospitable on every turn. Not an ounce of attitude or hospitality fatigue. As they say, the devil is in the details, and for me, how their service fared can be seen in the details: lending us a bottle opener from the pool bar for the rest of the night, the chambermaid going back to our room late afternoon just to clean up, the security helping us with the baggage, etc.) The Europeans (general manager, dive-master, etc) on the other hand I can't say so much because they kept mostly to themselves. They have that personal touch when it comes to visiting European tourists (speaking in Deutche) which we did not feel at all nor have we seen it with other Filipino guests.

The Room: The room was small but adequate. The AC was cold enough for a good night sleep and their linens (towels, pillows, blankets) smells citrusy nice. The floors are clean and the walls spotless. The bathroom was clean with a hot-and-cold shower that has a terrific water pressure and the water gives off no dank metallic smell unlike other beach resorts.

All in all a resort that will give you your money's worth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gekidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our way home (some 120KMS from Sipalay) I realised I left my ipod inside the room. Even if LBC was a bus-ride away from Sipalay, she went thru all the hassle to send it to me, which I received the day after. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESORT if you are looking for a place to stay in Sipalay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuiL872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipalay
3.3 mi away
Jamont Hotel
Jamont Hotel
#4 of 4 in Sipalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
6.3 mi away
Nabulao Beach Resort
Nabulao Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Hinoba-an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
9.6 mi away
Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Easy Diving and Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Nataasan Beach Resort & Dive Center
89.5 mi away
Whispering Palms Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artistic Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic Diving Resort

Property: Artistic Diving Resort
Address: Punta Ballo, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Sipalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sipalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artistic Diving Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Artistic Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artistic Diving Hotel Sipalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing