We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nirvarna cafe and guest house”
Review of Nirvana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gokarna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nirvana
Gokarna, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nirvarna cafe and guest house”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hey Peeps, as most of you will know Northern Goa is finished (or is that Goa-ski) and South Goa can be a bit pricey. If your looking for beach paradise come to Gokarna in Karnataka, just an hour south on the train (Station Gokarna Road). Town is an Indian pilgrimage mecca, srtict veg, couple of decent restaurants but the beach is pretty grotty. Take a rickshaw to OM BEACH (200 rups) and come to NIRVARNA guest house and restaurant. The place is lovely with a beautiful cultivated garden in the back with accomodation ranging from basic Coco huts to attatched bungalows. We share the bathrooms which we don't usually do but they are so clean here!! The staff are lovely and there is internet/WiFi/Travel Agency in back. Definately the nicest place on the beach. Head for the SECOND curve of Om Beach for the backpacker places. DO NOT stay a Namaste as it is dirty, expensive and FULL of Russians (AAAGH!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesandmikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for ten nights at this wonderful place and can just highly recommend it. Nice environment, clean rooms, good service, helpful stuff...
We considered us very lucky to get the last room there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely guesthouse. rooms are basic but clean, good restaurant.
The place offers laundry services, travelling agency and an internet room. good value for money (we paid 600 for a room with a private bathroom.
Best place in Om beach!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namasteka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived two weeks before Christmas and had no problems finding accommodation anywhere on the beach, but we had a gut feeling about Nirvana. Despite it being a bit more pricey for the rooms, we went for the few bamboo huts, and stayed for a month!! You get what you pay for here I believe, the cleanliness standards and maintenance of the gardens are greater than the other places to stay and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The food is also very good, particularly the fish and the tandoori clay oven (perfect for power cuts when you need a pizza!). The one setback I would say is the mosquito nets are a little awkward, they are the kind set in a semi-circle that you fold back to get out, so doesn't seem so safe. Luckily we had our own, and the bamboo huts have plenty of poles etc. to put up a mosquito net.. hammock.. everything is possible it seems...

Room Tip: If the bamboo huts are in season, get them!! Otherwise, all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gokarna, India
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

When we came to Om beach we had not booked anything in advance and were lucky to get the last room on the beach, one night at Nirvana. We have now stayed for a week, tried different rooms and we've been happy with all of them. The people working here are so friendly and they take very good care of us. Look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marreplutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I arrived here with my girlfriend after a long day of traveling from place to place.
We were immediately introduced to a nice cosy room with a built in mosquito net to supply us with extra safety.
Service was extremely good we felt a genuine feeling of honesty and caring.
especially the friendly waiter Raj who gave excellent service and supplied us with fascinating stories.
but i dont want to take anything from the other guys here who gave the same kind of feeling and were extremely helpful regarding all our desires, from getting kindling to start a fire or organizing our next destination.
Dont forget about the excellent food the place has to offer, with a very rich menu.
we recommend the grilled chicken and king fish which were delicious.
The beautiful garden adds a very nice feeling to this place.
in conclusion if you ever find yourself in om beach, this is the place to stay in!

Room Tip: we stayed in an actual room rather than the hut, we paid 400 rupees for a night which is an excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Mclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gokarna, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wow, we liked it so much, that we stayed 5 weeks. The crew is verry good and we also had decent meals. It is a bit more pricy, but worth it. Because the place has a nice garden, which is cleaned every day. You have internet, laundry, an excellent travelservice. the travelers here are mixed in age and all are nice and friendly.
the motto: everything is possible!
we fellt like home and save.

Room Tip: The bungalows 10-15 are very comfortable with own bathroom and veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank november2013reise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gokarna hotels
1.6 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
1.5 mi away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 33 in Gokarna
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
Kudle Ocean Front Resort
#3 of 33 in Gokarna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
Arthigamya Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Gokarna
33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Namaste Yoga Farm
Namaste Yoga Farm
#2 of 33 in Gokarna
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana

Property: Nirvana
Address: Om Beach, Gokarna, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Gokarna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing