We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for honeymooners or couples, and also good for Solo Travelers”
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dongwe Ocean View
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dongwe
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for honeymooners or couples, and also good for Solo Travelers”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Nice room, nice bar - restaurant, nice pool, but not too much to do there, so, it is essential to organize excursions and activities on the island of Zanzibar, if you plan to be there more than two days.
Fortunately, the hotel staff are very friendly and efficient, and will do it for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero_d_Septiembre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    99
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
171
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
243 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is a wonderful place to recharge your batteries. The staff are fantastic - welcoming, smiling and courteous. We had just completed a 16 day Tanzania Cycling Holiday and enjoyed lazing about. Dongwe had beeen recommended and certainly lived up to our expectations. Thank you Samson!! Our De Luxe Room on the ground floor overlooking the pool and the sea was well appointed. It was great to return from our moonlit beach walk to find the bedside lamp had been turned on and the mosquito nets lowered. It's a very peaceful haven and we were sorry to leave and return home to winter temperatures!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

It was just like our home. Especially staff was really friendly. We stayed for 12 days and everything was excellent.Would strongly recommend the hotel to couples/ families.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dileksefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stylish modern boutique hotel in a great location with friendly staff and highly motivated management .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We have been at the Dongwe Ocean View for the second part of our honeymoon, after one week of safari in mainland Tansania. The combination of safari and afterwards relaxing in Zanzibar was good. The hotel is beautiful located and very quiet. On the one hand that was exactly what we were looking for, on the other hand there is almost no possibility to go out at night or see different places, go shopping, etc.
So we did some excursions (like spice tour, snorkeling - organized by a local tour provider). The offers of the hotel for the same excursions are overpriced. The service of the staff was really good and there is a friendly atmosphere. Breakfast and Buffet in the evening are nice, but if there are less than 10 guests you can only order food a la carte (with only a small range of different meals its gets quite boring).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklaeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Very friendly staff. Nice clean rooms. Quality and variety of food disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraviljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The resort is quite clean with a wonderful sea and excellent food. The staff is friendly.
I suggest it for relaxing after a safari!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco196_8794323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dongwe
35.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
24.6 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
432 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,511 reviews
3.2 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Dongwe Club
Dongwe Club
#1 of 4 in Dongwe
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Property: Dongwe Ocean View
Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing