We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We had only booked one night at this hotel but wished we had booked more. The accomodation was exceptional. Two storeys, with all the modern amenities you could wish for. It was excellent value for money. The outside of the complex may let itself down a little but don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,770 - 2,776 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

It is the newest "resort" in Lake Tekapo .... Well not really resorts but beautifully design and built apartments ..... They do not have swimming pool/spa facilities. Whilst the apartments are built it looks like they are going to expand it with all the pools as expected in the resort.

We ordered a studio room, and the check-in desk gave us the best one available, top floor with view of Lake Tekapo. It is very roomy, well designed (two side of the room are windows!) as well as beautiful bathroom. All furnitures are in the usual modern theme.

We did not eat at the resort (it looked too quiet) but did a takeaway from the Chinese restaurant down the road, it is cheap and have big servings. The only real problem in the resort is that the car park as it seems the car park is quite packed (we went during Xmas/New Year period). But I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamchatsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

A relatively new complex - resort is an over statement as there is only a restaurant - not even a pool. Car parking is unsealed and access to rooms is via concrete paths (and some steps) - some distance from some rooms - ours was about the furthest. Poor signage too didn't help - the complex is still undergoing landscape and finishing touches. Room access was difficult through two self closing doors - with three suit cases this was not easy. Units are not very well designed. We had a two bed suite - no flyscreens anywhere, AC didn't work in one bedroom. Upstairs living and kitchen area was good and spacious with great views across Lake Tekapo. Single bathroom (small) downstairs and a small bedrooms too - no toilet upstairs. Space for suit cases was limited. Tariff is expensive although options in Lake Tekapo are somewhat limited. Lake Tekapo is fine but on reflection we would have stayed at Mount Cook. A bit disappointed with this accommodation. May not be suited to the elderly with mobility issues.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jim_bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We had a 3 bed 2 bath house. It was fantastic and had everything. The "town" does not have much in it but the lake is amazing. The best value of everywhere I have stayed on this world tour - but not so good it you just want a room for two.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Lovely stay at this relatively new resort, we got a very reasonable rate and the room was clean with a lovely verandah with glimpses to the lake. We stayed here on our way to Queenstown and on our way back to Christchurch. Both occasions were excellent. We wondered across the road to the local pub and had very good counter dinners and enjoyed the local beer. This is obviously a resort designed for the ski season and would be a great place to stay. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay breaking our journey to and from Queenstown.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vlp50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

This was to be our second-last night in New Zealand, so I booked ahead and was prepared to pay a bit more for quality. Of all the places in the world we've stayed, I can't think of one with less ambience. From the outside and in the main Reception area, the place looks and feels like a prison complex, which doesn't do justice to the brilliantly-appointed rooms. On the positive side, it's just a short walk to the village centre where there are lots of nice cafes and restaurants and, of course, the beautiful Lake.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaringaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We stayed here on our way back to Queensland after touring the South Island. Booked for a little bit of luxury afte some not so luxurious nights spent elsewhere.

We arrived quite late but staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. After quickly installing ourselves in our rooms we came down to the restaurant to find it empty and in the midst of a Christmas themed evening. The menu involved turkey and trimmings. I nibbled on what was quite possibly the worst ravioli I have ever sampled (the vegetarian selection was limited to this alone) and went to bed hungry.

Upon arriving in our room I received a shock. I had booked to share a twin room with my brother. Twin beds were fine. What was not fine was that the bathroom had a floor to ceiling glass door. Clear glass. The bathroom was enormous; with shower, toilet and bath all on display to the bedroom and, if the curtains were open, the world beyond! The strangest decorating decision I have ever encoutered, particularly for a twin bedroom.

Bathroom aside, the bedroom was gorgeous. Comfortable beds, flat screen television, CD player and DVD player. The resort is a new build, in the process of still being built when we stayed there so everything was very well finished, clean and modern.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rhianev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: $99 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing