We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay in the Trodos mountains” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambelikos AgroHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambelikos AgroHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Potamitissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice stay in the Trodos mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at Ambelikos. We had a room with a whirlpool and a nice balcony. The room was clean and spacious. It is situated in a small village. There are no other restaurants in the village, but you'll not miss them. The food in Ambeliks is excellent. Akis asks what you like, and the he serves you a lot of local specialties with a great wine.

We did some nice hikes in the Trodos mountains, the trails are well marked. The churches are also worth a visit. Sometimes you have the call the local pastor for the key. It is also possible to visit Nicosia, a nice city for a day trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    45
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
150
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I went there with my girlfriend in June for 3 days/2nights and returned with the best impressions. The room had character in the old traditional Cypriot style and were clean spotless, we had a nice view of the village from room 13, and the owner's hospitality best represents what Cyprus is truly about: Generosity and good company. The food was simple, excellent, fresh and locally sourced. We had a great time exploring the surrounding villages Agros and Pellendri, visiting the Tsiakkas winery 15 mins away on the Wine Route and hiking in Platres (with many more hiking trails in close vicinity).

All in all a quiet and relaxing stay in an authentic mountain house and will surely visit again when we are in Cyprus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nofoetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had a bit of trouble finding the ambelikos hotel but once we found it, we felt very at home. Akis provided my family and I with amazing service and hospitality. He was very kind and treated us like good friends. The food was fabulous and the courtyard dining area was very traditional. The rooms were cozy and well decorated. All aspects of the hotel were very organized and clean.
It made for a very peaceful evening as the frogs lulled us to sleep, and the roosters were on duty and made sure that we were up for breakfast in due time.

Room Tip: rooms 11 + 12 = great view.note- Connected balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our friend was getting married in Limmasol so we decided to take a 5 day break in the mountains before we went downtown. Ambelikos is situated overlooking the village of Potimitissa, our room (I think no 12) had an excellent view of the village and distant mountains which was perfect for looking out on with a glass of wine at the end of the day. The room was adorable, very spacious and super clean - bathroom included.
For food we would wander out to the courtyard where we could eat breakfast in the sun and on some of the warmer nights, dinner too. The food was some of the best I've had, Akis (the owner) uses local produce and simple but very tasty cooking methods - my favourite was the Salmon but the Chicken, Pork and Trout were all up there too!
It really is a home from home.
The location is a great base for travelling out to the wineries, churches, monasteries, waterfalls and other villages across the mountain. We had a car which served us well. The one thing we missed a little was not having a local tavern to go and have a few beers in without having to take the car - but you can have beers served to your balcony or out in the courtyard with other guests at Ambelikos which creates an sense of enormous relaxation.
Our stay really was very memorable, Akis tends to every need and is very hospitable and welcoming.
If you do go my tip is on leaving the airport if using sat nav make sure it's set to take you the main road route (easy 50 min drive from Larnaka) rather than the most direct route - which takes you direct across mountain dirt tracks with zero lighting / road marks etc - not the best experience after a 5 hour flight at 1am in the morning!

Room Tip: Room 12 - great view, large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level Contributor
1,519 reviews
311 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,860 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have visited Ambelikos Agrohotel two more times since my last review on TripAdvisor, both in March and again in May. This time I was with a group of 8 friends from Greece for 6 nights.

The location is superb and as it is high up in the Troodos range, so centrally located towards all four sides around the range, we found it a unique spot to start our exploring from Potamitissa towards several attractions, ancient churches and picturesque little villages, not excluding several wineries. My friends were amazed with the beauty of the surroundings -coming here for the first time. The village of Potamitissa is really small and there is not much you can do here, but what excited them was the fact that we would set out early each day and return late in the afternoon from the different nearby walking trails or the beautiful villages like Laneia, Trimiklini, Agros, Pelendri, Omodos, Kykkos Monastery and Platres resort and even on the other side of the Troodos range, the beautiful villages of Kakopetria, Kalopanayiotis, and Pedoulas. All these are within a short distance and Ambelikos is the unique spot for daily trips. The best of all is that it is not more than 45 minute drive from Limassol,and Nicosia.

We were flexible with meals, and we arranged each morning what we wanted for dinner and the time we wished to dine. One or two times Aki would sit with us offering us a glass of wine and recommending places to visit the following day. His suggestions were greatly appreciated because he knows the area well.

The nearby short walking path becomes more and more beautiful every time I come here depending on the season. The singing and twittering of birds and the gurgling waters in the river that passes through the village of Potamitissa makes the stay here unforgettable. From dawn till late at night you can hear the birds and the river below.
Honestly speaking I picked to visit Ambelikos in May because of the nightingales and my friends decided to follow.

We had 6 different rooms, each one with a different character and style. To be honest I could not easily decide what to choose. Ambelikos is a hidden gem indeed and I consider it a perfect retreat for nature lovers, artists, cyclists, skiers (depending on the season) and in all, the perfect spot for both exploring, and relaxation.
This charming boutique-like hotel gave us the chance to fill our batteries. Our stay was a breathe of fresh air indeed, and I felt happy that my friends and I had a wonderful time away from the big commercial chain hotels….lost in this small natural paradise we felt sad that we had to leave.

I just returned from this beautiful hotel two days ago, and I have already booked to visit it again in June when I will be in Cyprus again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lim
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have visited the hotel 3-4 times already and beleive me the hospitality of the owner is unique and this is the reason we recommend the hotel! The hotel is situated to a small piecefull village surrounded by green on the top of a mountain. The rooms are very cozy decorated, you can also have a bedroom with a fireplace and jaccuzi. The breakfast was perfect and all the meals were rich in quality! We will visit the hotel soon since is the way to escape from routine and rest to this small peacefull paradise!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

I cannot say enough about Ambelikos and its owner, Akis. We spent only two nights there but really wish we had stayed longer. Akis was very warm and friendly and really made our stay so lovely. The hotel is beautiful, as was our room - and the property was restored by Akis! - and the location is so peaceful and relaxing. Our room was very clean and well maintained. It opened out onto its own little courtyard overlooking the river and the village of Potamitissa. The food was delicious authentic Cypriot food and Akis was very flexible about the meals (I'm a vegetarian and he made some excellent dishes for me!). We found the hotel quite easily from Limassol and really liked that it was so easy to drive from there to other villages and parts of the Troodos Mountains. We hope to visit Cyprus again and, if we do, we will absolutely stay at Ambelikos.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hsullivan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potamitissa
10.1 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
7.1 mi away
New Helvetia
New Helvetia
#4 of 5 in Platres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.7 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.7 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kakopetria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambelikos AgroHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambelikos AgroHotel

Property: Ambelikos AgroHotel
Address: Potamitissa, Potamitissa 4879, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Limassol District > Potamitissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Potamitissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambelikos AgroHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a newly refurbished unique cluster of traditional stone buildings from the late 1800's, the Ambelikos AgroHotel & Tavern has preserved the distinctive Cypriot character, whilst including all modern conveniences. It is a superb example of Cypriot cultural heritage, reviving the 150 year history of an old local family, pioneers in the production of smoked pork products. Grigoriou is now today's leading brand. Combining spectacular natural beauty with activities and amenities sure to make any visit memorable, agro hotels offer visitors unique opportunities to experience unspoilt natural environments whilst still enjoying the comforts and amenities of a traditional hotel - a true home-from-home!This unique ecohotel, Ambelikos, offers wonderful relaxing holidays to all those who are searching for a small village and rural accommodation in the heart of agrotourism on the island of Cyprus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ambelikos AgroHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing