We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but poor service, poor maintainence”
Review of Om Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gokarna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Om Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had visited Om beach resort last year with my friends. Property location is good and has good greenery around it but they have not maintained the French cottages, Food quality is poor. Hardly you will see people eating in restaurant there.

This resort on website shows many things but be careful with website, you may not find the same in reality.

Room Tip: Think and book. I you have better choice then Om beach in Gokarna, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Avinash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 124 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were 3 families and got the booking done thru Kairali, Mr. Prabhu and Mr. Pavan. The package was Rs. 3000/- for 2 nights and 3 days stay and complimentary for kids. Our trouble started after we paid the MONEY......
They never gave the dates we wanted and allotted as per their requirements. After several mails, phones we fixed the dates and we booked a TT from Bangalore so as to reach resort by 5 am. Just an hour we were to start, we were told the check in time was at 12 pm!!!! never told to us by their sales team nor the resort team. So we planned to refresh at Udupi and we reached resort at 3 pm.
Rooms are ok, interiors definitely requires to be replaced and furniture are less said the better. The positives are the resort is spacious, well landscaped, en route to OM Beach and have a decent restaurant.
On the day of departure... we were shocked as we were billed for kids too as they charged extra for kids without giving any amenities a whooping 50% of the tariff. In total it was coming more than twice the package we were offered.
We were requesting them to talk to the Kairali representative who sold us the voucher but they refused saying that they are not their direct employee. It was a real horrible situation and they closed the gates thereby not allowing us to move out of the resort. At last after we stood firm on the commitment made by Kairali rep and they spoke to their team and they accepted.
Please be careful on the vouchers... check and be firm on the dates you require, check in and check out timings, kids charges etc and take it in writing from OM Beach Resort ( NOT FROM KAIRALI ) before paying. Once paid then we are at their mercy. It will be impossible to contact the Kairali guy/ Mr. Pavan who has sold the vouchers.
Apart from the above inconvenience.. the resort is OK and it is great to be in GOKARNA :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank kamsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The resort is well placed on hills of Om Beach a nice place to relax and enjoy , good restaurant with good value for price , Don't not Expect Star Facilities here but good basic services and place , the Beach is worth sitting around for its calmness , there is water Sport facilities also

Room Tip: Take rooms near the beach cottages, They build temporal cottages ask if they are available if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohan_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We opted to stay in this place after going through many options online. The response from the booking office was very prompt and timely.
The place in itself is nice and in the midst of nature. The cottages/villa are well placed and built for lavish stay. They are big and surrounded by good greenary and that's the USP of the hotel. The whole properly is maintained well, the cottages are also in decent shapes but it still needs a little tidyness. The wires of phone and TV cable are hanging around and the coushions in living room need desparate change. Phone in our room was not working which made us walk till the restaurant or reception for any small room service. Another put off was that they serve only one water bottle per room per day, so you alway have to pay for water bottles, which is double the MRP rate. The food served for breakfast is good but a-la-carte food or buffet meal is only edible not more than that.
On positive side one can sit in foyer of the cottage sipping tea and watch some exotic birds fly around. We spotted hornbills while having our cup of tea.
The OM beach is about 3 kms from this place.

Room Tip: Select rooms which are closer to reception and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deshiashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Om Beach resort is one of the best places to stay in Gokarna. The staff are friendly and very helpful, the villas are huge and make us feel at home. Would definitely visit this place again as a family!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnmanoahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this resort around the last week of January for a night. We were on a road trip across India and happened to reach this place because It had adequate parking.

Driving down from south goa to gokarna was a nice experience. We stayed here only for a night but i enjoyed my stay here.

Thanks to the watchman at the gate. He gave our vehicle a good wash on request and also must say he was the most courteous of all the staff there...

The resort is a bit expensive but if it is in one's budget, i think its a nice, quiet and serene place. Though its not close to the beach or has a beach view, somehow it felt like a nice hotel in the hills rather!:)

Alls good at this place except that the food could be priced better and also the toilets though big...could be a little more tasteful!")Final word---highly recommended...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NRSGTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

It was nice to stay there, the whole cottage was fully covered with pretty gardens, nice atmosphere.
The rooms were good, but need to have some improvements.
The food items were also good enough, still they could have more items.
The room service was fine.
But while roaming the city, Gokarna, the resort could have arranged some vehicles. Because, every time we had to hire auto while going out as we were not having our own car at that time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Hussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gokarna
0.3 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
0 mi away
Shri Umamaheshwar Cottages
22.6 mi away
Leisure Vacations Westend, Karwar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
91 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
#3 of 39 in Gokarna
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Namaste Yoga Farm
Namaste Yoga Farm
#2 of 39 in Gokarna
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Om Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Om Beach Resort

Address: Om Beach Road,Bangle Gudde, Gokarna 581326, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Price Range: $92 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Om Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Khashi of South India", Gokarna lies at the confluence of the Aghanashini and Gangavalli rivers and is cradled between the Sahyadri's and the Arabian Sea. Its timeless temples and beguiling beaches draw a steady stream of pilgrims and tourists. The Om Beach that traces the shape of the Hindu symbol Om is the most popular of Gokarna's Beaches and lends its name to the Om Beach Resort perched on the slopes of hillock overlooking a verdant valley. While Gokarna's temples transcend eras its beaches are throbbing with life. The famous Om Beach, the less known Kudle Beach, the quiet Half Moon Beach and the pristine Paradise Beach are four scenic strips of sand, sandwiched between the hills and the sea. The villages of Sanikatta and Tadadi are located in close proximity to Gokarna. Manufacturing salt for over three centuries, Sanikatta is the oldest salt manufacturing site in Karnataka. Tadadi has a fishing harbour and a fish processing plant set up through an Indo-Danish collaboration. With rugged trekking trails and great outdoors, the adventurous can embark on paths of discovery in and around Gokarna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Om Beach Hotel Gokarna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing