We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“nice and new” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice and new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

This accommodation was great. It is new and still being built up. The room was very clean and stylish. Quiet. Very close walk to Lake Tekapo and shops and restaurants. The only downfall is the very small room size. If that doesnt bother you, its perfect. The reception area is beautiful. Keep a lookout for the rabbits!

  • Liked — New
  • Disliked — Rooms were very small
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chupsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    567
    373
    195
    155
See reviews for
377
1,012
57
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Whilst the exterior / facade might be inspired by Siberia meets Afghanistan, the units themselves are excellent.

The units are well designed and feel like an S Class Merc of units.
Under floor heating, double glazed, quite, large fridge and sliding freezer. I could go on and on. And i will.

Top cooking facilities, TV upstairs and down with plenty of channels, balcony, great bed and easy parking.

Might make for a good long stay.

The mountain view was really more carpark view with mountains in the distance.

Didn't eat in the restaurant, however "Pepes" pizza in town was good. Premium pizza with unusual toppings. Cabonara pizza!

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Balcony view.
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Not much to add from the travellers who gave positive reviews.

We decided to stay at Lake Tekapo before heading up to Mt Cook from Christchurch.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, with views of the mountains and lake. The apartment was very clean, and lush.

Kitchen is modern/ fully equipped (we made awesome pizzas for dinner), two TV screens, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. Soft couches.

The bathroom was small, but still modern and clean. Heated tiles, and an extra heater

Awesome views.

If we ever go back there, will definitely be staying there again.

  • Liked — The facilities - fully equipped kitchen etc
  • Disliked — The building construction - a bit loud
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WillowTreeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Where do I start... I have just written a 3 page complaints letter to the CEO complaining about our experiences at this resort so I won't bore you with ALL the details (I'm not a whinger and don't usually complain).
Needless to say although the room had lovely views and was well appointed it was far from clean or ready. There were soooo many things wrong with the room, but the main thing was my 11 month old son nearly choked TWICE on items not cleaned off the floor by housekeeping from a wedding 4 days previous (one being a large piece of plastic from a hair comb/grip)!!
The kitchen was ill equipt, including unusable utensils due to rust and not enough crockery or cutley for the 3 of us to eat dinner! No option of trim milk, no plunger coffee (we did have a plunger:)), no salt, and not even a menu for the restaurant. Just to top things off, my father couldn't sleep due to a vibrating wall.
No appologies or compensation for our very poor experience!
PS. If you want a 2 bed apartment it's 2 separate apartments with 2 heavy fire doors inbetween- not suitable for having kids in the 2nd bedroom.

  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

My husband and I traveled from Christchurch to Lake Tekapo. I reserved the room through the hotel website, with payment in full required. We had a one-bedroom apartment with an excellent view of the lake. It was very clean and had a well stocked kitchen, heated bathroom floors, heated towel rack, a large tub, and a separate shower. You actually enter a building, with several apartments located within the building, and then enter your apartment. With construction in the area, parking places may not be located directly by your apartment. The restaurant was closed for a private party the first evening. We dined in the restaurant the next evening and the food and drinks were good. You need to make a reservation. Breakfast was also good. Overall, the stay was nice, but the staff seemed to be a little stuffy at first. Once we began a conversation with them, they lightened up a bit. It is a great location to stay in between Christchurch and Queenstown. We stayed two nights, traveling from Christchurch and then spent the next day traveling to Lake Pukaki and Mt. Cook and back, which was absolutely gorgeous!!!

  • Liked — The view and the cleanliness of the apartment.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank baatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

We stayed here for a few nights and the room was absolutely beautiful and the view was incredible. The bathroom had heated tiles and a large bathtub. Very quiet and secluded. It is across the street from the lake, several restaurants and shops. We booked on WOTIF and got a great rate.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eeb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Peppers is a modern hotel with a bit of a corporate feel for such a homely little town. Our room was nice - huge bed and TV, his and hers sinks, massive shower and bath - but there was something a little cold about it. It was quite expensive, considering it's still a bit of a building site. We had a really delicious meal in the restaurant.

The hotel complex is just a few steps away from the lovely walks and picturesque church of Tekapo.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sussex_padfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#8 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing