We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 hours in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saadani Safari Lodge
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here overnight on our way from Dar up to Pangani and enjoyed every second of it, from the wonderful welcome, afterrnoon tea by the sea, the refreshing swim in the pool, the private outside shower, the cocktail and chat with other guests before dinner, the spectacular seafood platter, the poem on my bed - thank you!, the six o'clock game drive and the late breakfast. Only sorry we couldn't stay longer - but this was 20 hours in paradise. Thank you, Candy and Graeme and the whole team! And for anyone wanting to come by road: The road along the coast from Bagamoyo was in fine condition and an interesting drive. The road north to Pangani likewise.

Room Tip: We had a family cottage with two separate bedrooms, each with separate bathroom and a common lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nohmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

Such a pity you only had 20 hours in paradise, we could have easily offered so much more if time was on your side! Thank you for you lovely comments, we shared them with Graeme, Candy and the rest of the team, they were thrilled with your feedback and are eager to welcome you back again, hopefully for a longer stay next time!

Until then it would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest from Sanctuary Retreats and Saadani Safari Lodge by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

As all the reviewers have said, this is an excellent destination, excellent hosts and faultless service. Before travelling a tried to find outs some bits of detail on tenSanctuary website, but couldn't , so will put them here. The rooms are all very private and all on the beach. The bathrooms have flushing toilets, and freshwater showers. Hot and cold water. There is solar powered light. Each room has a large trunk with a lock so you can put you valuables away, although we had no issues with security and the staff are all honest. The rooms are lovely, mosquito nets are put down in the evenings and the rooms are sprayed. But with the stiff breeze coming off the sea there was little chance of Mosquitos. They did appear on two nights when it rained lightly in the early hours. The sea breeze was very welcome. The food was astounding, beautiful flavours, fresh and amazing presentation. Varied over the five days we stayed. Cocktails before dinner were lovely, and the atmosphere with the chatty staff and with Graeme and Candy ensuring guests were happy - was great.

The game drives, walks and river safari were pretty good. We have generally been to exclusive safari destinations and have to say we were not unhappy with our experience. There may not be huge amounts of game, but the guides are so enthusiastic and work so hard that we saw plenty. On one drive our guide got a call from one of the other staff members who had just come back from the airstrip to tell him he saw a lioness and her cubs - so off we went and had the most gorgeous time with her and the cubs. Just shows how the whole staff team works to ensure you have a great stay.

We also went to visit a local Masai village which was very good and well worth it.

The local village was another trip we did, and that too was good. We left some pencils and crayons for the school with Graeme and Candy as it was school holidays. Suggestions for school gifts would be excercise books, or paper. For the kids anything football, strips, balls...

A great place to stay, thoroughly enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Yvette,

Thank you so much for this thorough review of your recent stay with us at Saadani Safari Lodge.

We are thrilled that you had such an amazing stay with us and I cannot agree more our team is very enthusiastic and eager to please. We shared your feedback with Graeme, Candy and the rest of the team and they cannot wait to welcome you back again one day - please rest assured that the cocktails will be ready and waiting!

Until then, it would be great if you could keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Saadani Safari Lodge by liking us on Facebook . Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife, 2 late teen and early 20's daughters and I stayed at Saadani Safai Lodge just before Xmas 2013 for 6 nights. to describe the entire experience as AWESOME would be selling the entire stay way short of what it really was. We are seasonned travellers, especially to exclusive game lodges, and Saadani Safari lodge is superbly managed by Candy and Graemme, with superb very friendly staff, who took time out to teach us a bit of Swahili while there, and treated us like stars. the food was good, the bungalows superb, especially considering they run on solar power, having the sea breeze to cool us down was magnificent. the setting on the beach is sublime, our game viewing guide was fantastic. Often the fresh fish, crab or prawns caught locally land on your plate that day and are extremely fresh. The trip up the Wami river is well worth it, especially for some stunning birding. I cannot stop raving about the experience, I'm sure we will be back

Room Tip: all are stunning. for a family of 4, the suite is great as it has 2 on0suite rooms, seperated by a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Greg,

Asante for this wonderful review!!

We are very pleased that you had an AWESOME experience with us at Saadani Safari Lodge and thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

Graeme, Candy and the rest of the team loved hosting you and your family, glad to hear you will be back; we eagerly await your return perhaps this Christmas?

It would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Saadani Safari Lodge by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Saadani safari lodge for 6 nights at the start our our honeymoon in late October. It was a wonderful choice, and we would recommend it very highly to anyone thinking of going on safari. Everything was just perfect, starting from our dramatic arrival via plane on the dirt track runway, where we were greeted by manager Graeme and some of the Saadani team with a refreshing welcome drink and a song!

We stayed in a classic Banda, which opened out onto an ocean view with sandy beach. It was very elegantly appointed, very comfortable and felt so private. We loved the spacious bathroom with Africology products, and our wildlife encounter began right there, with two bats roosting under the eaves!

Every corner of the lodge is just gorgeous - from the secluded look-out to the glamorous swimming pools, all set along a deserted white sand beach, it's a true tropical paradise with an unmistakeable African character.

We stayed on a full board basis, and the food was a real revelation - every meal was utterly delicious. We ate like kings! Our favourite meals were our fabulous private welcome dinner, eaten by candlelight by the poolside, and the truly delicious Swahili dinner.

The staff really couldn't have done more to look after us - everyone was so attentive and eager to help us. Graeme and his wife Candy are fantastic, and they have a great team to help them.

The daily activities were all excellent too. We loved our game drives in the park in the very comfortable safari vehicle, as well as our river safari and adventurous game walk! We saw so much game - the highlight being a mud-caked pride of lions with a fresh kill - and yet we felt like we had the park to ourselves. Isaak, our guide, was so friendly and extremely knowledgeable, and really made our safari experience for us.

We fell in love with Saadani, with safari and with Africa. We hope to be back again one day soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days and 3 nights and booked it totally on a last-minute whim. But we were very glad we did. From the moment we stepped out of the plane and were greeted by manager Graeme we were spoilt as if VIP guests. He was a superb host throughout (we understand his wife Candy is too, but she wasn't there during our stay). Every morning, even if we were up for a dawn game drive, he'd be there to greet us. In the evening he'd join us for a drink and then surprise us with a special location he'd organised for our evening meal - a romantic table by the pool; a private hide overlooking a watering hole; a sea view with a rooftop family of monkeys to keep us company! (It wasn't peak season, so there were just a few guests).

The lodge itself was like an oasis - heaven! Our 'hut' or room was superb - right on the beach with a view of the ocean. The interiors were beautiful and, as the outdoor shower had hot water, you could shower under the stars at dawn before a game drive. Lovely. The attention to detail throughout the lodge was also superb. But this wasn't just in terms of the design. The service was exceptional - for example, just as we were thinking we should run back to our lodge to get our umbrellas (as the heavens opened up) a member of staff was already there opening umbrellas up for us. Every single member of staff was friendly and attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The food and selection of wines/drinks were also great too.

The game drives were varied and interesting (we went on both game and river safaris), but it was our guide Isaac who really made them special. As the landscape made the animals harder to spot than elsewhere (such as the Maasai Mara), he really needed to know how to find them and worked hard to ensure we did. His knowledge was exceptional and he was passionate about his work. He'd tell us fascinating stuff about the animals and birdlife we were seeing before we even needed to ask the question. We came away feeling well informed and that made our sightings of lions; elephants etc. all the more interesting. The combination of a safari and sea location was also beautiful. It was great to be able to come back from a safari and walk along a beach or dive into a gorgeous swimming pool with a sea view - something you don't get at many other safari lodges. We can highly recommend Saadani Safari Lodge and will definitely consider staying at other resorts in the group, if not returning there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maridani 2 suite, but all suites offer the same beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you fancy a bit of pampering, there is no where better.
Everyone at Saadani safari lodge seemed to be there just for us.
Even the animals came in to say Hi.
Sitting in the hide drinking a cold beer and watching Elephants at the water hole.
A Visit with the Masai and learning a bit about there culture.
One of the best experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimpll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review, much appreciated!

We’re so happy to hear that you had such an amazing experience, our staff are our greatest asset and it is always lovely receiving feedback like yours. We’re delighted that even the animals put on a show for you!

We will always have cold beers (and an elephant or two) for you in the hide so we do hope we have the chance to welcome you in the future.

In the meantime, you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Saadani Safari Lodge by liking us on Facebook, just search for Sanctuary Retreats. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Saadani Safari Lodge for 3 days as part of our honeymoon and it truly was one of the best holiday experiences of my life. Graeme the manager made us feel so welcome from the second our plane touched down and the rest of the staff were so friendly and eager to ensure everything is perfect. As it was our honeymoon Graeme went out of his way to make us feel special and put us in the newly refurbished Siri Suite which was just stunning and secluded with a private plunge pool and watering hole for the animals it couldn't have been more perfect. The choice of activities was exactly what we were looking for and we went on both game drives and the river safari which i would definitely recommend. Isaac, our guide was so passionate and knowledgeable that it made the drives so special and interesting, his determination to try and get us to see as many animals as possible was fantastic and paid off! I could go on all day about how brilliant the lodge is but there aren't enough good words, from the food, to the staff, to the rooms and game drives it was all perfect and I can't thank Graeme and his team enough for making our first safari experience so special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Habari Yako Dani,

Congratulations on your marriage! We are honoured that you chose Saadani Safari lodge for your honeymoon and we wish you both a lifetime of happiness!

Isn’t the Siri Suite just perfect for a honeymoon? We’re thrilled that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for your kind comments - we shared your review with Graeme and the rest of the team and they are very happy that you had such a special experience.

Always remember ‘mara zote unakaribishwa katika Saadani Safari Lodge’ (you are always welcome at Saadani Safari Lodge)

It would be great if you could like ‘Sanctuary Retreats’ on Facebook and share some of your favourite moments from your stay – we’d love to share them with all our fans.
We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Asante sana
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saadani National Park hotels
10.1 mi away
Simply Saadani Camp
Simply Saadani Camp
#1 of 8 in Saadani National Park
119 reviews
30.6 mi away
Kisampa Bush Retreat
Kisampa Bush Retreat
#4 of 8 in Saadani National Park
21 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kuro Maringo
Kuro Maringo
#5 of 8 in Saadani National Park
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Roof of Saadani
The Roof of Saadani
#6 of 8 in Saadani National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Saadani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saadani Safari Lodge

Address: Old Bagamoyo Road, Saadani National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary)
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Saadani National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saadani National Park
Price Range: $240 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saadani Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 5 Maridadi Suites at Saadani Safari Lodge. Meaning 'elegant' in Swahili, these beautiful suites are appropriately named. Raised on small stilts and surrounded by indigenous floras, the decks provide an excellent viewing platform of the expansive sea. The roofs are covered in traditional thatching and floors are made from striking teak wood. All suites have en-suite bathrooms with a private outdoor shower for those who wish to enjoy a hot shower under a ceiling of stars. Meaning 'secret' in Swahili, our Siri Suite is the only one of its kind and offers the ultimate luxury for our guests. With inspiring views of the ocean, Saadani National Park and the sandy beach on the doorstep, this suite is set apart from all others. A private bar and pool provides unparalleled privacy, combined with private dining and sundowners on the small deck. This suite is perfect for honeymooners who wish for an incomparable experience. The lodge features nine colonial styled and intimate Banda Suites strung along the beach and cooled by the soft Ocean breeze. Six of the rooms are feature king beds while the remaining three are twin rooms. All rooms feature swathes of cotton cloth adorning the ceilings, large romantic Zanzibar style nets, locally carved furniture and incredible views over the ocean. A plethora of bird's calls will act as your alarm call to watch the sun majestically rise from the Ocean with a burst of brilliant colour. The classic Banda's have a private Makuti (coconut leaf) shaded deck area directly on the beach complete with locally made sunbeds and mattress - the perfect spot to soak up the surrounding scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saadani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saadani Safari Hotel Saadani National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing