We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Beniya Mukayu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beniya Mukayu
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Kaga
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

After hearing/reading rave reviews of Beniya we had high hopes for our visit, and I'm sorry to say we were disappointed and very glad we only spent one night.
It is an hour away from Kanazawa, too far to be a focal point for sight seeing there. And there's not much to see or do closer. Therefore Beniya is a destination in itself, and an expensive one at that. In our opinion it does not warrant the special trip or price.
The facilities are in need of a facelift. Throughout the common areas and rooms we found worn carpets and floors, scuffed walls, mildew smells (my shower was expecially bad) and evidence of mold. Much different than what is portrayed in the photos. Same with the views. There are a couple beautiful trees to see out the windows but that's about it. No real garden and plenty of ugly buildings. The walk to the incline to town is extremely ugly.
Service was mixed. The owner is wonderful - sweet and friendly - yoga with her is a treat. Many of her staff are also very gracious, but a few are decidedly not.
I had a very hard time finding someone to answer a couple questions around 6:30pm - multiple calls and visits to the front desk were unanswered - where was everyone?!
Food was also mixed. Kaiseki style with many small offerings. Breakfast was consistently delicious but dinner was not - a few items were fantastic, but many were mediocre. All were beautifully presented, but some just didn't taste very good.
We both had massages in the spa (22,000Y each for 90mins, so very expensive). The therapists were excellent, but the futon set up was extremely uncomfortable (face down on a futon without a face cradle). I went into the massage with a stiff neck and came out worse.

So all in all, I'd give Beniya about a B- grade. Not bad, but for the price and the location it really needs to get an A to be worth it. There are ryokans in Kyoto at the same price point that are MUCH better in every regard - and they're in Kyoto, not in the middle of nowhere.

Oh and you should be aware that they are very strict about the 3pm checkin and 11am checkout (they say they need 4hrs to change the soaking tubs -?). You should do your best to arrive & depart close to those times because there will be no flexibility or much hospitality outside those hours. The morning we were leaving we received a call confirming our 1:30pm pickup and were told we could "check out" then. We took that to mean we could stay in the room - definitely not. (not sure what they meant by "check out" - sit in the lobby? I would hope that would be allowed). At 11:30am a series of progressively nasty calls began. Not a great way to end our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    39
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nimes, France
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beniya Mukaya is a delightful small hotel about an hour from Kanazawa by car. It is hidden in a wooded residential area on the outskirts of Kaga and some of the neighbouring buildings are fairly ugly but once inside the hotel grounds one is in a different world.
The staff are absolutely charming and go out of their way to help. The level of english spoken varies from fluent to basic but with a little patience there was no request that they did not try to fulfill. The building is about 3 years old and the architect has done a superb job of melding the japanese design aesthetic with western comforts. Out japanese style room was huge with both a tatami matted sleeping area and a bamboo floored sitting area with western chairs - good for creaky western joints!. The bathroom layout cleverly bridged the inside / outside divide with a very efficient shower to use to and from the outside private onset pool on the balcony. A small kitchen area allowed the preparation on tea and coffee to accompany the japanese snacks provided each day.

Unlike more traditional japanese inns, meals are served in an extremely attractive dining room amid a forest of slender columns. Dinner is traditional kaiseki and changes each day to make use of local seasonal ingredients. Breakfast is either japanese or western - the japanese version was superb, probably the best japanese style breakfast I have had in two decades of trips to japan.

We did not try the spa but it has recently won an award and looks very inviting.

Our only regret - two nights was not long enough!

Room Tip: Japanese style rooms are huge and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muchtravelled001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beniya, オーナー at Beniya Mukayu, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your comment.
We are also very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We are making extra attention on using the most fresh seasonal ingredients and we are really happy that you noticed that.
We will be more than happy to welcome you always at Beniya Mukayu.
If you need assistance, please feel free to contact us anytime.

Thanks very much,
Kazunuri Nakamichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

One day stay in Beniya Mukayu was the highlight of our honeymoon trip to Japan and the only thing we regret is that we didn't stay longer. We stayed in a large traditional Japanese suit, kindly upgraded by the owner, Nakamichi-san, once he learned that we were on our honeymoon. We fully enjoyed in-suit private hot bath with the spring-water, admiring the view over the garden. Another thing we really loved was traditional kimonos and sandals (flip-flops) – all the guests were dressed traditionally in the hotel, also for dinner and breakfast, which made overall experience very special. By the way, the place is off the beaten track, so for foreign visitors it’s a great opportunity to explore luxury Japan the way (wealthy) locals do. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beniya, Manager at Beniya Mukayu, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Oleg M,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are indeed very proud of our onsen and I am very glad that you have enjoyed it. It is our pleasure that you enjoyed your stay at Beniya Mukayu and I hope all the best for you and your partner.

Best Regards,
Kazunari Nakamichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We experienced a wonderful night at Beniya Mukayu and highly recommend this exceptional experience. The food was amazing -- local, fresh and seasonal seafood that was presented in such a beautiful manner that even my eleven year old was mesmerized. The spa was magical, yoga in the morning was an ideal start to the day, and the tea ceremony that was hosted by the owner, was something we will never forget. The rooms were clean and stylish, yet comfortable and authentic. Once you check in, you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beniya, Owner at Beniya Mukayu, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear richard w,

Thank you for your praises. It is so encouraging to receive positive comments especially about our cuisine and spa. It is me and my wife's pleasure to present the tea ceremony and yoga for your family, I am glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you again.

Best Regards,
Kazunari Nakamichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you want to experience something special and authentic in Japan this is the place to come to. Welcoming, calming, zen experience, fabulous rooms, they thought of everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay. Cuisine is also exquisite. Even if you have just one night free in japan, I suggest you come here, worth every penny. Pack light, they provide a lovely Yukata which everyone. Easy to get to, great places to visit close by especially Kanazawa. GO, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Western style room. Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beniya, Owner at Beniya Mukayu, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Mr NevineS

Greetings from Beniya Mukayu. Thank you for your recent stay at Beniya Mukayu. I am glad you had the zen experience, as this is our core philosophy. It is my honor to hear you that have enjoyed your stay and will let our team members know they contributed to your wonderful experience. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,
Kazunari Nakamichi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let me say from the start that I have been to several high-end ryokan in Japan already, and Benyia Mukayu ranks among the very best of them. The hotel is beautifully designed, with a restrained, zen-like elegance. We had a spacious Japanese-style suite with a view on a lush garden. Each room is equipped with a private onsen on a veranda. The common bath rooms are spacious with both an inside and outside pool, as well as a sauna. Everything is very well maintained and care is taken of the smallest details. After we arrived, we were offered to participate in a tea ceremony performed by the owner in a small tea house in the garden. He is extremely good at it, and we were given beautiful tea bowls to drink from. The owner's wife offers a yoga class every morning before breakfast. Both speak excellent English and personally see that every guest is comfortable. It was easy to communicate, as also several staff members speak English well.
The meals have a very high standard. I go to high-end restaurants relatively often and I would say that the kitchen easily has Michelin one star quality. Some dishes went even beyond this. In addition to Sake and Shochu, there is a good selection of wines and champagnes. In contrast to many high-end ryokan, the meals are not brought to your room, but served in a dining room. This way they can ensure that everything comes fresh out of the kitchen, plus the dining room is very elegant.
The attention to detail is stunning. For example, the bathroom amenities contain soaps and lotions of very high quality. A selection oils is available for a fragrance diffuser. At night a roll of maki sushi is provided in case you should get hungry, etc.
In summary, this is a first-rate ryokan that feels luxurious and relaxing at the same time. The owners really live with it and for it, and this can be felt in every detail. I look forward to coming back during my next trip to Japan!

Room Tip: Sleeping on a futon on tatami mats is much more comfortable than you might think! Choose a Japanese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reiner H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a very minimalist, cleanly designed hotel. The service is welcoming and warm. Its killer app has to be the individual onsen bath in each room, regardless of what type or price of room you are staying in. Being able to get out of bed and jump straight into the bath in the morning is a true luxury. Ditto at night, just before bed. The food is mostly brilliant, and even the western-style breakfast and fruit juices are superb. The only niggle is the bleak view from the rooms of Kaga city, which is a bit soul-less and industrial-looking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaga hotels
Yamashiro Onsen
Yunokuni Tensyo
Yunokuni Tensyo
#4 of 64 in Kaga
246 reviews
Yamashiro Onsen
Araya Totoan
Araya Totoan
#7 of 64 in Kaga
86 reviews
Katayamazu Onsen
Hotel Arrowle
Hotel Arrowle
#5 of 64 in Kaga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yamanaka Onsen
Hanamurasaki
Hanamurasaki
#2 of 64 in Kaga
87 reviews
Yamashiro Onsen
Rurikoh
Rurikoh
#6 of 64 in Kaga
166 reviews
Yamashiro Onsen
Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beniya Mukayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beniya Mukayu

Property: Beniya Mukayu
Address: 55-1-3 Yamashiro Onsen, Kaga 922-0242, Ishikawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Ishikawa Prefecture > Kaga > Yamashiro Onsen
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels / Ryokan in Kaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beniya Mukayu 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ikyu Corporation, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Rakuten so you can book your Beniya Mukayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing