We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last paradises on earth...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Simply Saadani Camp
Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a fantastic and lonesome place directly at the beach,where nothing disturbs. We really felt like in paradise. It is the place itself, but last not least the hosts Steve and Lynn with it´s crew makes the stay to a most memorable one. We would love to come again, someday, somehow. The treatment was excellent as well as the food, the safari throughout the park and not to forget the boat safari. We would love to give our most sincere thanks to all the stuff of "Tent with a View". Go ahead ...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

fantastic, the most laid back place we have stayed at. The host's tara and david brilliant and the staff wonderful. The five course food severed was amazing. the beach very safe for all ages. Sunrises wonderful. game veiwing very good. NO TV or radio was a bonus very quiet and good to relax, and a well stocked bar :)))
Went there for the elephant project a once in a life time experience.

Room Tip: There all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynebuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in early April as group of 5 including a young child. The place is truly magical, with wide ocean views, breezes, hot sands, 1st floor bandas literally on the beach and animals all around. The bandas are artistically decorated in natural materials - a lot of dark wood and pretty fabrics - look much better than website shows. However it is the personal commitment and input from Lynn and David which really impresses. The day can be patterned to your own design, and even our slightly complicated dietary requirements did not phase the chef or staff. Sadly I had a delicate stomach at the time and missed out on some of the amazing 5 course dinners - real foodie heaven! Lunches were an array of mixed salad dishes - some African and some European - delicious!
Our grand-daughter was made to feel very welcome, all the staff relating to her with chats and teasings which she greatly enjoyed. We took 2 trips up the mangrove swamps which was a delightful way to feel part of the environment and get very close up to the many birds which inhabit it. We chose to drive ourselves on safari, and were given every help to get good sightings.
We heartily recommend Tent with a View and reckon it delivers near perfection whatever your age. Would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianist52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of our "VJV Secret Tanzania" tour. Location is absolute paradise, lovely quiet beach that goes on for miles. You absolutely must rise early to see the superb sunrises. Lovely warm sea great for swimming but only at high tide as a little shallow at low tide. You must bring a good torch here as there is limited power available and very few lights. A walk down the beach is required to reach the eating area/bar in the evenings, it will take about 5 minutes from the furthest bandas as they are quite well spread out.
All the staff are excellent and make you feel very welcome. Food is excellent especially when you consider the basic kitchen facilities they have.
You must be reasonably fit to enjoy the safari's as there is some clambering in/out of Landrovers required and the roads are quite bumpy in places.
Take the canoe trip up the local creek where you may find "Trev the croc" named in my honour as I was there when he was first discovered.

Room Tip: Bring a good torch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevorf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscboyd, Manager at Simply Saadani Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Dear Trevor, Just to update you, your namesake continues to delight our guest when we take them on a paddle on the Mafue river. Lots if giggles when they find out Trevor is a Lady Crocodile however when we tell them she has been named after the guest who helped discover her everyone thinks its suitable. No babies yet but as soon as we see them the photos will appear on our Facebook page. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review and keep traveling. Very kind regards the Tent with a View crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Excellent bandas with amazing views of the beach and sea .Wonderful food at all times .Although outside the park we saw game on the way in and out ,Whilst there we saw lions elephant giraffe and water buffalo plus so many wonderful birds and many sorts of elk /buck
This lodge is extremely well run by Lynn and Steve and the drivers of the safari trucks are excellent ,The trucks are defender pick up trucks with additions which provide unobstructed views for all passengers ,This was an amazing stay thank you so much to all the staff Whilst we were there a large bull elephant visited every night and knocked down some of the coconut trees for the tastier leaves at the top I enjoyed my walks along the beach and the trip in the canoe as well as the fantastic game drives A vacation to remember for a life time

Room Tip: room 2 is the closest to the restaurant and excellent but i beleive all the bandas have equally hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahappytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just the perfect place to start a trip in Tanzania. The lovely setting is complemented by the wonderful service at this beautifully situated lodge. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who are so well lead by Steve and Lynne. We could go on and on about the canoe trip, with croc, the game drives and just the beautiful rooms and beach. But we want to leave you wanting to go, it's fabulous.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We've been wanting to visit Saadani for ages after reading the reviews about this blissful beach/park combination and our 3 night visit over New Year beat all our expectations. I can't recommend this place more. Fantastic luxurious tented accomodation raised on stilts just footsteps from the beautiful beach and sea . Every night we were serenaded by wild jungle noises and the waves! Lovely staff and friendly service. Excellent food.

The management is outstanding. They have a very broad experience of Africa and the safari business and it was a pleasure to sit and chat with them at meal times. Everyone tries to make your stay as perfect as possible.

The safari activities are very varied and each night you can discuss the timetable for the next day. Obviously we went on safaris in the game park to see all the animals but we also did a lovely boat trip up the Wami river to see the hippos, crocodiles and all those lovely birds. Foot safaris are available. From the camp there are walking trails in the coconut plantation and a canoe trip on the Mafui river. They are also buiding a viewing platform which will be ready soon.

A Tent with a View also run many local charitable projects including Kikodo village school and doctors schemes. Commited to animal conservation, you can visit their research building on the camp to see the elephant project. Among other activities, they chart the daily movements of the significant elephant population in Saadani and aim to increase local village awareness and reduce illegal poaching in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PearlW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saadani National Park hotels
40.7 mi away
Kisampa Bush Retreat
Kisampa Bush Retreat
#4 of 8 in Saadani National Park
21 reviews
10.1 mi away
Saadani Safari Lodge
Saadani Safari Lodge
#2 of 8 in Saadani National Park
138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kuro Maringo
Kuro Maringo
#5 of 8 in Saadani National Park
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Roof of Saadani
The Roof of Saadani
#6 of 8 in Saadani National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Simply Saadani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Saadani Camp

Address: Saadani National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Tent With A View)
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Saadani National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saadani National Park
Price Range: $373 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simply Saadani Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Saadani Camp (formerly Tent With A View safari lodge), Saadani National Park is in a remote and secluded location on the Indian Ocean coast, around a 4 hour drive north of Dar es-Salaam. The emphasis is on relaxing and enjoying the natural environment of Saadani National Park. Tanzania'€™s only coastal wildlife preserve, Saadani is€“ a unique combination of safari & beach. The deserted sandy beach is perfect for beachcombing, and the clear sea is safe for swimming.There are just 11 beachfront tented rooms (or "bandas") including 3 family suites with en suite bathrooms and solar powered hot water and electric lighting. Each banda has a large private balcony with a hammock. In the immediate vicinity of the lodge there are several guided nature trails, canoe rides and a wildlife research centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Simply Saadani Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing