We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari and Beach perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saadani Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saadani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Berks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Safari and Beach perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Five night stay in the perfect place . If your idea of heaven is to spend the morning on safari and the afternoon by the fabulous pool or beach look no further. Go before the world discovers this place . A morning on safari only seeing one other vehicle. Whilst patience is required to see the game it is all there and one can really enjoy the true beauty of an African location without feeling like you are in the local safari park.

The larger rooms are to die for compared to previouse safari lodges I have stayed at and the young couple and staff were first class attentive and helpful but also laid back and not in your way when you seek some peace and quiet.

Food excellent and all round a yes

Room Tip: Maladidi rooms I Think I have spelt that correctly rooms amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovetotravelBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, General Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review. You have captured the spirit of Saadani perfectly!

Our new rooms are called the "Maridadi suites" - Maridadi meaning elegant in Swahili. We tried to design them to match the surroundings as best we could, utilizing Saadani's natural endownments but also not leaving a heavy footprint.

Thank you again for kind words and we hope to see you again one day.

kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
75
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

A fabulous opportunity to relax and experience the varied activities that Saadani has to offer. The wonderful couple of run the lodge are extremely welcoming, go out of their way to help and their friendliness to their visitors is like being welcomed into their home. The guides are extremely knowledgable from the game that is available at the Park, it's birdlife as well as the vegetatian. The river trip is a must! The setting is stunning. The rooms are clean, a lovely deck to be able to sit outside and listen to the lapping of the sea or enjoy the clear skies at night. The food is delicious and caters for all with prior warning should you have a specific request. Highly recommended -- you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, General Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our little Lodge. Your reflections are much appreciated and we are thoroughly glad that you found our services and amenitiies to your liking.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I arrived at Saadani Safari Lodge at the end of a three week trip through Tanzania that included safari, climbing Kilimanjaro and a beach vacation in Zanzibar. But arriving at Saadani was the a highlight of my trip. It is like being welcomed into a good friends home and that was just what happened as we spent time with the owner of the lodge who is passionate about Saadani National Park. The team that he has put together at his unique lodge works to make your stay memorable. It is a very quiet lodge where you can do a game drive right on the property, go to the beach, the pool, have great food and a sundowner or two. The stars at night are incredible. The accommodations are really stunning. Beautiful rooms with windows open right on the beach make for a great nights sleep. We chose to do an afternoon safari drive and saw lots of wildlife. We also did the town trip and really appreciate what the lodge is doing to give back to the people in the area. It is really authentic. Saadani is a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, General Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your review of our Lodge.Mr. Costa is delighted to have met you and shared some time with you. We are very glad that of all the wonderful things you have seen and done in this magnificent country you felt Saadani to be the highlight. We feel very privileged indeed.

Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Saadani Safari Lodge for 3 nights, following a hectic 6 day safari in Northern Tanzania. It provided an idilic conclusion to a fantastic holiday, but could have been a sole destination in its own right. There were 5 of us in our group; 2 teenagers, 2 70 somethings and me (somewhere in between!). We were picked up at the nearby landing strip and headed to the lodge where we received a great welcome. The location is really fabulous, deserted perfect beaches, and 2 lovely pools. The rooms were beautifully furnished, and unique. All the lodges were yards from the sea. We likes the 'green' credentials but that did mean the solar powered showers on the first day were warm, not hot, as it had been slightly less sunny than usual. This was compensated by the view of the beach that we had from the shower!
The trips were great, we did the river trip and saw lots of hippo's, crocs, monitor lizards and many birds. We also went on a walking safari which gave us a different perspective to the game drives we experienced in the Serengetti and Ngorongoro Creator. It was tailored to the abilities in our group and expertly guided with two guides, an armed ranger, and Nic, one of the managers. We were a bit disappointed that the snorkelling trip was unavailable but understand that it will be available again soon. The trips we took involved early starts to get the best opportunities to see the wildlife. We were given coffee / tea and cake before we left, and brunch was arranged to tie in with our return. This attention to detail was really appreciated and helped persuade the teenagers out of bed!
The bar was a peaceful place to relax with drinks and snacks pre-dinner served with big smile by the barman. It was a good opportunity to share the days experiences and chat with Nic and Jana who were always around when you needed them. Some evenings we were accompanied by regular visitors, a Genet and a bush baby. We all thought the food was delicious, varied and well presented. The portions were generous and served promptly, but without feeling rushed. Nothing was too much trouble.
Overall there is very little we could fault. We were exceptionally well looked after by lovely staff, and found that the combination of trips and time for rest and relaxation suited our mixed age group to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HellieB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, General Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our little Eco Lodge. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. We are sorry we could not offer you the Sea safari but this activity is allowed if only all the correct weather and tide conditions are clement. We never take a risk with these to endanger life. I am glad that we could occupy your time otherwise.

Thank you again for this review and hope we can entice you back again another day.

kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We, a family of six, found a small paradise when we arrived at Saadani safari lodge in last june. Saadani Safari lodge is situated right in the heart of Saadani national park on the beach. What a relaxing and beautifully designed lodge where enthusiasm for nature is infectious. It has a very friendly atmosphere, the staff played a key role with their warm appearance, always smiling, doing anything to make you feel at home. Our kids didn’t want to go home, leaving their friends behind! Not to mention the host, which made us feel welcome from the first minute we arrived. Always visible and followed us well during our stay. A very friendly couple, passionate for the life and nature at Saadani. The kitchen at the lodge was outstanding, inviting you the best possible local materials, fresh and tasty.
Saadani safari lodge is an adventure on its own. The nature is breathtaking, the birdlife so colorful, as is the range of bushes and trees. To see the elephants, giraffes and leopards in the bush safari one day and the crodiles and hippopotamus the next in the river safari, gives the safari trip an extra diversity. Also getting the chance to visit the beautiful local villages with their friendly inhabitants is an unforgettable experience. And last but not least, after a long day to have a swim in the inviting pool, looking out to the sea and a dinner in the totally dark evenings with its own lights hanging in the sky… the stars, …wow, we had forgotten how many they are!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggaogdengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, General Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for review and I am glad you share our belief that Saadani is indeed "Paradise". We are also glad that the park rewarded you with such incredible game sightings!

Thank you again for your review and generous words.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Where to begin? The place itself is so beautiful my small family of three couldn't believe it. We love nature and quiet..... And so we were in heaven!
The moment we arrived we plunged into the warm sea, then the pool, then back to the sea again.
I lay beside the pool and immediately was served with a drink by the lovely Edward.
Frank came to talk to us at dinner and asked us what trips we would like to go on.... He took care of us for the next few days and always seemed on hand to advise and care for us.
All the local staff were amazing..... The chef catered to our complex needs, my daughter is a vegetarian, I eat fish but no meat and my husband eats everything! No problem! And he made my husband king prawns on the last night, for a treat! and breakfast was absolutely delicious..(lots of fruit for me and everything else for Chris.... The juice freshly squeezed ...... )
And the sundown cocktails, the best ones on our holidays. Dinners are simple, but actually I appreciate this as I don't believe that eating too much is healthy... And I felt that the simplicity of the food matched the feeling of being part of the local environment. And every meal was accompanied by zaine's beautiful smile!!!! I suppose for myself I would have also enjoyed more salad and raw vegetables.... But I didn't ask for them.....(I am sure if I had they would have made them for me)....

Nick and Jana could not have done more for us. Our luggage had got lost, and Jana not only chased it up for us by numerous phone calls, but lent me some of her clothes. And goggles! I had arrived in a horrible mood and with in seconds of our arrival, their care and reassurance had melted all my anxiety and I relaxed and started to enjoy myself. Jana is the cocktail queen.... Hers are the best creations ever....(and she is a great hostess and photographer and great to talk to)
Nick and she asked us at every opportunity what we needed to make our stay even better, and then made it happen.... They could not be better hosts! They are really compassionate, genuine and intelligent people.
While you stay there, I hope you meet the wonderful Costa...He owns the place... He is an extraordinary visionary and worth talking to! Prepare to be inspired!

I could have spent my whole time lying by the pool (big enough to do satisfying lengths) or wallowing in the sea.... And walking on the never ending and empty beach....
But we also enjoyed two safaris..... River and bush.... Lead by frank, who really knows his stuff....
We saw lions, giraffe, hippos, crocs, and some amazing balletic deer things that I absolutely loved! And birds of every kind...We also saw the sister river lodge which looks amazing!! (next time!)
As with all great places, I didn't want to leave.....as my husband says, I have to be dragged away kicking and screaming!

Truly a unique, heart warming and beautiful place.... And oasis in this over complex world....a place to let go, become whole and to smile from the heart.





  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, General Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for such an inspiring comment. It is in truth not always an easy job to manage a Lodge and I know that the simple fact that you and your family took some much away with you makes the difference for all of us.

Thank you again.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon in July 2012.

Location - We had traveled from Dar es Salaam by road and the journey took four hours. The location of the lodge was very beautiful, set on the beach with local life and wilderness just behind you. It was very close to the airstrip for our next location (Zanzibar). It was also a good spot for a walking safari and a local village tour.

Accommodation - We stayed in a classic banda on the beach. The view was fantastic and falling asleep to the sounds of the sea was wonderful. The room itself was small and compact but perfectly adequate. It was well decorated and charming. The bathroom was spacious and had a warm shower. I would recommend getting ready/showering in the day light otherwise you'll need to take your torch in for some light! The walk between your room and the main facilities was a little dark so we took our room torch for this aswell. Whilst it is dark, we did feel very safe.

Food - sadly this was the lodge's main downfall. Another family we spoke to while they were staying there described it as grim and unfortunately we would have to agree. I understand the lodge recruits local people for all of the camps services. Whilst I feel this is good and very important, it simply wasn't good enough for the amount of money you are paying. The portions were very small and the quality very poor. A real shame.

Evening meals also were served far to quickly. At one point we hadn't finished our starters when our mains arrived at the table. We did ask staff to allow more time between meals but this never transpired.

Excursions - we were told we had one complementary excursion per day whilst we were staying there. We decided upon a walking safari, local village tour and a river safari. Of which we were told we then needed to pay $10 for a armed guide on the walking safari, $10 each for the local village tour (ok this does go to the village), and $20 each for the river safari. So as you can see these are hardly complementary. We did enjoy the excursions of course but felt as if they were a little misleading in the advertisement.

Overall at the Lodge - the lodge itself is ideally located and very beautiful. It has bags of potential which is frustrating to see. For us the evenings were the most worst. We arrived in advance of dinner for a cocktail of the day (which were very nice!) and a couple of drinks before dinner. The beautiful bar was silent and had zero atmosphere. This was such a shame. Dinner also followed by the same and served at full speed left us feeling disappointed.

The staff definitely make the lodge. They are very warm and friendly and add a lovely local vibe to it.

Overall our stay here was nice but not amazing and I didn't feel it was special enough for our honeymoon. We do however wish the lodge and its objectives the best of luck for the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mubbles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saadani L, Manager at Saadani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you too see the potential of this beautiful Lodge.

In response to your comments on the Food, we have introduced several new members into our food and beverage team bringing in some much needed experience. We are already seeing a vast improvement in the quality of the food and service. We will certainly be paying close attention to our portion sizes, although we can’t bear to waste food in Tanzania there should always be plenty to eat and seconds available for those who would like it.

We have introduced some music to our beautiful bar this month and our bar manager seems to be growing in confidence which is really making a difference to the atmosphere of the place.

With regards to our excursions, we are very sorry to hear that you have been in some way mislead. The $20.00 River fee and $10.00 Ranger fee are both charges added for these activities by the national park authority. We have tried to ensure that all our guests have been made aware of these fees before booking at the lodge, we will re-clarify this with our business partners and on our own advertisements in the coming weeks. We would like to thank you for your donation for the village tour it will go directly into making improvements to the Saadani primary School next month.

We’re very pleased that you appreciate the “local vibe” that our wonderful team provide. It is only through developing local people that we will continue to protect and conserve this beautiful ecosystem. This is our goal, with patience and hard work I’m sure we can achieve it.

With thanks,

Nic & Jana - Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saadani National Park
0.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simply Saadani Camp
Simply Saadani Camp
#2 of 7 in Saadani National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kisampa Bush Retreat
Kisampa Bush Retreat
#4 of 7 in Saadani National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saadani River Lodge
Saadani River Lodge
#3 of 7 in Saadani National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Bagamoyo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saadani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saadani Safari Lodge

Property: Saadani Safari Lodge
Address: Old Bagamoyo Road, Saadani National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Sanctuary)
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Saadani National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saadani National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saadani Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 5 Maridadi Suites at Saadani Safari Lodge. Meaning 'elegant' in Swahili, these beautiful suites are appropriately named. Raised on small stilts and surrounded by indigenous floras, the decks provide an excellent viewing platform of the expansive sea. The roofs are covered in traditional thatching and floors are made from striking teak wood. All suites have en-suite bathrooms with a private outdoor shower for those who wish to enjoy a hot shower under a ceiling of stars. Meaning 'secret' in Swahili, our Siri Suite is the only one of its kind and offers the ultimate luxury for our guests. With inspiring views of the ocean, Saadani National Park and the sandy beach on the doorstep, this suite is set apart from all others. A private bar and pool provides unparalleled privacy, combined with private dining and sundowners on the small deck. This suite is perfect for honeymooners who wish for an incomparable experience. The lodge features nine colonial styled and intimate Banda Suites strung along the beach and cooled by the soft Ocean breeze. Six of the rooms are feature king beds while the remaining three are twin rooms. All rooms feature swathes of cotton cloth adorning the ceilings, large romantic Zanzibar style nets, locally carved furniture and incredible views over the ocean. A plethora of bird's calls will act as your alarm call to watch the sun majestically rise from the Ocean with a burst of brilliant colour. The classic Banda's have a private Makuti (coconut leaf) shaded deck area directly on the beach complete with locally made sunbeds and mattress - the perfect spot to soak up the surrounding scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Saadani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saadani Safari Hotel Saadani National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing