We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
25
24
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
24
6
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 59 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel. We were given a corner room that was spacious and comfortable.

However, we were surprised to find that upon our arrival at the hotel at 7pm, we were told that no dining facility was available in the hotel and were advised to look for restaurants nearby. Unfortunately, the nearby area at lake shibayama was extremely quiet and only two tiny restaurants were available. The one we went to only had 3 tables. The food was like fast food and was very average.

The futon bed was not too comfortable as the mattress was not thick enough.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank RonnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル森本, 女将 at Kohan no Yado Morimoto, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015

This time thank you for having you stay.
Of the meal in a reservation of the machete having been the plan without the meal on that day was not ready.
Please be reserved by a plan of with meal by all means on the next time. I thank for your precious opinion heartily. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

Arrived here after a week and a half of city touring around Japan. This was a great way to unwind from the hectic pace of the cities, onsen was fantastic and the views of Lake Shibayama are a photographers dream. Staff were exceptionally helpful and nothing was too much trouble even with the language barrier,

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル森本, 女将 at Kohan no Yado Morimoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2015

At the time of this trip, thank you for having you stay at our hotel. And
I thank you for having had our hotel do a high evaluation. Thank you very much.
In addition, please drop in if you may come to Japan. I thank for your comment.
                                     keiko morimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

Me and my fiancee stayed in this hotel for one night.

The room is huge, clean and with a high tech toilet, tatami and futon beds.
The onsen in the hotel is amazing and overlooks the beautiful lake. Spacious, with lots of amenities ( brushes, soap, shampoos, hairdryers and so on) and it is super clean. Water is very warm but pleasant.
We have also booked the private onsen for an hour (about 3000 yen)and we have enjoyed it very much. It is very relaxing!!
Staff is very kind and they will make you feel like a v.i.p.! The staff doesnt speak english except for Keiko san, a delightful and kind woman that represents the true spirit of Japanese omotenashi.
We had booked the room with half board and have enjoyed both the dinner and breakfast very much. The food is all local and traditional, and this gives the opportunity to taste exceptional washoku food.
Finally there is also a free transfer for hotel/Kaga station but it needs to be booked in advance contacting the hotel.
We highly recommend staying at Morimoto if you can!
Please bring a japanese/english dictionary (or learn a few useful words in japanese) because staff doesn't speak a lot of english and might not understand you.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Emanuele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル森本, 女将 at Kohan no Yado Morimoto, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2015

Thank you very much for making the high value hospitality in our hotel. I have enjoy itself and is glad about a stay at a Japanese-style hotel.
If there is a chance again, please come. I'm waiting. Thank you very much. keiko morimoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2014

This hotel is a traditional Japanese hotel. Sleep on futons bath in the hot tubs and view the lake from your window. The staff are exceptional and the location has good food establishments. There is a shuttle bus to and from the station and even to restaurants. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is one of several around the lake.

Room tip: Ask for a lake view as every night a fountain lights up making a great view.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GraymanAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル森本, 女将 at Kohan no Yado Morimoto, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2015

This time thank you for having you stay. I am glad to have you enjoy the service of the Japanese style hotel. I thank you for your high evaluation. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The room was amazing, huge, overlooking the lake. The onsen looked just like the pictures on the website, where one could look out onto the lake. Service was attentive, personalized. However, on close examination, parts of the hotel were a little "tired". A wonderful place to relax.

Room tip: Ask for a lake-side view room, although view from others rooms are also good.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJNKSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテル森本, オーナー at Kohan no Yado Morimoto, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

This time thank you for having you stay.
I am glad by splendid comment.
In addition, please stay by all means if you come to Japan.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews