We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
80
57
19
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
80
57
19
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teppanyaki restaurant lovely ryokan tea coffee great hospitality sister hotel dinner breakfast private room onsen town seafood the river japanese style private onsen skills jelly yamanaka lobby sake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 170 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

I wanted to take my husband to a relaxing trip with lots of good food, and he also wanted to walk around the shopping street nearby. I chose this place because I read that the food here is delicious, and it really was!!

Both dinner and breakfast are full Japanese course. There were several options you can choose for drinks. The seafood is very fresh because this town is located near the sea and is famous for its fishing ports. My husband was very satisfied with both dinner and breakfast. The lady that served us was a very professional nice lady, she moves so fast but elegant, and she explained about every food in detail. The dinner/breakfast place was very spacey so we was not bothered at all by the other people, it felt very private.

We chose a room with a private onsen, and my husband really loves it as well. The onsen in our room is a half-rotenburo (half open air onsen, which means it’s indoor but it has a very big window so you can look at the scenery outside and breath fresh air while enjoying the bath)

This hotel has a sister hotel at the other side of the town, and they provide a free transport between the two hotels for the people who stayed at either of these hotel. We had a little mishap here. We walked along the pathway of the forest nearby to enjoy the autumn leaves and arrived at its sister hotel. We asked the sister hotel’s receptionist whether we can take the free transport back to our hotel because we didn’t want to walk back, and he told us to wait a few minutes since the car is currently out sending someone else back to the hotel. We waited for about 30 minutes and we wondered why the car hasn’t returned yet, and it turns out the receptionist forgot about us lol. He immediately arranged one so we safely returned to our hotel. The staff at our hotel apologized alot for the mishap. I think they were notified of the mistake the sister hotel made because the staff literally ran out of the lobby to welcome us back when they saw our car coming. The service was also really great so we did not feel bitter at all despite the small mistake made by their sister hotel.

They have a free service of Japanese-style snack and tea at the lobby. They also have free foot-onsen near the lobby, and also free rental of yukata (summer kimonos) for women.

Overall it was a very delightful experience: really great full and it feels like we received a lot of hospitality. I will stay in this hotel again if we have another chance to visit Kaga Onsen.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank muuuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Kissho Yamanaka Onsen Hotel is your average, run of the mill onsen hotel, but located slightly away from the main onsen town centre, along the river.

It is nice and quiet, and has adequate baths. Free ice popsicles provided in the bath changing rooms is a nice touch, but does not take away the very average quality of meals served.

Overall, ok for the price, but nothing oustanding.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank j00lic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

located on a very beautiful setting right on the river bank.
beautifully decorated hotel with good spa facility.
It took a while getting there by public transport from Tokyo but the place is well worth it.
the walk along the river is a must activity if the weather is good.

It is a very nice hotel, building and the staffs too. but they try too hard to be extra fancy and ending up giving us too much 'service' which was basically more and more food.
tea and sweets at chack-in, more sweets and fresh fruits in the room as well as tea/coffee and taste of sake, afternoon snack of pancake, after bath ice-lolly and beer, food voucher to use in the town, huge dinner we couldn't finish, more sweets added to the room table on top of the ones we didn't touch earlier, evening snack we didn't even ask for... maybe it's better to think of other 'service' that's not food or drink.

big bath area was clean and really relaxing. and the cnahging room was kept tidy all the time too.
we had our dinner and breakfast in a private room in a restaurant, with a nice view of the small garden. the lady attended our table was professional and friendly with so much extra informations about what we are eating. we had an exelent time at the table with her.
the room we stayed had a big bed and a tatami room for futon-bed space plus small extra room with private outside onsen bath. we stayed as a family of 4 but I think the room was was big enough for few more guests.

we had a good relaxing stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hihiromi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

This is a lovely ryokan in some of the most serene and picturesque surroundings I have ever seen. The staff were very helpful and really tried to make my stay the most pleasant possible, even as a solo traveler with only limited skills in Japanese. Luxurious in the sublime Japanese way, don't set your sights on trying to make this like staying in a western hotel. Immerse yourself in the culture and uniqueness of the location and setting to make your stay all the better.

There are little events throughout the day like afternoon tea, a free glass of beer in the lobby and even live performances to entertain if you don't care to venture out into the nearby (and very cute) town of Yamanaka-onsen.

My stay was a bit pricey because of the high season. I'd love to come back when it's a little less busy. However, the lushness of the landscape and pleasant temperatures make this a very appealing destination in spring. Some of the more traditional Japanese cuisine, like Natto, can take a bit of getting used to and may not fit everyone's taste.

I paid using my American Express card which they were happy to accept.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank W2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018 via mobile

Service is excellent & very thoughtful. There were 2 gentlemen outside the hotel to greet us and help us park our car. There’s complimentary coffee (freshly ground beans), tea and water just after reception & some kind of jelly/aspic in the morning and late afternoon. Guests can partake a complimentary afternoon tea of pancakes (prepared a la minute @ the teppanyaki restaurant) and tea/ coffee between2-4pm. Room is clean and bed linen was clean thick and crisp;though westerners may not be used to the tiny flat pillow but this can be addressed by asking for more pillows. Dinner was kaiseki & it was excellent. So was the Japanese breakfast I opted for. There’s a western option for breakfast . Some staff are able to speak English well while others struggled to communicate ( using Google translate helps)...

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank theworldmyoyester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews