We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly inspirational!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Murphy's Landing

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
We have trail maps to the local hiking on the East Coast trail available.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
We have trail maps to the local hiking on the East Coast trail available.
A comfortable Queen sized bed in the master bedroom.
Closet and dresser allow for lots of room to store your belongings.
Small nearby islands may be explored using our canoe.  Either swim or simply canoe around the lake.
East Coast Trail offers kilometres of beautiful trails that are next to the ocean.
Tors Cove hike.
Whales in the spring and summer!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tors Cove, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah W
1 review
“Highly inspirational!”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

You wake up in the morning, and overlook Tors Cove Pond. I couldn't get used to this view or take it for granted, it was a gift for me every single morning.

The house lies very quietly, with a direct and private access to the Lake. A dream!
At night, when you turn out the light: complete darkness.

The house has everything you need - included lake view out of every window! You will become a highly inspired cook being there. :)
The open living room with the fireplace is very comfortable and just nice to be.
Traveling on my own, I felt safe in this place.

It is also a perfect location to get around (approx.):

40 min. to St. John's
30 min. to Cape Spear
12 min. to Suspension Bridge, La Manche
(When you follow the green sign "La Manche", drive up and think there will be nothing, keep on driving! Then park car, hike ca. 30 min. and tadaaa!)
2 min. to the greatest view ever: Tors Cove, East Coast Trail, Fox Island, and to Running the goat press, Five Islands Gallery (which will unfortunately be closed)
4 min. to Ocean view bakery
10 min. to Witless Bay, and Irish Loop Café (at night restaurant Fork)
12 min. to Bay Bulls, shopping for food, fuel, fresh fish truck and fresh vegetables, restaurant the captain's table (try the Newfie dessert!)
30 min. to Ferryland picnic (a must!!)

Just drive around and be inspired by the beauty, freedom, space, tenderness, kindness, wildness, passion, foresight, unaffectedness and authenticity.

The people of Newfoundland are so nice and helpful. I experienced them very open-hearted, which was wonderful for me.

I am very thankful for this experience, and would like to thank Antonio (the owner) that he is sharing their house and giving us the possibility to rent it. Much thank also to Allison who was there for me during my stay.

I am already trying to figure out when to come back! :)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
We are so glad to hear that Sarah not only enjoyed our home on the water, but also took the time to explore the places and people of Newfoundland! We truly believe that there is so much to explore in this beautiful province. Thank you for being such a wonderful and appreciative guest Sarah! It makes renting our home such a pleasure. Welcome back anytime!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew P
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a blast”
Reviewed February 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Murphy's Landing last year. We booked it for a couple of nights just to get away and relax. We received everything that was promised plus more. The view was outstanding and with nice big windows facing the water, it was a joy to wake up and take in the scenery. We enjoyed the fishing from the dock and caught a couple that we released back. We sat around a camp fire outside in the spacious yard during one of the nights we stayed. The wireless internet was also a nice touch to stay somewhat connected. Overall we had a very good time and would high recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2018
Dear Andrew,

It was a pleasure to host your visit. We're so glad that you enjoyed the nature that Murphy's Landing and the surrounding area has to offer.

Until next time,
Antonio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg B
1 review
“Great Family Getaway!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

This was our first trip to Newfoundland and our stay was perfect for the family. The cottage was cosy and offered an amazing view of Tors Cove Pond. You felt isolated and the kids had plenty of places to explore - the woods, water and nearby hiking trails. The owners communicated very well with us and things were as promised. We loved that we were able to explore beyond the property to nearby islands with the canoe available to us. We would highly recommend this property to other couples or families looking for a relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the owners being excellent to work with.
Liked least: Having to leave this beautiful property. Weather in Newfoundland is unpredictable.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing