We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Namaste Cafe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gokarna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namaste Cafe
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Gokarna
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We got a pretty cheap rate for this hotel so were pleasantly surprised that the rooms were quite good. However the food was not upto the mark except the daily breakfast. I would recommend the hotel for people looking for really budget rates, but comfortable and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MAPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    129
    67
    15
    44
See reviews for
25
77
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The first place you come across as you enter Om Beach. May is off-season and it was unfortunately the only place open on Om Beach so I didn't get to look at anything else.

Plus points first. Good food, acceptable service, affordable rates.
Minus points. Extremely unhygienic sanitary conditions, unclean bed linen, insects in the rooms, flies, dogs, cats pretty much most domestic animals in the premises.

Unless you are renting out a high end room (<700 rupees), the bathrooms have flimsy roofs that are open at the sides and you feel quite insecure in them. Water drainage is rudimentary at best and attracts all sorts of fauna frogs, preying mantis, grasshoppers etc. Bed full of bed bugs.

A single room with bath cost me 400 Indian bucks a day. In short, cheap but hazardous!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waisenkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

12 of us were here for a relaxed weekend. The best thing about this place is that its almost on the beach. Continental food they serve is also good. The huts where we stayed were average for the price they charge.
What annoyed me was that Indians were not treated as good as the non Indians. This was evident at the restaurant the most.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Great place to stay. The rooms are small and cottage type but very comfortable. Its right on the beach so the night stay becomes really enjoyable. It has a good crowd. And the food here is the best on that part of Om beach. Spanish omelet is a must try here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghoomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We booked into Namaste for a few days at the end of January.
The rooms were fine, but there was a smell of sewage in the air, which seemed to come from the sea. Unfortunately I think it came from the roofless loos that were for public use by visitors to the restaurant - these toilets rivaled the worst encountered at roadside cafe.
The night we all left the hotel, three of my party were ill - one needing to be refered to hospital. We were unsure whether it was something we ate or the lack of hygiene which extended from the hotel toilets to the swarms of flies that seemed to fill the restaurant and live on the dirty washing up which sat on the floor.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wil04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gokarna hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I made a booking over the phone a week before my arrival date and was told my room was confirmed and was even asked if I wanted to be picked up at the station. When we arrived they claimed never to have heard of us and the place was full apart from one tiny room that was utterly filthy. The manager is particularly unfriendly and just laughed at our predicament. It was after 10pm, dark and in a fairly isolated area. The next day in the light we discovered other places on Om beach where you can rent huts etc I would advise you check those out instead. The manager in Namaste is the most unpleasant person I have come across in my month in India so far.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conortje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

this is the first hotel you come accros when you arrive at om beach . My recommendation is to walk along the beaches and look elsewhere. i looked at 2 other rooms at ganesh and jungle (i think) and in hindsight a lot quieter and half the price. very loud drilling throughout the day (started at about 8am)at namaste and room and bedding felt very damp. food was ok in bar though

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AL1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gokarna hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanskruti Quality  Resort
1.0 mi away
Kudle Beach View Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Zostel Gokarna
Zostel Gokarna
#1 of 31 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SwaSwara
SwaSwara
#2 of 8 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Namaste Yoga Farm
Namaste Yoga Farm
#2 of 31 in Gokarna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.0 mi away
Om Beach Resort
Om Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Gokarna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namaste Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namaste Cafe

Property: Namaste Cafe
Address: Om Beach Rd., Gokarna 581326, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dakshina Kannada District > Gokarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Gokarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right at the tip of Om Beach, Namaste Cafe is well located with road access as well as a beach front restaurant. The rooms are all at most a couple of minutes walk on the outside end to the beach. The beach front restaurant affords a large dining area with unrestricted views of the beach and the sea. Centrally located takes an all new meaning when it comes to Namaste Cafe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Namaste Cafe Hotel Gokarna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing