We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacemakers Walking Group - October 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambelikos AgroHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Potamitissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were very fortunate to have a personal recommendation for this lovely place where we 1st stayed in September 2011. We very quickly decided that it was the perfect place for our Walking Group's annual autumn break. Although there were 18 of us in total, plus another group staying at the same time, the service was impeccable and the food exceeded expectations. The accommodation is quite unique and the location in the Troodos perfect for those wanting a get-away-from-it-all experience. Thanks to Akis for a wonderful time, we will certainly be recommending Ambelikos to others and we will definitely be back! Chris & Sue S.

Room Tip: Room 12 is ideal for Pole Dancing!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Ambelikos AgroHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

After 4 years in Cyprus this was my first experience of a typical Cypriot hotel, in a typical Cypriot village with Cypriot food excellently prepared and served up by the ever present Akis. An excellent break and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

stayed at this hotel with a walking group the rooms are clean comfortable my room had a great view of countryside food was good owner and his staff 10 out of 10 will be going back

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I could not have anticipated such an enjoyable stay. Our room was comfortable and cleanliness was top class. Our host Akis always seemed to be available to us, and nothing was too much of a problem for him to sort out. He was there at breakfast asking us how many eggs we required and so it progressed through the meal. We had the same great treatment when it came to our dinner requests. The mousakka and the kleftico were out of this world, and his pleasant manner endeared him to the group. I will definitely be back for another break. I CANT WAIT!!

Room Tip: I think all rooms were of a high standard, although some might be slightly larger, and may have diff...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We decided to take a trip into the Troodos mountains after a week at the coast. We wanted a genuine cypriot experience rather than the good but largely British experience we had near Paphos. We booked Room 15 which was a loft room overlooking the village of Potamitissa. At 5'2 I laughed at the height of the four poster bed and my husband laughed at me both nights when I climbed in but it was comfortable and cosy. If you are small there are rooms with lower beds. The rooms were very spacious and clean, my only negative would be that the tv didnt seem to work well,(i think it was more to do with reception than electronics) which Im sure Akis would have sorted out for us if we had wanted him to but who needs tv when you have balcony views. The whole Troodos mountain range is very interesting and Akis gave us lots of tips and directions of where to visit which were all really interesting. He also directed us to a local village which was having a celebration of its local produce and an evening of entertainment including cypriot music and dancing which was fun. However, for us, what makes Ambelikos hotel is the welcome that Akis gives. He is warm and friendly without being intrusive and the meal we had there was delicious with some of his own creations as well as traditional food. We felt that if we wanted anything, he would try and conjure it up which made it feel more like staying with family than in an impersonal hotel. If you like chiche, perfect and sanitised, then this is not the place for you. If you prefer authenticity, and genuine warmth then this is the place to go. After two nights for us it was like leaving a friend and the thing about friendship is that you want to go back and see them again.

Room Tip: Room 15 has a very high bed but the loft rooms can be accessed straight from the car park without go...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just like a recent reviewer, having just returned from a 4 day stay i was reluctant to write a report as more people will go and perhaps the peace and tranquility will fade away. However Akis is such a perfect host he needs to be singled out. All the previous reviews are so positive, so rather than repeat there comments I'll try to provide some new information.
Best standard rooms are 11 & 12. which are large with 4 poster beds and a good sized shaded verandas. All have fridges and he tells me he is considering tea/coffee making facilities as well.Rooms lead directly out onto the courtyard dining area. Akis will attempt any meal requests you may make just give him time or like us spend an afternoon in his kitchen showing him some of our own dishes.We made eccles cakes and they did seem to disappear very quickly. The kitchen was quiet until word spread and just about all the guests descended on the kitchen to see what was going on.Where else could you do that !!l Try his octopus stifardo -wondferful.
Local sights to visit- Agros village- rose petal factory making wide range of products from them.Local smoked produce shop- traditional sweet shop
Troodos- Not only the highest point and as such the coolest but the forestry department have built a first class information centre- well worth the visit. English church tucked away near the military base . Also a very touching British military cementary.
Amiantos- A recently opened botanical garden with the plants actualy named.
Platres- Everybody flocks there so there,s plenty of eating places and a few gift shops.
Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikePolisCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at Ambelikos Agrohotel, I almost don’t want to write this review because it is a little haven and I love the peace and tranquility there! We first stayed for my birthday in June and Akis gave us room 14 which had a lovely Jacuzzi bath and small balcony looking out over the village. There are hikes which are easy to get to and take in a couple of UNESCO churches. After a long days hike we went back to the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and variety of the food, and how delicious the local wine was. The next day we were quite tired after our hike and decided just to stay in the hotel. We read on our balcony, had a dip in the pool, and just enjoyed the stillness and the bird song.

We decided at short notice to take a trip back there this weekend as we loved the location and food so much. We were not disappointed! Everything was exactly as we remembered, excellent food, the most wonderfully moist chicken and pork, fabulous chips, interesting meze dishes we had not seen anywhere else. Breakfast is nothing short of heavenly, local cured sausages, cheeses, eggs with mushrooms, juice coffee, lovely toast and preserve. Absolutely perfect! We stayed in room 9 which is tucked away in the corner and again had wonderful views of the valley.

Having lived in Cyprus for 2 years we have visited many agrotourism places, but this is the only one we have gone back to, and we are planning to take my husband’s parents there later in the year as I know they will love it too. There is lots to do in the local area and in our opinion it is in the most beautiful area of Troodos.

Go and book now!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_a_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potamitissa
6.3 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
231 reviews
10.1 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
67 reviews
7.5 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
112 reviews
7.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Platres
220 reviews
10.9 mi away
Casale Panayiotis
Casale Panayiotis
#1 of 1 in Kalopanagiotis
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambelikos AgroHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambelikos AgroHotel

Address: Potamitissa, Potamitissa 4879, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Potamitissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Potamitissa
Price Range: $65 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambelikos AgroHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a newly refurbished unique cluster of traditional stone buildings from the late 1800's, the Ambelikos AgroHotel & Tavern has preserved the distinctive Cypriot character, whilst including all modern conveniences. It is a superb example of Cypriot cultural heritage, reviving the 150 year history of an old local family, pioneers in the production of smoked pork products. Grigoriou is now today's leading brand. Combining spectacular natural beauty with activities and amenities sure to make any visit memorable, agro hotels offer visitors unique opportunities to experience unspoilt natural environments whilst still enjoying the comforts and amenities of a traditional hotel - a true home-from-home!This unique ecohotel, Ambelikos, offers wonderful relaxing holidays to all those who are searching for a small village and rural accommodation in the heart of agrotourism on the island of Cyprus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ambelikos AgroHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing