We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Wahgunyah, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night. The room was very small but had a large comfy bed. Bathroom was modern and adequate. The heating in the room was excellent. We ate in the restaurant which was quite expensive but the food was lovely. The room was a long way from reception and on a cold or wet night this could be an issue.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Kia ora Robyn L,

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are particularly happy to hear that you found your room so warm and comfortable.
We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    485
    332
    166
    132
See reviews for
320
859
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This place looked great on the website when we arrived I thought it was not what u pay..the room Was clean but kinda old walls needed painting and the bathroom door was rotting from water running out of the shower. Tv isnreally small the is room really small not enough room for our bags, had to put them back in car. Wifi cost $20 for 24hrs and drops in and out and only 500mb per day and it didnt even work well overall I wouldnt stay again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Kia ora kirsty A,

Thank you for your genuine feedback, and we regret that you felt aspects did not represent value for money. I am currently looking at a number of internet solutions in direct response to the desires of our guests, and I hope we can have something in place shortly.
Naturally, we would welcome the opportunity to have you back again and change your initial impressions of our property.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Expensive for what you get. Had a king size bed but it was just 2 doubles pushed together. Shower had a very shallow edge and the water leaked out everywhere. Other than this, the room was nice, very clean, the staff were polite, rooms were really quiet. We did barter down to a more reasonable price for the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niss_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Kia ora Niss_86,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our resort, and I am glad you enjoyed a number of aspects. All of our beds are King Zip, which enable them to be either a King or 2 King Singles. We can certainly appreciate how this might not fit everyone's needs. I'm really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our staff, and I am glad you were able to find value in our offering.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
625 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why this was rated 7/8 on tripadvisor, actually this was a pleasant stay for me, although I didn't spend much time in the room!
Located 3 minutes drive from the heart of town, or a 10 minutes walk, there's also a hot pool and ice rink 10 minutes drive away, and i had my room facing lake tekapo (106) right above the breakfast area/reception area, saved me time from running up and down the entire premises!
Massive bathroom although my shower doesn't have curtains whilst my other groupmates do, and the bathroom door had a problem in shutting but was minor. To top this there is an electric heat mat available. Fantastic.
Breakfast is from 6.30-10 decent choices, the best we all agreed on was the pancake. They also provides kiwi juice, which was rare!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Kia ora Man_U_canuck,

Thanks for such a great review! It always makes us happy to hear when we exceed expectations, and we are pleased to hear everything was to your liking. Thanks for a great photo too !!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Amazing views from our second apartment. The apartments are very spacious (we stayed in two different apartments during our stay, the first one did not have a view so the hotel kindly let us move on the second night. The hotel staff were professional and friendly. The only negative I have is that the apartments could have been cleaner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front towards the town of Lake Tekapo as these rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldSearcher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Kia ora WorldSearcher2014,

Thank you for you lovely review, and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are thrilled to hear that found so many positive aspects in your time with us, and we are thrilled you had such a great stay.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The house and room is spacious and nice, fit for family. The surrounding is peaceful and it's good for relaxation and quiet moments. However, the food is not very attractive and the restaurant is relatively small when comparing with Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in Tasmania. Nevertheless, it's still a good choice to stay for 1 night or so when passing Lake Tekapo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Kia ora MaggieWO,

Thank you for your honest review. We also really appreciate you posting those excellent photos!
We respect your comments regarding our restaurant. It is not a huge space, but we can certainly accommodate those who are wanting to make a booking.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just loved this place! The view from our room was breathtaking, like a postcard! the room itself was huge, a living area with beautiful kitchen. The bedroom and bathroom were equally spacious. The heated bathroom floor was pure decadence in the cold morning!
There was a lovely cheese and fruit platter waiting for us as a welcome gift! How thoughtful!
Yes, there was manchester bags strewn across the entry landing, but if I had to go up and down those slippery flights of stairs throughout the complex, I would do the same. All bags were removed within a reasonable timeframe. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Bluewater, and upon future return to Lake Tekapo will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank connie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
KIa ora connie567,

Wow - what a wonderful review! Thank you so much! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, and we are naturally very pleased to hear you had such a brilliant time in our care.

We look forward to seeing you back again!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#8 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing