We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
43
22
18
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
22
18
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station kanazawa spring balcony meals japan onsen dinner ryokan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 92 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

I stayed here on my honeymoon, and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was delightful - friendly and hospitable. They went above and beyond to help us out with directions, sightseeing, and making sure we were comfortable. The meals were delicious. This is an excellent place to relax for a few days.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gregor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Gregor N,

Thank you for writing a great review of Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga! It is great news to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service, amenities, and dining options satisfactory for your special celebration. Our services strive to provide an authentic, yet comfortable escape from everyday life for our guests. Congratulations again on your honeymoon, and we hope you choose to stay with us again at one of our unique accommodations on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

My daughter has arranged a fantastic 2 nights mother-daughter get away at the Hoshino Resort in Kaga. The resort staff was polite, professional making our stay memorable and very comfortable. Our room with the bath outside on the balcony was excellent. The food was delicious, perfectly presented in beautiful china. The hot water spa inside and outside was well maintained and clean. Although the size was a bit small, but adequate for the number of visitors. The cultural performance, dance was very much enjoyable and the extra craft activities were delightful as well. The bus transport previously arranged through the resort from and back to Kanazawa was excellent, getting into the train station on time. I wish to thank the staff working at the resort for providing excellent service for guests.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2018

Dear Marta K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a great review! We are very pleased to hear that Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga offered a good experience for you and your daughter. Our services strive to create an authentic and comfortable experience, and we are glad that you were able to have a very comfortable stay with us. Our company has a unique variety of hotels and Japanese inns all throughout Japan. We welcome you to travel around Japan and to stay with us again at one of our hotels in the near future!
Thank you!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2018

Stayed in a room with a private onsen for 4 nights.

Staff led by manager Daisuke Mitsubayashi were of top tier customer service. We were extremely satisfied and felt at home amongst the staff. Examples such as staff noticing a customer needs before the request and doing research for guests on for example, next day plans.

Well designed rooms (power points by the bed, light switches near the head of the bed)
In addition to the above point, the onsen on the balcony was of a constant hot temperature that required no intervention from us to maintain the water level and temperature. It was a sublime feeling to lie in that onsen warm in the cool nights.

The only con I can think of was the wifi was not usable during peak periods and we often had to resort to mobile data.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jchou0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2018

Dear James C

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga. We are very appreciated of your satisfaction with our services by staff members as well as hot spring. In the meantime, your feedback about Wi-Fi is much appreciated as it helps us to focus on what is important to our guests. We hope to deliver a better and seamless experience should you stay with us again in the future. Our company has a unique variety of hotels and Japanese inns all over Japan. We welcome you to travel around Japan and stay with us at one of our hotels again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 1 night there with my friend. The resort was located in Yamashiro hot spring area. So, we had to take a cab from Kaga station to get there(about 15min).

The facility was clean and cozy. The room was a bit tiny, but well situated and well decorated.

They had a tea house you can experience Japanese tea ceremony, which was great. And local lion dance performance at night was good too. I like the way hoshino resorts collaborate with local culture.

The hot spring was a bit tiny, but beautifully decorated with kutaniyaki ceramics on the wall.

I particularly enjoyed their meals. Both dinner breakfast were amazing. The taste was fantastic and the presentation was absolutely beautiful.

Very lovely weekend getaway, thank you so much!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Yeji-Olivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Dear Yeji-Olivia,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our establishment as well as the activities we provide pertaining to local culture. Our services continually strive to allow for a getaway that is both uniquely Japanese and comfortable for all of our guests.
We have a variety of resorts and Japanese inns all over the country and we hope to welcome you back to another one of them again in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017

The hotel itself, is very nice and well appointed. The gardens and common areas are immaculately clean and comfortable. We loved our room and bathroom - we were on the second floor and relished in the urban landscape our our window. It felt more local, like we were part of the city. I am really hoping that the new JR extension to Kagaonsen helps the city with new tourism and can help it come back from the state that it is in currently.

We stayed with Kai Kaga because all of the hotels in Kanazawa were booked. It was an easy 20 minute train ride, which we enjoyed with some sweet treats and sake from the department store downstairs at Kanazawa station.

We arrived on the first day at 2:05pm, and were told that it is not yet check in time, and to return in an hour. We were barely welcomed over the threshold of the hotel. We also didn't realize during booking that our rate had included the first night of Kaiseki cuisine. When we returned from a day of sightseeing and dining in the city, we were informed that we could still have dinner and felt badly that we missed it. We wish they would have told us when we arrived that dinner would be served that evening so we did not miss it. It was our fault, but it didn't feel like great service when we first arrived.

Japanese breakfast was very tasty, and it is served in private rooms on their dining floor.

Cab rides to and from the Kagaonsen train station are about $20 USD... If you are coming to see Kanazawa, I would recommend Kai Kaga, just be prepared for the taxi fare and train schedule.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank caramianyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoshino_Resorts, お客様担当マネージャー at Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Dear caramianyc,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hoshino Resorts KAI Kaga. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities including the garden and your room. Our accommodations indeed strive to create an atmosphere that allows our guests to enjoy the local culture, and to feel at home in the area.
We also sincerely apologize for any misunderstandings you may have experienced upon check-in. Your concerns in regard to being informed about the Kaiseki meals will be shared with our staff members.
We have a variety of accommodations all over Japan, and we hope to see you again at another one of them in the near future!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews