We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, sylvan surroundings”
Review of Om Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Om Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool, sylvan surroundings”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for a night in the cottage here. very spacious rooms, with a sit out, living room space, bed room and bath room. All these were very clean and neatly maintained. Excellent food, cordial staff. The resort is set in the midst of a lot of greenery, 5kms from om beech. lots of place to walk around and chill out.

Room Tip: All are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajithsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    32
    12
    3
See reviews for
47
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the kind of places I really like to stay at when I am in India.Usually hotel rooms in the big/medium cities are something very depressive...but resorts, sometimes are so unexpectedly good and regenerating.Here you have cottage-rooms with a magiacal view of the greenery and the sea on the background. Furniture is rather basic, no service at all (you can't even call anyone, I used my mobile to call the frontdesk, but usually noone is there!), but forget it, after all you are in Gokarna!! Enjoy the silence and the birds singing, internet you will find only in the town, down the hill...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monfred_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at Om Beach resort for 2 nights during early Feb 2013. My experience at this place was wonderful with a unique combination of a jungle stay in a hill top with Arabian sea visible at a distance.

The resort is at a remote place away from the small Gokarna town. Facilities were very good. We were given separate villa to stay with very large rooms, front veranda etc. The property is in good shape, though it might need some repair work. The food served was very good.

The sea was visible at a distance from the dining hall and we observed a perfect sunset. The hotel provides jeep for the guests to the OM beach and back. The charge for the stay includes accommodation, food and the trip to the nearby OM beach. We also enjoyed visiting the small Gokarna town with narrow streets, temple and hippies. The resort is also a nice place for bird watching.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biswadeep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

As most of the Jungle Lodges and Resorts (JLR) were booked in December, we had booked a one day stay at Om beach resorts which is presently maintained by JLR. If you want to stay away from civilisation then this is the place to be. The place is far from the beach, remote area, approach road pathetic, no service, bad food, no entertainment. old rooms which are not maintained well. If your plan of relaxation is sleeping then this is the best place to be. The saving grace is that their spa service was good even though the infrastructure was pathetic. Not in the league of a JLR property.

Room Tip: Think twice before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sathish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gokarna hotels

Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

good place for a perfect stay..It was good to stay at the place with good location.. Food quality is poor. Hardly you will see people eating in restaurant there.good place for a perfect stay..It was good to stay at the place with good location.. Food quality is poor. Hardly you will see people eating in restaurant there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki_delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we took off on an impromptu roadtrip from someshwar, mangalore up the coast of karnataka. a horrendous mistake was made in stopping over in murudeshwar and we had one day left and i wanted at least one decent place to sleep and relax...i had a copy of the latest Travel & Leisure mag that mentioned Om Beach Resort...so i just put it in my gps and we were off. Was greeted very nicely by the front desk, a cottage ready immediately and it was just perfect. Yes, there is chipped paint, wear & tear but when one travels in india...one must be ready for sometimes not perfect. it had a clean bed, ac, huge bathroom with western toilet and the BELOVED toilet paper and complete serenity of the hills of gokarna. the food was excellent, esp for us vegetarians. i wouldnt mind staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had visited Om beach resort last year with my friends. Property location is good and has good greenery around it but they have not maintained the French cottages, Food quality is poor. Hardly you will see people eating in restaurant there.

This resort on website shows many things but be careful with website, you may not find the same in reality.

Room Tip: Think and book. I you have better choice then Om beach in Gokarna, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Avinash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gokarna
0.7 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
22.8 mi away
Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Gokarna
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 33 in Gokarna
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
#3 of 33 in Gokarna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Beach Resort

Property: Om Beach Resort
Address: Om Beach Road,Bangle Gudde, Gokarna 581326, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Khashi of South India", Gokarna lies at the confluence of the Aghanashini and Gangavalli rivers and is cradled between the Sahyadri's and the Arabian Sea. Its timeless temples and beguiling beaches draw a steady stream of pilgrims and tourists. The Om Beach that traces the shape of the Hindu symbol Om is the most popular of Gokarna's Beaches and lends its name to the Om Beach Resort perched on the slopes of hillock overlooking a verdant valley. While Gokarna's temples transcend eras its beaches are throbbing with life. The famous Om Beach, the less known Kudle Beach, the quiet Half Moon Beach and the pristine Paradise Beach are four scenic strips of sand, sandwiched between the hills and the sea. The villages of Sanikatta and Tadadi are located in close proximity to Gokarna. Manufacturing salt for over three centuries, Sanikatta is the oldest salt manufacturing site in Karnataka. Tadadi has a fishing harbour and a fish processing plant set up through an Indo-Danish collaboration. With rugged trekking trails and great outdoors, the adventurous can embark on paths of discovery in and around Gokarna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Om Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Om Beach Hotel Gokarna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing