We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely Place with Mouth Watering Food”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kedige Homestay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gokarna, Dakshina Kannada District, Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MerwinFer...
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homely Place with Mouth Watering Food”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our family of 4, with 2 teenage children, stayed at Kedige during June. While our initial impression of the place based on location and surrounding ambience was not very encouraging, it quickly changed drastically within a day's stay. While on one side we were truly overwhelmed by the genuinely warm and homely welcome by the host - Prakash & his wife - who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable; the food on the other was simply extraordinary. All of us love sea food and have had the opportunity of tasting a variety of sea food preparations across the entire coast from Goa to Coastal Karnataka to Kerala. But what Prakash & his wife dished out was unique. Its the kind of food that you cannot get in any restaurant or any commercial set up but only your mother or grand mother can prepare. Truly homely and amazing food. The fact that Mr. Prakash is also a wholesaler in sea food ensures that the sea food is also very fresh. So overall it was a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: THe Homely Atmosphere and Great Food
Liked least: The location and surrounding ambience
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRABHAKAR...
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Extended Home”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our extended family of 9 adults and 2 children were on a tour of temples and stopped by at this place for two nights. Mr Prakash Shanbag, who is the owner of this property welcomed us and helped along with his sons to settle down. We had occupied the entire property consisting of three rooms that are let out normally, on the first floor of the house. Mr Shanbag spent quality time with us in guiding us to the temples nearby and in kumta town, scenic spots on the beach, the closest being just about 8 minutes walk from kedige, etc., The beach is a great place for morning walks and on your way, one can come across vegetable gardens which are organically produced.

The food that was served was simply awesome that had a right balance of Veg and Non-veg dishes. The seafood served was really fresh and we had an opportunity to eat crabs, prawns and other varieties of fish. The vegetarian food had all the local vegetables that were organically grown in the nearby field as well as in their home.

The stay was very comfortable, clean bed and linen, toilets etc., Some of us slept on the open terrace which we found it really good

Kumta is also known for a particular variety of onion which goes well with the seafood preparation. We carried back home almost 15 kgs of those onions. We also purchased cashews nut which is another local produce. We also visited an ice cream parlour called Shimla ice cream which is really good. Please don't miss out a variety called Gad-Bad.

In case you don't have any of your relatives/family do not any longer live in small towns or villages, head to kedige and you will not be disappointed with the experience and hospitality. Mr Shanbag ensures the personal touch during your entire stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hospitality and Food
Liked least: Nothing in particular
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrita29t...
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable urban experience with great food”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Hi,
Im the kind of traveller who enjoys culture and meeting different people. This was a complete family experience because the host made me feel like home.Mr Prakash is really jovial, Mrs Pragnya is sweet and a really awesome cook. I got to eat some Konkoni sea food delicacies which is rare to find( Mangalorian cuisine being different ) What better way to eat local food than a heartily home prepared meal.

Apart from the home stay the beach near by is really serene and sunset is just peaceful. I was lucky to have the whole beach for myself :) The local town Kumta has some interesting art work to see like sandalwood carving, nice temples with some unique art work.

I highly recommend this place for a non touristy sort of visit but more of an exploration kind of journey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people and food
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhatang_D...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene and tasty! :p”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Based closed to the Kumta shore, kedige is a home away from home.... With a awesome beach!!

Add to that Kumta's signature 'Shimla' ice-cream... Mrs. Prajna'a brilliant cooking, the owner Prakash's jovial presence and this forms one of the best home-stay experiences I've had so far...


Did I mention Mrs. Prajna's cooking?! Do make it amust do if you visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing