We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed hide-a-way, delicious meals and lovely views and walks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kisampa Bush Retreat
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We traveled the fairly short distance from Dar es Salaam last month with three families - two of us with two children ages 9 - 12. While we've lived most of the last 10 years in Tanzania this was our first visit to lovely Kisampa, and we will definitely be returning soon! The hosts take good care of you and ensure you have the meals and drinks you desire, as well as activities to keep you busy if you so desire. I spent part of the day doing yoga overlooking the lovely plains and listening to birds while my friends had a walk through the bush. The kids were thoroughly pleased with the adventure playing on the river in canoes and the campfire each evening. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Kisampa Bush Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed for a week at Kisampa at the end 2009/beginning of 2010 and had the time of our lives!

From the very beginning to the end of our trip, we were blown away by the camp's style; understated luxury really is the best way to describe Kisampa life.

The five or so thatched huts that you stay in have comfy beds (with mosquito nets!), clean composting toilets and ourdoor showers, the latter of which are a revelation (you'll never want to shower in a 'box' again!)

Of course, no holiday would be complete without good food, and Kisampa has this in spades. All of the chefs have grown up in the local area, and they could easily work in some of London's top restaurants. The homemade bread and biscuits are also wonderful, as is the camp's own honey.

The flora and fauna are top notch - from baboons to butterflies to baobabs - and the guides (Rob and Raymond) will help even the most urbanised of city dwellers to become expect trackers (well, almost!).

To top it all, Kisampa donates a proportion of its profits to the local village, Matipwili, so you can help others while having the holiday of a lifetime. We visited the village during our stay, and it has certainly benefitted from Kisampa’s existence. Recent new developments include a clinic, school and even a library.

Please do go and experience Kisampa for yourself!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Rooms are discreetly situated, isolated from each other and with beautiful views into the bush. Thatched rooms with no walls are a wonderful way to live; to enjoy the chatter of birds and bushbabies! The open air shower and loos with a view are a wonderful luxury. Service is excellent: hot water for showers is provided morning and evening; morning tea in bed; drinks while watching the sun set and delicious meals provided by friendly staff. You couldn't ask for a better location: on the hills outside Saadani National Park with extensive views over the surrounding countryside. Trips on the river to see crocodiles, hippos and the most exquisite birds are a joy as are walks in the bush. Kisampa also contributes to the community development of a nearby village and this is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolgerOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaituni I, Manager at Kisampa Bush Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saadani National Park
40.7 mi away
Simply Saadani Camp
Simply Saadani Camp
#1 of 7 in Saadani National Park
117 reviews
30.6 mi away
Saadani Safari Lodge
Saadani Safari Lodge
#2 of 7 in Saadani National Park
136 reviews
3.5 mi away
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
New Bagamoyo Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Bagamoyo
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saadani River Lodge
Saadani River Lodge
#3 of 7 in Saadani National Park
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Family Cottage
Family Cottage
#8 of 17 in Bagamoyo
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travellers Lodge
Travellers Lodge
#1 of 15 in Bagamoyo
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kisampa Bush Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kisampa Bush Retreat

Address: near Matipwili Village, Saadani National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Saadani National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Saadani National Park
Price Range: $212 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kisampa is set in a pristine, wild area in eastern Tanzania. The region is filled with ox-bow lakes, riverine forests, open grassland, wild rolling hills and steep ridges that provide breath taking views of the surrounding areas. The diverse habitat makes it a birders paradise. Wildlife is shy but increasing with the protection now provided in the sanctuary. This is a private community conservation sanctuary adjacent to the unique coastal Saadani National Park. Situated on a remote hilltop with a vista of the plains below, Kisampa is a special place. So special, in fact, that some of the AfrikaAfrika team live here permanently! Kisampa is the ultimate bush retreat - a place where you can turn off from all the stress, pressure and noise. This place has been brilliant for yoga retreats, personal meditation and simply the ultimate place to wind down. This is furthermore a birders paradise and Kisampa has a few secluded birding platforms where you can spend the day relaxing and watching some of east Africa's finest bird life. We also pride ourselves here with divine "country style" lunches of freshly baked bread from our brick oven, hearty soups and salads along fresh seasonal fruit for desert. Here we offer you a personal journey, an experience full of meaning - not just another destination. We will lead you on a superb exploration that will take you into the heart of this amazing little piece of Africa. Because it's our own sanctuary, you won't bump into other safari-goers anywhere on Kisampa. We keep your experience intimate and personal. This is an adventure that will get you thinking. It will stretch your mind (just as much as your legs) and Africa will get under your skin. Welcome to Kisampa - Where Africa awakens your soul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kisampa Bush Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing