We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a weekend in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Amelia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount Amelia
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for a weekend in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a great place for a low-stress visit. The house is charming, with wonderful views towards the sea across a lovely garden (complete with ha-ha), and the main salon is a beautiful room, facing west for the late afternoon sunshine, and with a roaring fire for the chilly evenings. The bedroom was full of character and warm, with a good bath and an utterly delightful painted wooden four-poster bed - as well as tea, coffee and all other necessities. Breakfast was also good, and there were some nice walks in the vicinity. Just the ticket.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

As I walked in, I felt as if Poirot would come walking down the stairs any minute to address the assembled guests and uncover the murderer...well almost!

The Hall is in a secluded location with views across to the sea and the atmosphere of the place is just so evocative of something straight out of an Agatha Christie novel, I almost expected to be woke every night by odd noises coming from around the house, especially as I was alone in the place!

As it was the bed was really comfortable (I had the master bedroom with four-poster bed) and the house was if anything, eerily silent, even more so than my house built in 1986...so I slept like a baby every night.

Breakfast was plentiful, if that is what you want, but I just went for a light one which was taken in the drawing room (being alone at the dining room sitting at a table for 12 seemed a bit OTT).

As the accommodation in the hall itself was on a B&B basis I drove to Snettisham, a couple of minutes away each evening, and ate at the Rose & Crown which was excellent, yet still good value for money.

It must be remembered that the house is over twohundred years old, so don't expect perfection, but without doubt it has a lot of character.

I'll certainly be going back again

Room Tip: Ask for a West facing room, the views are gorgeous, and every morning swarms of birds flew overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We hired Mount Amelia for my boyfriend's 40th birthday celebration. The house is lovely and generously full of genuine antiques and artwork. We had a barbecue on the terrace on the Saturday evening, which has a gorgeous view over the countryside and you can even see the sea!

The beds were super-comfortable and no-one wanted to leave. Both adults and children had a great time. Mount Amelia is within easy reach of the coast and a short drive from places such as Wells Harbour and the wonderful sandy beach at Holkam. This is a charming and flexible venue and we hope to return on a future occasion. Our contact, Vicky, was extremely helpful and we couldn't have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Gill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We hired Ingoldisthorpe Hall for a family get-together for my wife's 65th birthday party. There were 15 of us in total, including three young children and a baby and all were housed comfortably in the Hall's well equipped bedrooms. The kitchen is splendidly equipped with plenty of crockery, cutlery and glasses even for the largest group and fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine all available. Wi-Fi is available and the TV room has Sky TV, Wii etc. The grounds are a delight ( with lots of sheep, rabbits and birds roaming free) and the quirky layout of the Hall adds to the fun of staying there. Shabby chic was how one of our party described the place and that felt about right. We all had a lovely week there .It wasn't cheap but for a party our size, you would struggle to find better for the money in such a popular tourist area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Showers that dont work shutters that do not close dirty garden furniture and Patio/terrace I didnt expect to be roughing it here I know its self catering but please..... If you glam your self up at least come up with the goods this really is all fur coat no knickers

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.....for less
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Elise U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis M, Owner at Mount Amelia, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We’re very sorry that you feel this way about your stay at Mount Amelia. The Hall is an 18th Century country house that requires regular maintenance and at the end of a long season and constant bookings there tends to be a few issues that arise. We would of course have liked the opportunity to put these things right during your stay but have attended to them now that you have gone.
We have a lot of very happy customers from over the few years we have been operating who appreciate this is also a family home and not a hotel. This is reflected in the reviews that are written into our guest book. Nonetheless we apologise that we were not able to meet the high expectations you would rightly have expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We hired Mount Amelia and the three surrounding cottages for friends and family to join us for 3 nights to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary by renewing our vows in an informal wedding ceremony. We stayed from Sept 9th 2011 and had an absolutely beautiful perfect weekend. There were 25 of us who stayed all three nights and a further 15 who came as day guests to our celebration reception. We used the Drawing room as a ceremony room and seated 40 people. Following the ceremony we sat 40 people in the long room around 4 large circular tables. We also had a four piece band playing in the room and it all worked out superbly.
Vicky and Ben were extrememly helpful and very good communicators throughout the whole process from booking one year before to leaving on our final morning. We can't rate them highly enough and are truly grateful to them for letting us use their beautiful house.
Every single room was unique yet beautifullly designed and everyone said how comfortable they were. Every guest felt as if they had a little piece of luxury and even the family members who stayed in the cottages were delighted with their accomodation.
The main house is exquisite yet homely. The 17 of us who stayed in the main house enjoyed cooking breakfast together in the kitchen followed by eating together in the dining room. It was so comfortable and welcoming. We loved every minute of our break and can't wait to go back again.
We wish you could bottle Mount Amelia!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house have beautiful views looking to the sea in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent October half term here in Gardeners Cottage which is a self catering holidy let. Whilst the surrounding grounds and views were stunning the cottage itself was a total let down. The loung seating was dirty and inadequate for 4 adults (just one large and very grubby sofa), the shower did not work so we had to take baths (the owner did offer to get it repaired), the dishwasher was also faulty as was the washing machine, which meant they couldn't be used. We had a total of two saucepans and one fry pan (without lids) to cook with, the crockery (what little there was of it), was chipped and had seen better days. We were given two threadbare tea towels and the previous visitors dirty dishcloths for washing up! We had no bins in the bedrooms and no hangers in one bedroom. When we opened the bathroom windows we were swarmed with flies (odd for October) and had to clean all the window frames on the evening we arrived. We have been to many cottages in the UK with our dog over the last six years, and whilst this was one of the more expensive it was by far the worst. I am aghast to understand how they received a 4* rating. This property had clearly not been inspected prior to our visit and we certainly did not get the cottage and facilities that was advertised and for which we paid for. We have made a complaint with the holiday agent, who has been most helpful. All in all a thoroughly disappointing cottage.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phoebe-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info24, Manager at Mount Amelia, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
We are also very disappointed that our cottage did not live up to your expectations. We felt we responded to the items you mentioned during your stay and understood from you that you were satisfied. If we had been made aware of any other issues we would have done the same. From what we have seen from your review, the issues were important but minor issues but which we agree are unacceptable but that we would have liked the opportunity to address during your stay. We have taken note of all your points and have now resolved them. We take great pride in the presentation of all our properties and so far this appears to be an isolated case. It is a shame that your experience was not as positive as we would have expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingoldisthorpe
3.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
6.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel
#6 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kings Lynn Knights Hill Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Amelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Amelia

Property: Mount Amelia
Address: Brickley Lane, Ingoldisthorpe PE31 6PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Ingoldisthorpe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ingoldisthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Amelia 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Amelia - Ingoldisthorpe Hall is a self-catering luxury venue for 18-20 people a few miles from the North Norfolk coast. The Hall is set amongst its own grounds of around 30 acres. We also have 3 estate cottages that can be hired with the Hall (or on their own - Ivy Cottage, Grooms Cottage & Gardeners Cottage) - accommodating an additional 14/15 people. The Hall can be hired for full weeks, mid-week or weekend breaks and is especially great for family gatherings, celebrations, reunions and relaxing holidays. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the reception rooms have open fires/log burners, lots of gorgeous period features and the whole place if full of memorabilia. We provide linen, towels, heating and fire wood (1 basket per fire). The Royal Estate of Sandringham is only 1.5 miles away and there are many other beautiful houses to visit near by too. The wonderful wide open beaches of the North Norfolk coasts are only a few miles away and there are lots of great pubs and restaurants to try. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mount Amelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing