We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great escape”
Review of SwaSwara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SwaSwara
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great escape”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The personal care and service that is bestowed upon one at Swaswara goes way beyond one's expectations. We were bowled over by the dedication of the staff who were intent upon making sure that one's every need was taken care of. The accommodation in the villas built in the traditional style of the area is both luxurious and spacious.Being so close to Om Beach was a real plus as we were able to enjoy magical sunsets on the beach.. The food was delicious, the yoga classes invigorating and all the treatments we signed up for in the Ayurvedic clinic were of a very high standard. A perfect place to nurture your mind, body and spirit. A great escape from the trials and tribulations of everyday living in a hectic city

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
36
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at Swaswara in May which is a low season due to which there were very few rooms occupied. But the place is just fantastic. The moment you enter your room it takes you aback. You have your own courtyard with a beautiful lawn and private spaces. A private yoga room on the first floor allows you to do your Yoga when there aren't any classes.
Being a lifestyle resort they concentrate on cleansing of body and soul. They do it well with fantastic Yoga and Ayurveda massages. Totally rejuvernates your body and soul.
Food is cooked only from fresh pick and catch, and cooked in the most healthy ways, yet a fantastic when comes to taste and has a lot of varieties. We enjoyed joining in a couple of cooking experiences where we learnt interesting recepies.
The hospitality is the best in all of the CGH earth group hotels, as I have been fortunate to stay in a few of them where we felt the same warmth.
The location too is amazing. It located on the Om beach of Gokarna. A beautiful beach in the shape of the "Om" and thats where it gets it name

Room Tip: All rooms are the same but the wing towards its water harvesting ponds have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank reenasadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed at Swaswara in jannauary 2011 for two weeks, my first time there, and it's really a special place. Beautifull accomodations, each one with a private internal garden patio,lot of internal and external space, great views, confort. The hole atmospher is very relaxed and quite, so rare in India, it's not an usual hotel, it is really a sort of retreat place. Yoga classes are taken at different time af the day, and for different levels. Everybody is free to choose the day schedule.
A part from enchanting location, on a privat hill decending to the sea, what i really liked is the food. Food is excellent, fresh, good quality and nicely prepared with a different daily menu. You never get bored, and you can choose between the veg and fish delicatessen. the special ivening dinners at the beach arealso atreat.
i particulalryliked the possibility to join a sort of "talkers common table" in the evening, wich make it very interesting for the solo traveller, like me in the occasion, to meet other guests.
Service, generally speaking, is really attentive and nice, and the property has a high maitainance level.The village of Gokarna nearby is deffinitly interesting to visit, as well as day beach trips.
I definitly raccomand it and i will go back in the future.
Alberta, Italy

Room Tip: rooms all the same, I preferedd the ones facinf the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ayla967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Beautiful architecture that reminds you of a floating kerela house boat. It uplifts you inside and outside with its theme of cleansing the body mind and soul.
Food thats marry's the theme in every way full of flavour .
So self contained yet very expansive .
A perfect place to unwind forever......

Room Tip: All rooms a great must use the upstairs balcony with an extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juneja_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

had the chance to stay there for 5 nights in May. I just loved the space and the clean beach. I liked the fusion food, which is not typically Indian. For me it was the lightest Indian Cuisine ever eaten in India. Having lived for 16 years jn India this should mean something! Would just to go there again, meditate, create. relax and recharge.
Anyone wishing really to recharge the batteries, this is the place. There are lots of Offerings like Yoga, Meditation, Art, cooking classes and Ayurveda. Just be your own Guru and pick what you like!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beatg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights at the Swaswara Hotel in Gokarna. We wouldnt go again. Here's why:

Whats good:

- The houses overviewing the water are REALLY nice. You have a lot of privacy. The rooms are clean and tidy. Every evening they "smoke" out the houses because of the mosquitos and prepare the beddings. If you like quietness and privacy these houses are for you.

- The Yoga classes are well organized and invite you to some good sessions. The teachers were professionals and very helpful also with Yoga beginners.

Whats bad:

- Everything ordered "out of the program" during dinner IS A PROBLEM. You would like to have Lassi...."We dont have Lassi..." I'd like to have some Chapathi with my meal "Sorry, no Chapathi tonight..." "Can I have some additional meal, because after the little portion I'm still hungry.....*frowning waiter brings reluctantly a second serving*

You would like to have some Aloo Parantha or Masala Dosa for breaktfast? Forget it..."We only have the 2 options on the billboard..." so I cant have a scrambled egg or so? "No, just the 2 menu options on the billboard"

THIS IS INDIA AND YOU DONT HAVE ANY CHAPATHI FOR MEAL, LASSI or Parantha??

- Coconuts: While the management boasts having plenty of coconut trees and you really see a lot of coconuts around....ordering a fresh coconut is again a PROBLEM. Why? Because they need someone to come "extra" to cut the coconuts. *facepalm*

- Want a Snack? Well....thats not so much of a problem, if they have it in stock. Pineapple works, Cookies? "We dont have" After I saw a waiter bringing COOKIES with tea to the Managers office I just intercepted him and politely but firmly asked for some cookies with tea....

- Not paying guests: Well, another fine topic. The week we were staying some bunch of young people (10 people around 17 or so) were enjoying their stay at the hotel....plunging into the pool, being noisy!, eating dinner and so forth. Nothing special...right? Well, expect that we were told that one of the kids was the son of the owner and that he was staying here with his friends for a couple of days.

- Summary: Everything around food is a problem. You eat what is being served....everything else is just a hassle. Expect no 5-star service here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank Eloriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Not too many properties deserve the tag of being destinations in themselves, but Swaswara in Gokarna, Karnataka does. A CGH Earth resort, it sets standards in hotel design and service. Of course, being set against the beautiful Om Beach on the foothills of the Western Ghats only adds to it attractiveness.

SwaSwara means the inner voice of the self and, if you allow yourself, you can hear some of it while here. Yes, the yoga and meditation sessions give you a helping hand, but it the environment you are in that really makes a difference.

Morning starts with windchimes playing against the fresh breeze - the music touches you deep within. It is all you hear at that time. And then meditation on a hill facing a vast Arabian Sea in front with the sun rising behind only uplifts you further. I had been bothered with a niggling lower back pain for many days. Meditation enabled me to focus on the energy centres on my lower spine; it allowed me to imagine the deep ocean soothing it and the waves massaging it. I am not exaggerating when I say I got cured. Was it the yoga guru, my meditation (it was the first time I meditated in my life) or the place - or a combination of all? Swaswara can claim credit for bringing it all together.

Here is more on the property:

* Accommodation: If they were selling one of their 24 Konkan villas, I would be the first to buy one. My villa had an air-conditioned bedroom with a room over it with lounge chairs for reading. There is an open to sky courtyard, leading down to a semi covered verandah with work tables and chairs, a coffee and tea making bar, a refrigerator and easy chairs to stretch on. It opened into a man-made lake. The bathroom was open to the sky. Made in a traditional style, the villas have high quality furnishings and fittings and all modern comforts.
* Location: A perfect setting along the Om beach in Gokarna. Accessible by air through Goa (170 kms / 106 miles) or Mangalore (240 kms / 150 miles) airports.
* Activities: Life may seem to move in slow motion at SwaSwara, but there sure is enough to keep you busy. You can practice yoga and meditation - you can choose levels and what kind. Yoga includes gentle or advanced yoga, Laughter yoga, Pranayama, Yoga Nidra and Art yoga. You can also go for Chanting Meditation, Trataka, Mind Sound Resonance Technique, Chakra Meditation or Breath Awareness. You can spend time with the resident artists and create something of your own - using clay, colours or mud. And leave it behind for others to see. A massage at the Ayurveda centre can be a great way to wind down at the end of it all.
* What else can you do? Besides the structured activities, you can take a walk in the ‘kitchen gardens’ of SwaSwara where many a chemical free fruit and vegetable are sourced for your meals. Listen to the birds and spot them too. Lie back on the hammocks with a cool drink and a book, or get involved in a game of kabaddi. Swim in the sea, sunbathe on the Om beach or follow a trail through hilly forests to other beaches around. Join the cooks in the kitchen and learn while you help them prepare a meal.
* Food: Swaswara offers you meals keeping the following in mind: “They say partaking of a diet such as ours helps in the development of ‘prana’ or vital energy and spiritual consciousness, while encouraging the development of the higher qualities of peace, love and humility.” So what does this diet include? Chefs mostly use fruits and vegetables grown on their own farms or in nearby fields, all without the use of chemicals and in clean soil. Their said objectives can be met only when their chefs prepare meals “using natural foods grown in harmony with nature, ripened naturally on good soil and cooked in the right manner, with the right attitude.” The menu may not look like something you are familiar with, and some of your taste buds may raise questions, but you will leave the dining room pleased with what you had.
* Shopping: It is easy to be skeptical of high priced shops in hotels, but the one in Swaswara is different. Reasonably priced, it spoils you for choice and quality of goods. You can shop for toys, clothes, gifts, handicrafts and more - it is very difficult to hold yourself back.
* Service: Impeccable. All staff are soft-spoken, well groomed, and always alert to your needs. They are knowledgeable, friendly and will not give you reasons to fault them.

Swaswara may be a catalyst for you to hear your inner voice, but what you achieve depends on you. They may offer yoga, meditation and art, but it is for you to attend or not. The place has energy, it is for you to use it to uplift your body, soul and mind.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kunzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gokarna
1.6 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
24.3 mi away
Jungle Lodges Devbagh Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Gokarna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Om Beach Resort
Om Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Gokarna
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 32 in Gokarna
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
#3 of 32 in Gokarna
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SwaSwara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SwaSwara

Property: SwaSwara
Address: Om Beach, Donibhail | Gokarna, Gokarna 581326, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Gokarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — SwaSwara 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SwaSwara, which means "My Inner Sound," you can start a journey - to your self. A journey for your mind body and soul. The well being holiday offerings from this CGH Earth Experience include yoga, meditation, Ayurveda, naturopathy, nature walks, art yoga, swimming pool,organic farming &interactive kitchen.SwaSwara is a celebration of simplicity and purity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your SwaSwara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swaswara Hotel Gokarna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing