We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Sun Bathing & Scuba Diving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Artistic Diving Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sipalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice place to stay. We stayed here for 1 night with the family from the Philippines.

Ideal place if you’re looking to relax in the sun on a white sandy beach. Or if snorkelling or scuba diving is your activity this is the place to stay.

This is a tranquil resort to spend the weekend, the location is picturesque and very peaceful.

The resort is also private and secure ideal for anyone looking for privacy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 88 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

The place: Artistic Diving is situated at the end of the Punta Ballo beach strip. It's accessible by road and isolated enough from the town. The resort itself is neslted on a sloping limestone cliff with rooms at different elevations. We got the AC sans TV which is ok for the price and it's fronting the beach. The beachfront is clean meaning less garbage, floating UFOs and stray doggy doodoos. They have tiki lamps during the night time illuminating the resort with its warm glow and plastic lounge chairs that will lull you into stupor.

The resort: the resort is well managed and up to European standards. You really can feel the difference with the quality of their amenities and service. They have a pool which you can use until the night and they have an excellent pool bar which provided us with drinks as we segue the night away in the warm pool waters. The nice thing was that if you're a guest, you can just have it charged to your room and pay it when you check-out. The restaurant is also wonderful. They have a good selection of Filipino and European dishes. We even had the silog breakfast at night! And their servings are bigger- so my Beef strip thai curry was more than adequate for two persons. Their drinks are relatively affordable considering the isolatedness of the place (eg. 1 bottle of Sprite = P35 ~$0.85).

The Staff: The Filipino staff were gracious, humble and very hospitable on every turn. Not an ounce of attitude or hospitality fatigue. As they say, the devil is in the details, and for me, how their service fared can be seen in the details: lending us a bottle opener from the pool bar for the rest of the night, the chambermaid going back to our room late afternoon just to clean up, the security helping us with the baggage, etc.) The Europeans (general manager, dive-master, etc) on the other hand I can't say so much because they kept mostly to themselves. They have that personal touch when it comes to visiting European tourists (speaking in Deutche) which we did not feel at all nor have we seen it with other Filipino guests.

The Room: The room was small but adequate. The AC was cold enough for a good night sleep and their linens (towels, pillows, blankets) smells citrusy nice. The floors are clean and the walls spotless. The bathroom was clean with a hot-and-cold shower that has a terrific water pressure and the water gives off no dank metallic smell unlike other beach resorts.

All in all a resort that will give you your money's worth.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gekidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

On our way home (some 120KMS from Sipalay) I realised I left my ipod inside the room. Even if LBC was a bus-ride away from Sipalay, she went thru all the hassle to send it to me, which I received the day after. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RESORT if you are looking for a place to stay in Sipalay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuiL872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a great time in this small, private yet cozy resort. The rooms were good for the price we're paying. The foods are reasonably priced. They have a small pool and a nice pool bar that serves almost all the drinks you'd want and not to mention the very friendly lady bartender and the resort staff. We took our very first dive lessons and the dive team, especially our dive instructor was very good. The long stretch of white beach was amazing and the crystal waters was very inviting too! I can't wait for our next trip here. Kudos to the resort management, the dive team and the staff for making our stay very memorable!

Room Tip: Make a reservation ahead to get there bigger rooms facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at Artistic after our unpleasant experience at Sulu Sunset. Their rates are reasonable for what you get, the rooms were the cleanest we have ever seen in any hotel or resort on the Philippines - our compliments to their housekeeping staff. Staff and food were good, can't beat the location fronting on Punta Ballo (white) beach.
We stayed in a beach front bungalow which was very nice, but the rooms higher up looked pretty nice as well and were 1000p less per night, would likely stay in one of those if we returned.
Took our kids out snorkeling with one of their boat guides - had a great day!
We are not divers, this place was mostly divers and it is easy to see why.

Imagine Boracay 20 years before it was ruined by the concrete towers, noise, crowds, and chain hotels. This is Sipalay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrMarty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Perfect private get-away for divers, who like a laid-back and familiar european attitude. The resort personel are very nice, and the food is very nice too. There is a small pool and a very nice pool-bar, which makes the place the "liveliest" on the beach. Very cozy endeed! Personally I think this is the resort with the best atmosphere, although easy-diving is a bit more upscale when it comes to sunbeds with umbrellas and restaurant.

You practically have a very nice, white beach and calm blue sea with easy diving just in front of the resort all to yourself and the other diver-guests staying at the 2-3 diving-resorts on the beach.

The diving we did was very nice. The macro-diving is great here, but "big fish" diving is not as good as that around Bohol.

If you are not a diver, you must seek solitude to enjoy staying here more than a few days - but the internet works fine :-) There are no turist-attractions of interest in the area, and it takes 3-4 hours of car-driving to reach the beach from Dumaguete or Barcolod.

Room Tip: The cottages have lovely sea-view and small private verandas. They have nice big beds. OK for accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Basic rooms, small pool but nice bar on the beach. Not much else to do if you don't dive, but the dive team are very goodwith plenty of dive sites to visit. No option for other activities such as local town visit. Food was ok but no wi-fi which apparently wasn't their fault.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sipalay
3.3 mi away
Jamont Hotel
Jamont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Sipalay
38 reviews
6.3 mi away
Nabulao Beach and Dive Resort
9.6 mi away
Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nataasan Beach Resort & Dive Center
0.3 mi away
Easy Diving and Beach Resort
89.5 mi away
Whispering Palms Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artistic Diving Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artistic Diving Resort

Address: Punta Ballo, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Sipalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sipalay
Price Range: $33 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artistic Diving Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Artistic Diving Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artistic Diving Hotel Sipalay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing