We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reseort was like something out of a movie!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Simply Saadani Camp
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I traveled from the US to Tanzania for his 50th birthday and our 20th wedding anniversary. We started in the North and traveled to Saadani on the 4th day. When we arrived, it was almost too good to be true! The beach was fabulous and our accomodations were top notch. The beach was really a place that I did not want to leave. We completed a half day safari, a river safari and had time to "chill"....which was my favorite part! David Guillory has an extensive knowledge of the region....and was honestly a real treat to listen to. David, Tara and the entire staff were wonderful. I would love to return to Saadani again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 118 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

Tent with a View's Sadaani Lodge is wonderful. Very nice, comfortable 'tents' right behind the private, deserted beach under the palms. The 'tents' are really elevated cabins that just happen to have canvas sides with huge screened windows. The tents have comfortable beds, chairs, all nicely decorated, good bathrooms and porches. great food, served promptly. very friendly, competent staff. One very interesting feature which I've never seen in the many nature lodges I've been to throughout the world was the fact that they resisted planting exotic colorful plants around the lodge. The natural vegetation lent a real authenticity to the experience.The game drives were great in very comfortable big open backed trucks with an awning and 2 bench seats one higher than the other for unobstructed views. We saw lots of animals. The best part was the fact that during our 4 nite stay, we only saw one other vehicle in the park! You really got the feeling you were on safari like in the old days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Maybe we were lucky as we were the only guests but even then what a place! Solar power only means wind up torches to navigate the beach at night on the way to receive food you'll not believe, pitch black nights under star spangled skies with flourescent white crabs.... this is lovely. We stayed in the Venus Suite - check it out. The staff are incredible. Only way to get here in any comfort is by private air charter but is is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

This was much looked forward to on our first visit to this little visited National Park. We had been guided by the website and Reference books into thinking the property was inside the NP. Sadly it is not, it is some 15 km north of the Park boundary which meant long drives to get into the Park each day.
Evidently the owners had split up and the move came about because of this.
We should be TOLD. We did not meet the owner as he got on the plane that brought us in.
Having said that the actual place fully matched our expectations if not the Website. There is a central Restaurant Lounge serving a fixed but well prepared menu together with cold drinks and a library of Reference books.
The "Tents" are now on raised platforms but roomy and very well furnished with Offices out the back and a Hammock on the Porch at the front. There is a short walk involved to and from the Restaurant and this can be tricky returning after dark. Take a Torch and mark the sand where your Tent is located.
We flew in but access by road is now easier than Bradt Guide says due to the move north putting the property on the main road up to Pangani.
Guided walks, bost trips on the Wami and standard Safaris are offered and birdlife is plentiful in the surrounding woods and on the Beach at low tide.
Game was scarce due to the rains and some tracks impassable so be warned this is not the Ngorongoro. However if tranquility is as important as Wildlife then you will enjoy this place very much. We did.
The Lesser Galagos (Bush Babies) coming into the dining room at dinner will amuse too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

From the moment we were met at the airstrip by men in Khaki we knew we were in safe hands. The one hour trip by landrover to the resort gave us a real feel for the landscape and was a great way to find out about the park. This place is SECLUDED!! You can walk down the beach in either direction for almost 10km and not meet a soul. The villas are raised on stilts and far enough apart to ensure privacy and that feeling of being away from it all. Our special thanks to Eugene, John and Abdullah for making us feel at home and ensuring we had an informative and relaxing stay. We saw lots of wildlife and the one hour walks in the evening to the observation tower with John were very enjoyable, as was the creek boat trip - all of which were complimentary!! Every morning if you are up early enough you can watch Baboons combing the beach and the birdlife is fantastic. Saadani is fantastic for Giraffes and Hippos but due to the density of the scrub it can be difficult to see Lions or Cheetahs, but the tranquility of the area with your accomodation on a truly unspoilt beach more than makes up for this. If you are staying in Zanzibar then a short 20 minute flight into Saadani and a stay at Tent With A View will give you a real feeling of wild Africa. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuceyOfLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The location is perfect, a driftwood strewn beach, private "tents" with beach access for all.

The food, service, location and people in Saadani were the very best. We genuienly couldn't have asked for better,

The safari here was good (though not as goods as Selous) with plenty of Hippo's to keep you alert on the river safari.

We went to Saadani in search of relaxation and that's what we got, there was plenty to do but also loads of time to relax on the beach.

After two weeks of travel and safari activities we were more than happy to enjoy a more slow paced end to our holiday, we really enjoyed the canoe trip through the mangrove and the walk to the tree house for sunset

The beach where this camp is located forms part of a Green Turtle Resevration and we had the enourous joy while there of seeing the turtles hatching and making thier first bursts to the sea, that awe inspiring hour alone was worth the trip.

We also got the opporutnity to go 'fly camping', it was some experience and we couldn't believe the quality of food we received when we were camping, it may not be the best for a good nights sleep but fly camping is something i would recommend to anyone who gets the opportunity to partake.

On the whole if it's a little bit of paradise you're looking for you con't go wrong by going to Tent With a View Saadani.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavendercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I visited Sable Lodge (Selous) a couple of years earlier and was lucky enough to be hosted by the boss - David Guthrie. We had a fabulous week there but as the old knees are not what they used to be, the hills were a bit of a 'pain' - literally! David told us of his other place at Sadaani and it immediately went on my wish list.
It did not disappoint, quite the opposite. The place, the accomodation, the staff, the food, the tranquility - everything is just unbelievably fabulous. If you can afford it, because it is not Tenerife, just go, remember you are in an isolated location in Tanzania, and be overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saadani National Park
40.7 mi away
Kisampa Bush Retreat
Kisampa Bush Retreat
#4 of 7 in Saadani National Park
21 reviews
10.1 mi away
Saadani Safari Lodge
Saadani Safari Lodge
#2 of 7 in Saadani National Park
136 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kuro Maringo
Kuro Maringo
#5 of 7 in Saadani National Park
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sable Mountain Lodge
Sable Mountain Lodge
#1 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
149 reviews
0 mi away
The Roof of Saadani
The Roof of Saadani
#6 of 7 in Saadani National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Saadani Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Saadani Camp

Address: Saadani National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Tent With A View)
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Saadani National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saadani National Park
Price Range: $543 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simply Saadani Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Saadani Camp (formerly Tent With A View safari lodge), Saadani National Park is in a remote and secluded location on the Indian Ocean coast, around a 4 hour drive north of Dar es-Salaam. The emphasis is on relaxing and enjoying the natural environment of Saadani National Park. Tanzania'€™s only coastal wildlife preserve, Saadani is€“ a unique combination of safari & beach. The deserted sandy beach is perfect for beachcombing, and the clear sea is safe for swimming.There are just 11 beachfront tented rooms (or "bandas") including 3 family suites with en suite bathrooms and solar powered hot water and electric lighting. Each banda has a large private balcony with a hammock. In the immediate vicinity of the lodge there are several guided nature trails, canoe rides and a wildlife research centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Simply Saadani Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing