We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jambo Dongwe!”
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongwe Ocean View
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We spent over a week on Zanzibar and had the opportunity to tour the Island, we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at Dongwe Ocean Villas. The beach is beautiful, quiet and you don't have to walk through villages to get to your accommodation. The staff were kind, gracious and willing to help you in any way they could. Jumba was amazing! If you want to snorkel - ask the desk to rent you the equipment for $5/day and take a walk out to the Sultan Hotel (5 minutes down the beach - you can see it from the restuarant), there is an actual paved walkway into the ocean that takes you to the perfect snorkelling spot - and it is free!) as oppossed to the $30/day boat trip. I would not have stayed anywhere else and if our travels take us back to Zanzibar this is the only place we would stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank To_the_Hilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Dongwe Ocean View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 339 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

Very nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and an excellent location at the sea!
We really enjoyed our vacation in the resort where has only 18 rooms and no harrasing noises .

We would like to recommend you this really friendly hotel for you zanzibar travels. If you go to Zanzibar, stay at Dongwe Ocean View!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ab_trom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We were a small group ( 2 families , 4 adults and 5 yrs old child ) in a large travel group of 22 people travelled different locations from Turkey for religous fest days. We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. We had 2 full day great excursions . One is started with spice tour, contiuned with prison isle tour , having chance to feed hundreds of giants turtles which are more than 150 yrs old !! and lasted with stone town city tour. Honestly Stone town tour could be in a different day , but because of we had a short duration, we wanted to packed 3 tours in a day. second excursion tour was to Nungwe beach and Mnemba Isle for Snorkelling. Some friends had energy to make 3. tour to Kizimkazi for diving and they had chance to swim with dolphins. Only we could not get a time to got Mangapani beach and to see red colombus monkeys but this has remained another reason to come back to island.
After we arrived to Darrusselam airport 10.30 AM. , we took a very comfortable Klimanjaro -2 ferry to go to Zanzibar Island but check the ferry hours. If you miss at 13.00 departure, net one is at 16.30 ! So may be better way to reach the Zanzibar from Darrüsselam with small chopper planes for 13 people cost approx. 80 Usd each person which is compared to ferry cost ( 40 USD) seemed more reasonable and we changed our returned ferry ticket to chopper plane due to win more few hours staying at lovely hotel beach side.

As finally, Dongwe Ocean View Hotel is the 2. Hotel of the owner ( He is a very friendly Italian guy. We had chance to meet with him ) in this area. He also owned ROCK restaurant is very delightful place. We tried Calamari grill and pasta with seafod souce are ecellent.

Dongwe Hotel Manager Samson is young but experienced person. He personally helps your any requests. Also Shaibu and Juma are at front desk are great employees.

Restaurant Manager Kapo ! is very careful and trying to do his best. I believe that he will make big progresses in the future.Lady at bar , Meriem wonderfully fulfills your requests.

Also we had great tour guide Saleem He was really friendly and informative at all points, also the driver Beka (Abubakeer ) was carefull and in good relations with guests and all traffic control points.

We really enjoyed our vacation in the resort where has only 18 rooms and no harrasing noises around. Very calm and great environment. Sunbeds are in front of left building of hotel are naturally stayed under shade afternoon. So highly advised to keep them in the morning ;)

Tide is Ok, We were at full moon period but sea always come back to hotel side after 13.00. You will have option of swimming at lovely ocean view pool in fornt of hotel buildings all the time. There are nice walking route at sea side almost 5 km to both directions.

Hotel has 2 buildings has 3 storeys. Rooms are comfortable , bathroom fixtures are modern and european. Sometimes electiricity goes but generator are at duty in max. 10 minutes. All room has mosquitos nets over bed. Also balcony doors has nets for fliers. but very suprisingly we did not have any harrasing fliers attack despite of we has taken pre-action as we got vaccination against yellow fever. Normally Who travels to zanzibar , do not to yellow fever vacc. as mandotory unless they will not go to Tanzanian safari trips.

Our final nite, Samson and Kapo are organised a very well sea food dinner party on the beach. Masai local people come to the hotel for perfomance and had chance to shopping from their esspecialy presented for us , gifts and souveniers tables.

We would like to recommend you this really friendly hotel for you zanzibar travels.

Kenan

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akkirman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

modern clean hotel ,lovely beach front location.staff friendly especially sampson

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porterDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Spent 4 nights in this hotel. Very nice atmosphere, very friendly staff and an excellent location at the sea!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here for the final week of our honeymoon. We were looking forward to the beautiful and peaceful location - a chance to relax after Kilimanjaro and safari. We had a welcoming reception and were initially pleased with our room until the much needed a/c didn't seem to work and neither did the hot water. Anyway the service was excellent and (the next day) we were given an alternative room - which in our minds was a much better room with a sofa and comfy chairs as well as a bed, balcony, fridge, safe and a/c. All rooms have a sea view so far as we could tell. The hotel was very quiet which was lovely, but then we went in mid-low season and few other people were staying there. This did seem to mean though that there was not much selection on the menu (that didn't mean paying extra). So although the food was good it was a bit repetitive ove the week we stayed there. We recommend you ask the hotel to buy you in some larger containers of water otherwise you may end up spending a lot of money on keeping yourself hydrated in the lovely, hot sunshine. The hotel management were very helpful and arranged for us to hire bikes, and take a trip to stone town for the day, and to hire snorkling gear at reasonable prices. Occasionally, the service at meal times was not great but overall the experience was lovely, the pool was refreshing and one night we had dinner on the beach (not that it was that far away in the first place!) but it was lovely. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Just be aware that its still new and there are things that could make it better but actually its lovely just the way it is!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwhear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Dongwe Ocean View is on the east coast (Pongwi) of Zanzibar.
Approximately 45 minutes by taxi from the airport.
We have used the catamaran ferry for arrival and the airway for departure. The airway is more functional compared with ferry. Only 30 minutes from Dar Es Selam Airport. But at the catamaran trip we would be able to see Darus Selam city center and on the way to Zanzibar we have seen a baby whale which was amazing .

Hotel is on the beach . The beach is sugar sand as told. Ocean is amazing . We have never used the pool of the hotel. As Juma ( the friendly receptionist ) told at the check-in hotel has two pools. The smaller one is on the front and the bigger one ( ocean) afterwards. The sugar sand continous also at the ocean. Before visiting the hotel we were suspicious about the sea. Because if you look at the pictures there are also darker areas at the ocean. Darker areas are small harmless seaweeds at the ocean. But there is a special natural gateway just 20m left from the hotel and you don't face the seaweed. The ocean water is amazing. You don't face any wave bacause the waves are broken approximately 500 m from the beach. If you want to swim in sugar sand Dongwe Ocean View is the proper hotel. At the same line there is Breezes Beach Resort, Palm Beach , Dongwe Club, Baraza's Resort and few more hotels which I cant remember their names. Dongwe Ocean View's prices are cheaper than these hotels. But the hotel opportunities , service , cleanness is perfect. So we were glad to choose this hotel instead of the other hotels .
All of the rooms at hotel has ocean view as stated at the hotel's name. We have stayed at the 2nd floor room with a great sea view from balcony. The rooms are luxury enough. The rooms has air conditioning , LCD TV ( 32inch) , french bed, mosquito net , mini refrigirator and 24 hours hot water.
During our stay we prefered to stay half board . At dinner we always choosed from the restaurant menu instead of open buffet.I guess the Hotel always gives alacarte instead of open buffet. We didn’t pay extra for alacarte. Food was delicous , the service was perfect tks to Osman, Meryem, City and Capo . The owner of the Hotel is Italian. He is a very polite man as well. The reservation detailes also went so smooth and non problematic, the reservation Manager Shaibu helped us so much about the transfers and excursions as well.

During our stay it rained for 2 or 3 times and long for 1-2 hours. The weather was sunny and around 30 degrees and without humidity.

While our stay we didin’t face any problem about security.Eventough we left our camera , phones in our Beach bag several times we didin’t face any problem.The local people see the tourist as gaining of their lifes.So they show respect to the tourist. Almost all of the local people we met thanked us for selecting their country .Of course do not forget bargaining.
We have make 3 excursions during our stay. One was Safari Blue tour ,the second was Spice Tour&Prison Island ,third was Dolphin Bay. All of them was fantastic. The nature of the island is really awesome.To see the giant turtoises , more than 30 spice plant, the great baboa threes , red monkeys and to swim with the dolphins were all fantastic.
There are so much things to write but I advise you to go and live the rest. You can trust this hotel and management.
Tks indeed for their welcoming. Ashante sana :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank free_voyager_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongwe
35.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
35.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
19.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dongwe Club
Dongwe Club
#2 of 6 in Dongwe
1,222 reviews
6.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range: $138 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing