We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day Trip to Rosario Islands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Pedro de Majagua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Grande
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Rosario Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you're going to visit the Rosario Islands from Cartagena, I highly recommend the boat that will take you to the Hotel San Pedro de Majagua. We organized our day trip through GemaTours (they had a table at the PanAmerican Ophthalmology Meeting we were attending and came highly recommended by Colombian Ophthalmologists we knew and met). The boat was very nice, seated about 20 people. It was professionally operated and got us to the island in less than one hour. The boat had a nice sound system which played Colombian Lounge music. There were even some recordings that were played when we came upon historic sites (in Spanish, English, and French). The beaches were private and beautiful (clear water with blue views a bit further from the shore).

There were a few vendors, but after chatting with them for a few minutes, I wanted to buy something from them. At first I thought the beach would be better without vendors, but after returning home from my trip, I realized that I really liked the things I bought and wish I had purchased a few extra things (the people are genuine and down-to-earth).

This place would be perfect for couples or honeymooners. We did not spend the night, but after spending the day at the resort, we would highly recommend it. We did get to see a room's inside--stunning. They describe it as eco-luxury and I would agree with that description. One night would probably be enough on the island, but if you really want a zen like environment for relaxation, then you might want to stay longer. We didn't take the complimentary tour of the islands offered by the hotel or go scuba diving, but I'm sure that adding those activities would make a longer stay worthwhile. For what we wanted, one day on the island was fine.

We did have lunch at the resort as a part of our day trip (an excellent value). A doc we met at the meeting went on and on about the pargo rojo. He said that everytime he went to a restaurant and ordered pargo rojo (fried red fish, head intact), he compared compared it to the pargo rojo on Rosario Island, his personal gold standard for pargo rojo. I agree with him, the food was delicious. I would never have known I was eating "fried" fish, it was light and tasty.

At first we debated whether we should use up a large block of our time to go to the Rosario Islands after reading some reviews, but after going, this is a "can't miss" part of a trip to Cartagena...my recommendation would be to spend the few extra pesos to take this fast boat. I would recommend avoid taking a slow, overcrowded boat that drops you on a public beach (I think that is the reason some people complained about their trip to the Rosario Islands).

This was definitely one of the most memorable parts of our vacation. The pictures we took could be published in any travel magazine or used on your computer's desktop as a screensaver (I'll post a few). My wife, who is Colombian, could not stop telling all of her friends about the resort. Don't forget your camera.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight, so can't provide any advice on this topic. We did take a few pics of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jonessanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    172
    89
    39
    44
See reviews for
90
331
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

It's all about your expectations. There is scuba and snorkeling available, but primarily there is nothing to do by lie by the beach or read in a hammock. It is also on an island that is primarily a dry tropical forest, so there will be little critters (yes, including roaches), that may wander into your room (but due to whatever system they have in place, are always dead by the time you see them). But if you understand that this is not a hygienically sealed modern chain hotel, accept what comes with the tropics, and want simply to get away from things and relax, you will very much enjoy it, as I did.

The rooms and plain, but clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and we had no problems with the service. As for food, the fish is fresh and cooked properly, but over-sauced. Get the sauce on the side. Unlike other places on the islands, the vendors are quite restrained (seems like only a few are allowed on the property). To me, it was worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I had a couple days to kill, so we decided to head out to this place to have some relaxing time in the sun. When we arrived, we were instantly harassed by people trying to sell things on the dock. Check in was efficient. We were given the "lobster room", which had no outside space where we could chill out in front of. The room itself was okay, but did not meet my expectations for the price of the hotel. The mini bar was a joke...twenty dollars for 375ml of wine and 4 dollars for a beer. You could not drink water from the tap, so of course you are charged an arm and a leg for the water. I would highly recommend that you stock up on pop, beer, snacks, and anything else you want to consume before you come here, otherwise you will be paying through the teeth. The grounds of the hotel are weird...the two beaches are not exactly beaches, but rather, masses of chairs that aren't even in the sun and are stacked on top of eachother. There is nowhere to hang out with just your group or to have any privacy. Loud music was playing all day at the one beach, which was most annoying. There is absolutely nothing to do here, you can't really even sun tan because of how the property is set up. If you want to go exploring, you have to hire a guide. I would highly suggest using the maps posted on this site and going exploring your site. We ended up leaving this hotel after one night because it was just so creepy and not what we wanted. There was a better hotel with a better beach around the corner, where we happily spent the rest of the days suntanning in peace and quiet on a beach that blew Majuagua's beach out of the water. Do not stay at this hotel...it is a complete joke and a waste of time and money.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the lobster room...there is no where to hang outside of your room. The other rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Look this hotel is not terrible, it's just not great value. They say it's the best in the Islas del Rosario, and it probably is, but to be honest, the bar is not set very high.

The setting is not spectacular, but it's nice - the beaches are quite small, the staff claims it's the king tides, but in reality, it's just these islands. They're lovely, but quite low-lying, and simply not that spectacular. Having said that, if your'e in Cartagena, you must go.

The resort itself stretches across a pretty wide expanse of sandy / gravelly / grassy beachside - it's not particularly attractive, but it's not unattractive. I guess it's pretty 'natural'.

The rooms are pleasant and relatively clean - decent linen, good bath products (L'Occitane). Note the bathrooms are not separated, the toilet is tucked behind a wall but there is no door, the walls don't reach the ceiling, and a large mirror provides a good view to all - not ideal for couples in the early stages of a blossoming romance. No outlook to speak of.

Food is pretty average - some items quite delicious, others ill-conceived. Staff friendly but not well/professionally trained - example - you need to ask at least twice for a drink, and that glass of wine invariably arrives when you're nearly done with your main. Wine list - non-existent and what's available isn't great.

I think the thing that irritated me about this place (which otherwise is perfectly pleasant, if way not five star) is, it's just bad value. Everything is an extra. Example, the tap water is undrinkable, yet water is not included at all with any meals and is always an extra.

The included breakfast consists of a plate of fruit, a small basket of bread, a cup of coffee and a glass of juice. But if you ask for a mix of more than one juice, it's a cocktail, and is extra (even though the volume offered is identical to the free juices). Anything else (eggs?) are extra. Bicycles must be hired - they're not included - and the hire is for the duration of a guided tour - you can't just potter off and enjoy a morning exploring the island. No water sports equipment is included at all (like rafts or canoes or similar).

Don't think you can get away with not paying - the invoicing system is probably the most efficient feature of this resort - and the boats don't leave until the manager has hunted down every single last outstanding payment.

Look, it's quite good, just be prepared to feel a bit gouged. And recognise it's really no worse than any of the other resorts in the area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warriorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Not a place for a long stay. While the people are nice the all inclusive is not all inclusive. I can accept that acohol is not included but when you cannot have a starters and you are only allowed certain main courses it doesn't make this resort good value for money. and for that money you would expect a more luxurious resort but this location needs a makeover. it is in a mangrove swamp!!!!
Not worth the money

Room Tip: try to get one without a leaky roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

to go to a nice place on the rosario islands is not easy at all. You don't find proper informations at all and you have to invest houres to find a nice place.
hotel majagua is a very nice place: it is clean, the beach is nice, the food is good and the rooms are very nice too. But, be prepared if you don't want to spend too much money. It is only a continental breakfast included with coffee - so, everything extra you have to pay for. We brought a five liter box of water with, some fruits and little things to eat - so we didn't have to eat lunch, only for dinner we went to the restaurant. the prices are high (for colombia) - so be prepared.
nevertheless - i would recommend to spend at least two nights there - it is so nice, when all the daytourist leave the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holgerbube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

DON'T MISS IT! You can easily find great private beaches, clear water, excellent diving, snorkling, bird watching at the lagoon, what a great place... ! While being there don't miss the Tour around all the islands, at least a couple dives (ask for the sunk boat), visit the Aquarium (nice shows and well kept) and for sure... do not miss the Aviary (just amazing)

FOR THIS ATTRACTION YOU MUST INSIST AND TELL THE ADMINISTRATOR TO ASK FOR IT IF HE DOESN'T KNOW WHERE IT IS! BUT DON'T MISS IT

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColombiaJuanSe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sport Baru
Hotel Sport Baru
#2 of 4 in Isla Baru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dann Cartagena
Hotel Dann Cartagena
#14 of 148 in Cartagena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coralina Island
Coralina Island
#1 of 4 in Islas de Rosario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoliso Island Resort
Cocoliso Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Islas de Rosario
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gente de Mar Resort
Gente de Mar Resort
#1 of 14 in Isla Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pedro de Majagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pedro de Majagua

Property: Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
Address: Isla Grande-Islas Del Rosario, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Islas de Rosario > Isla Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pedro de Majagua 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Rosario Islands. Only 45minutes from Cartagena de Indias (transfers on arrival and departure to and from Cartagena are provided by the hotel through hotel motor boat once a day and on pre-schedule time. Also you could rent a private boat or yatch for this service), the island's centennial trees, internal lagoons and Colombia's biggest reef system make this the ideal destination for an exciting yet relaxing vacation. All rooms are equipped with every comfort needed for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Pedro de Majagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro De Majagua Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing